Reviews (37)

First Review by Estebano

Medicinal food - Edit

This is a very special space that Martina has created. The food is not by any means vegan junk food, it's all very carefully done with your health in mind. I went to it because "raw" vegan restaurants tend to be of a higher-than-average quality and it was especially true at this restaurant.

Pros: raw, nutrient-minded, healing food

1 Response
Read More

MartinaHinterwallner 16 Jul 2017 - niice, thank you for your Support !! I love Guests like you, this is one of the Reasons i did it  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great little spot for a healthy, fresh lunch! - Edit

I stopped by DVB for a bit of lunch. The place is very small but welcoming with a very friendly and helpful owner.

There's a good choice of healthy lunch options (raw and cooked) and the owner is happy to assist with recommendations.

I had a really great salad bowl, which was just what I needed - healthy and refreshing.

Recommended for a quick lunch stop!

1 Response
Read More

MartinaHinterwallner 16 Jul 2017 - niice, thank you for your Support !!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

definitly recommendable, beautiful Atmosphäre - Edit

My Wife and I are visiting from New York and went to Delicious vegan Bistro this evening.

We ordered three dishes and ALL OF THEM were fantastic. The menu is very creativ and healthy which is love and are very familiar with. The portions were very generous and the waitstaff was friendly.

It is a small cafe and was very clean.

I wish we lived closer because we would surely go very often.

Pros: tasty Food, Nice Price, friendly Service

Cons: no Alkohol

1 Response
Read More

MartinaHinterwallner 16 Jul 2017 - niice, thank you for your Support !!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

wir sind seit 2 Jahren Stammgäste und lieben es - Edit

wir sind eine 4 köpfige vegane Familie und kommen aus Berlin und lieben es auf Reisen neue vegane Restaurants kennenzulernen. Ins Delicious vegan Bistro am Naschmarkt kommen wir regelmäßig seit 2 Jahren, da alle die Speisen wirklich gut finden und wir das zuvorkommende Service von der Besitzerin Frau Martina zu schätzen wissen. Die Kinder lieben das Essen und die Atmosphäre, wir alle fühlen uns jedesmal sehr wohl. Danke das es solche Restaurants gibt, damit wir sicher gehen können wo wir hingehen und alles passt. Nur weiter So, viel Glück bei allem !

Pros: super leckeres Essen, bezaubernde Gastgeberin, sympatische Atmosphäre

1 Response
Read More

MartinaHinterwallner 16 Jul 2017 - so lieb, danke für die Unterstützung !!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Was für ein gutes Essen, das beste das ich in Wien hatte - Edit

Ich liebe den schwarzen Rohkost Quinoa Wrap und die Erdbeer Cashewtorte. Unglaublich gut. Ich war mit meinem Freund (kein Veganer) 3x essen, denn beim ersten Mal hat es mir so gut geschmeckt, dass ich nach den schlechten Erfahrungen von anderen veganen Restaurants entschieden habe, die restliche Zeit in Wien, gehen wir nur noch ins Delicious vegan Bistro essen. Meinem Freund hat es auch außergwöhnlich gut geschmeckt und er hat sich bei der Chefin Martina für die guten Tipps bedankt. Wir haben sehr schöne Gespräche geführt und nette andere Veganer im Bistro kennengelernt. Ich hoffe, dass Martina alle ihre Vorhaben gelingen, solche Menschen gehören unterstützt. Sehr empfehlenswert, verdammt gutes Essen und freundliche Atmosphäre

Pros: sehr gutes Essen, freundliches Service, Sauber

1 Response
Read More

MartinaHinterwallner 16 Jul 2017 - so lieb, danke für die Unterstützung !!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious Vegan Bistro - Edit

I ate twice here during my recent stay in Vienna. The food was indeed delicious and Mariana was a delightful host. Very convenient for the Naschmarkt, which is situated directly opposite.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Bijou Bistro - Edit

This is a small and quirky bistro, and it is definitely more like eating at a friend's house than a conventional restaurant. The owner is very friendly, and passionate about all things vegan. There are two lovely dogs - Axl and Schoko, who have perfect manners. The food is very good indeed, and cooked fresh for each person. I really hope that Martina is able to move into a larger premises so that more people can enjoy the meals and the company.

Pros: Very friendly, Freshly cooked, tasty food, 100% vegan

Cons: Small

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

this a Special place - Edit

Reading of what "Ryecatcher" wrote before. I fully agree with that...the place is special but the Food was very good. I wouldn't go with everybody here.
But I would clearly recommend it, try it, it is worth doing so and Martina is an interesting Person to chat with. She has a clear vision of a better world....

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Not an ordinary restaurant - Edit

Decoyed by the many positive reviews here I decided to give Delicious Vegan a try and went there three weeks ago. I intended to eat an early lunch, but sadly no one was there. There was advertising panel outside, stating the daily menu, but there was also a "back in 10 minutes"-note at the door. After waiting for about 20 minutes I left and came back in the evening.
I think it's quite important to understand what you get yourself into by visiting Delicious Vegan as it's no ordinary restaurant. First of all, it's really tiny inside, there are two small tables and a bar with few stools or something, and it's really cramped. In addition to that there was a huge dog basket with two grown dogs inside.
Martina, the owner, is a host who cares about her guests, she is very welcoming and imparting. There were few books of hers lying around, something about cooking, health, pets, I don't really remember.
However, I got a dish with rice noodles, some vegetables and peanut-like sauce. Nothing too special in my opinion, but tasty and somewhat filling. I noted that Martina pays attention not only to the taste but also quite a bit to the colours of the ingredients. To this a lupines coffee that tasted like Turkish coffee (interesting, never tried it before, not bad). Desserts were out, so that was it.
The food is a bit on the expensive side, which isn't surprising considering that the ower has to make a living from this small eatery. Surely it was an interesting visit and I was satisfied after all, however, Delicious Vegan isn't a restaurant for everybody. Sure, it's centrally located, but the venue isn't really appealing, it just isn't. The ventilation is bad on top of that. It's like a living room someone invited you in to cook for you. But if you're OK with that, don't mind dogs and like to chat, then that's your place!

Pros: personal service, tasty and healthy dishes

Cons: unappealing venue, rather expensive

1 Response
Read More

MartinaHinterwallner 30 Mar 2017 - sometimes i really think, if people dont have other important things to do, to write nearly everything in their reviews. and i think also, that its fair, that also the restaurants gives reviews about their guests: so its really false (thats humans) that some guests are friendly but false, give the felling that they enjoy everything and everything is ok, but after the leave the write reviews like that. i mean this person writes in the review, that there was i sign in front of the door, that i (iam the owner) will come in 10 minutes. Owners of restaurants has a lot to do. the Naschmarket is for the most people the most fancy area in vienna and also everything costs a lot of money and the mainstream is far away from vegan, modern and healthy food. so this is the reason, why i dont have at the moment a bigger restaurant, but i have a small vegan restaurant in the most fancy area in vienna and i spread with my vegan kitchen and the messages on my door (front) the vegansim out, that the not vegan People recognize that the Veganims exists. So you really remember me on one Couple once they were also Guests in my vegan Bistro last year:
The Mother with her Son. They both told me how delicioius my Food is and the Son leaked the Plate after he was finished with the Food. He also had the black Quinoa with creamy Peanutsauce (one of my most popular Dishes) and my special the Raw Wrap of black Quinoa. So i said to the Son, if you like my Food so much that you aso leak the Plate, more People has to know this, because sometimes i get bad reviews from false People they dont have the Taste for my Food or they dont appreciate. And the Mother and the Son, said, yes, thats true we know this kind of People and its a pitty tha this kind of People (mostly non vegans) spread their negativity or negativism unnecessary around. And then they leave. A few Days later, i read their review and she wrotes: Martina ask me if i can write a positive review and i thought thats unusual but a good idea, so write one.
The most diificult thing having a own restaurant is, to make it for everybody right, thats impossible, so i do it like i do it. And yes, my restaurant is personal because of me, and the small size (but i also have a lots of Families they come with their Kids and Parents like from Israel, Argentinia, US...) and i have so many special Guests, they love my atmosphäre, me, my Food and my Power to spread the Veganism in the most fancy Area in Vienna with only not Vegan Restaurants  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

very recommendable - Edit

As we came in, we got warm welcomed by the owner Martina. At first, i was a little bit surprised, about the small size of the restaurant, but later, it was exactly that size and the very friendly owner, which create such a pleasant atmosphere. The food tasted very good and especially the daily soup was so delicious.
Simply very recommendable .



Updated from previous review on 2017-01-29

1 Response
Read More

MartinaHinterwallner 30 Mar 2017 - thank you so much for your support !! i defently have my restaurants also (veganism, for the animals and the planet) for people like you  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Vegan dinner - Edit

We really enjoyed having dinner at the Delicious Vegan Bistro. The food was delicious like a home cooked meal and the atmosphere was very welcoming. We enjoyed talking with the owner who was very pleasant.

1 Response
Read More

MartinaHinterwallner 25 Nov 2016 - thank you  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Diamond in the rough - Edit

Delicious, a vegan bistro, is the perfect place for a lone wanderer like me looking for some company and yummy vegan food. The owner Martina makes you feel very welcome as soon as you walk in. It doesn't feel like you're in a restaurant but someone's home...a great change from the impersonal, noisy, and fast-paced restaurants that are everywhere. It's small, yes, but that makes it possible to converse with your cook as you wait. The food is exceptional and locally sourced so don't expect it to be cheap. Feel good knowing that you're helping local businesses! This is a diamond in the rough. Go in with no expectations and be pleasantly surprised.

Pros: Excellent food, Friendly owner, Nice vibe

1 Response
Read More

MartinaHinterwallner 22 Nov 2016 - thank you  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Give this one a miss!! - Edit

Didn't actually get around to tasting the food as the welcome we got was the rudest welcome I have ever received anywhere!! The owner/ chef quite obviously did not want to serve us and was extremely rude she was more interested in her dogs who quite frankly took up most of the space in the already tiny place and also gave the place a very doggy smell! ( I am a dog lover) however I do not want to share my eating space with someone else's dogs on a night out. My vegan eating experience in Vienna has been exceptional up until tonight. What a shame!

1 Response
Read More

MartinaHinterwallner 22 Nov 2016 - iam so happy that i have so many appreciate and respectfull guests they support me, my restaurant and the veganism worldwide. this kind of people never would write something absolutely wrong like you only to want to harm me or my restaurant. they are not egoistic people !! it was the right decision from me to dont allow you to come in my bistro and eat in my little peacecenter, because my other precious guests and me dont want to have so a negative energy what you spread, while enjoying my delicious, healthy & creativ vegan food. They Dogs were the dogs from my guests, so you dont know whats going on when you are infront of the restaurant only for 1 minute. Unbelivieble people like you that to you want to harm other people with their vegan restaurant, i mean you will harm the veganism with this generelly.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fantastic little place! - Edit

Our visit really brightened up an already sunny day in Vienna. The raw vegan pizza and satay quinoa were both unbelievably tasty and the owner was warm and friendly. Would definitely recommend!

Pros: Lots of care goes into each dish.

1 Response
Read More

MartinaHinterwallner 22 Nov 2016 - thank you  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Small bistro - Edit

We came here after having found that the other place we wanted to go to was already closed. We could choose between 3 dishes. I took the black quinoa satay dish and my boyfriend took the black quinoa tamari coconut milk dish. The food was pretty good, as was the matcha lemonade we had. It was quite pricey, though. When we left, the owner kindly asked us to write a nice review on Happy Cow to cover up the bad reviews she got lately. I thought that was kind of weird and pushy, but since we had a good experience I thought I might as well do it.

Pros: healthy and tasty food

Cons: a bit pricey, limited choice

1 Response
Read More

MartinaHinterwallner 22 Nov 2016 - oh my god ! you liked my food so much that i told you that i got a really unthankfull and not appreciate review from someone who doesnt tried my food, because i needed the place for a reservation and when you like my food so much, you can motivate others and write a nice review and you write then that i told you, you have to write a review :D  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Colorful meal, enthusiastic owner and great food. - Edit

Me and my boyfriend had the raw wrap and the black quinoa with peanut sauce. Had a lovely time in this cute bistro, very recomended.

Pros: $$$, Localization, Kind owner and good food

Cons: None

1 Response
Read More

MartinaHinterwallner 22 Nov 2016 - thank you  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lovely place - Edit

When we were searching for a vegan place in Wien, happy cow showed me this place so we went there. There was a limited choice, but when we got our meal we forgot about it. I had a black quinoa salad with peanut sauce and paksoi and it tasted really great. Also the owner is a lovely woman. We were talking the entire time and it was really cosy. Hope to go back there sometime.

Pros: All vegan and fresh made food, Lovely owner

Cons: We could only choose between 2 or 3 dishes

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

cosy place to eat - Edit

Had dinner here one night with my husband who isn't vegan.
Loved the simplicity of the place, and the enthusiasm of the lovely lady owner/chef.
Limited choice, but that was OK as we had never been before. The food we had was very nice, and very filling.
If I had been on my own I would have gone again.
If you are a Vegan in Vienna, would recommend you give it a try.

Pros: lovely owner, very enthusiastic about Veganism. , little place, not part of a chain

Cons: limited choice

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

excellent food. - Edit

we visited here one night during our stay in vienna.
really small place and i first thought it was closed until we noticed some movement inside. we decided to give the lovely and happy chef free hands and surprise us.
and surprised we were.
one of the best vegan meals we have ever tasted. and it was plenty. this is a must go if you are in vienna. no doubt.
dinner for two 26 euros.

Pros: excellent food

Cons: bit pricey but just a bit.

1 Response
Read More

MartinaHinterwallner 22 Nov 2016 - thank you  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

over priced salad. - Edit

Apon arriving I had pizza on my mind, but I was informed that they were out. The lady which seemed to be the owner gave us 3 options. A wrap, bowl, or something else. My girlfriend and I ordered the "wrap" because it had beets and almond butter which we thought sounded interesting.

When the "wraps" arrived what we really got was an arugula salad with a black quinoa cracker. Instantly I was taken back because she said sorry for how hard the "wrap" was and how it was usually softer.

The cracker which was supposed to be the wrap was all broken up, bitter and tasted burnt. Then we got a pile of arugula, avocado, tons of sliced beets, a few pomegranate pieces, and some vinaigrette. No almond butter, salad was dry, and tasted basically like arugula and not much else.

When she seen we were un-happy she came to see what was wrong. We told her it wasn't what we expected for a wrap, we didn't like the cracker, and it tasted kind of basic. She then proceeded to claim how we were the only people ever who have disliked the wrap and it was gluten free is why it was dry. After going back and forth I told her we all have our own opinions.

When we returned she tried to pull up Facebook to further prove that every one loves the wrap and I calmly told her we would like our bill. She returned with a few pieces of sushi which just tasted heavily of balsamic and wasn't good.

Our bill was 27euro after she took 2euro off for not having a fresh wrap. So almost 30 euro for 2 basic salads and water. What really irks me is her knowing how unsatisfied we were and gave us like no discount, 2 euro is kind of a slap in the face. I will commend her by trying to make it right but arguing with a customer is never the correct way. I've been vegan 2 years and eat tons of raw food in California. I have never be so unsatisfied at the cost of a meal.

1 Response
Read More

MartinaHinterwallner 22 Nov 2016 - the raw Wrap of black Quinoa is my most popular dish and 97% of my guests really appreciate this kind of modern, creativ, tasty & healthy food. its not only a salad (salads gerally are great). its a raw wrap of black quinoa with red beet spaghetti, rucola, pesto, avocado, pomegranate and a refreshing dressing. i cell organic food, so you cant compair mainstream coffee, drinks or food with organic products and i also have a lot of popular and high quality organic lavels of the food from my dishes. my raw wrap of black quinoa its not a wheat flour wrap !!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Yummy food and great atmosphere! - Edit

My boyfriend and I had dinner here the other day and really enjoyed the food. The raw quinoa wrap as well as the black quinoa with peanut sauce and pak choi were delicious. The place is small but cozy and the owner, Martina, is a lovely person who is really passionate about veganism and loves to have good talks with her patrons from all over the world.
Definitely a recommendation!

Pros: Delicious food, Positive atmosphere, Friendly, warm-hearted owner/chef

1 Response
Read More

MartinaHinterwallner 22 Nov 2016 - thank you  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

More, please! - Edit

I had the pleasure of eating two meals here during my recent stay in Vienna. For dinner I had the quinoa-zucchini-bok choy dish with satay sauce. For lunch I had the raw quinoa wrap with avocado-arugula-beets-pomegranate. I also had matcha and wheatgrass juices. Everything was excellent. Although the Bistro is small in size, it's big on menu options, it's cozy atmosphere, and the love that owner and chef Martina puts into making delicious meals and connecting with her patrons. You'll feel like you're eating at the home of a good friend rather than just a restaurant. I highly recommend it. I wish my stay had been longer so that I could go back for more!

Pros: Delicious food, Good value and portion size, Warmth and friendliness

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

excellent Food from an Angel - Edit

i visited this peacefull Bistro today with my Firends and we where impressed. The Food is excellent, tasty not expensive and very nice done. i felt really good after the lunch, my Friends (not vegan) also. i had the Black Rice Noodles and my Friends the black Quinoa with Peanutscreme and a raw Wrap with Black Quinoa. It was so delicious, it was amazing. We had a very nice talk with the beautiful and very kindley Owner and with the other Guests. The atmosphere were great. iam really happy to found such a wounderfull place like that. thank you for the owner, this taff beatiful girl that she is working hard to make such a special place for her costumers. everybody will miss a really good food, if they dont join this place.

Pros: friendly, nice talks, excellent food

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

very tasty food and enthousiastic & compassionate owner! - Edit

i went there for lunch and had the raw zucchini noodles. The dish was very tasty, filling (avocado mmmm!) and freshly made. The tiny terrace is cute and makes you socialize with other customers. The owner is really enthousiastic and compassionate! Highly recommandable place!!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

exceptional service and delicious healthy food - Edit

Martina is a welcoming and compassionate host who prepares all food right there in her kitchen while you have a chat. Her bistro feels as though you've wandered into a friend's apartment and eating a delicious meal. All food was wholesome, fulfilling and yummy (particularly the tiramisu!!) and Martina set us in the direction of other vegan restaurants and supermarkets and shared the recipe for one of her delish desserts. Would certainly recommend, especially if you love fresh, wholesome vegan food and a homey chat. Thank you Martina!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Trust me, don't go here. - Edit

I honestly don't know how there can be so many positive reviews written here. It makes me feel like I ate at a completely different restaurant.

The restaurant owner was strange. She only had 2 or 3 dishes out of her large menu, which was very disappointing, but being vegan, and having walked especially there (vegan restaurants in Vienna aren't exactly on every corner of the street), myself and my non-vegan friend decided to stay and choose one of the dishes she did have.

I had a quinoa satay dish and my friend had the black rice noodles. DO NOT ORDER EITHER OF THESE TWO DISHES. My satay sauce dish was awful, to the point that whenever I think about it, I feel like throwing up. It was literally lots of quinoa, with a single pak choi on top and covered in a bit of satay sauce (which tasted questionable if anything else). I can't remember the last time I wasn't able to finish a meal purely out of dislike for it, but that dish had me gagging trying to eat it all. Needless to say, half of it was left on the plate.

My friend's dish wasn't much better. It didn't look appetising and didn't taste much better. In fact, tasteless is the word that best describes it. The noodles were far too soft and mushy, and it was just not even close to restaurant standard food. Worst part is, this was my friend's FIRST experience with vegan food. First impressions are important, and I'm afraid to say my friend's experience with Martina's food wasn't a good one.

Martina, herself, was weird. She was very pro-vegan which is fine when you're not pushy about it but she was. When we arrived, she handed both of us her published cookbooks which was a little pushy and offputting. She also asked repeatedly if we liked the food which was annoying.

To conclude, do not go here. Far too expensive for really bad food. I paid €11 for my dish which was an absolute disgrace when taken into account what I had to eat. There are far better vegan restaurants in Vienna for much, much cheaper. Only this afternoon had I eaten in the Harvest bistrot where I got a huge plate of awesome, healthy, flavourful food for €8. So listen to me. It's not worth it. Go somewhere else.

Pros: ?, ?, ?

Cons: Tasteless food , Only a few seats , Expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Raw clean vegan deliciousness - Edit

I'm a vegan flight attendant who flies all around the world
I was so lucky to find this small establishment run by compassionate chef Martina.
Simple tasty clean raw food in Vienna city centre.
More than going to a restaurant it feels like you are going to a friend who is preparing delicious vegan food specially for you
Enjoy

Updated from previous review on 2016-07-06 23:22:21

Pros: Mega healthy , Compassionate , Loving

Cons: Maybe a little small

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Vienna Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Delicious Vegan Bistro closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 6870 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support