Lacto
Ovo
European
Belgian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Large restaurant next to Cinema Lumiere. Menu mentions 1 vegan main dish which is an oven baked vegetables with sweet potato, broccoli, chickpeas, paksoi. Open Mon 12:00-00:00, Tue 15:00-00:00, Wed-Thu 12:00-00:00, Sat 12:00-01:00, Sun 12:00-00:00.


Venue map for De Republiek
© OpenStreetMap contributors

18 Reviews

First Review by TrudiBruges

TrudiBruges

Points +18742

Vegan
28 Feb 2024

Nice lunch! Vegan clearly labelled

Update 2024
Menu now mentions 3 vegan dishes and also vegan starters and vegan pastry! Improvement! Menu is with QR code.

Had a soup of the day (always vegan) which was miso and carrot. Toast with mushrooms and a lemonade.
For dessert a piece of frangipanne cake (from chez mariette) and forrest fruit tea.

Service was swift.
Food was nice. Didn't get any bread with soup (although noted on menu) so asked. Ok, then got bread, with non-vegan butter though. No vegan butter available unfortunately. Same for cookie that came with the tea. Those details really would make me smile 😉

Fully accessible place, with accessible toilet. One of the few in Bruges!
Spacious place, relaxed vibe. But very hard wooden benches/chairs 😟
__________
2018: De Republiek was nicely renovated in the Fall of 2017.
It is now a spacious and bright place. They were still working on the inner terrace when we were there, but it looked like it would be a nice terrace.

Only one vegan dish: the Saint Tropez, an ovendish with vegetables (sweet potato, chickpeas, broccoli and paksoi (17€). It was nice, but not really wow. The chickpeas were really hard too.

We asked about vegan dessert, but the waiter said none of the desserts were vegan.
We afterwards heard that Chez Mariette delivers vegan pastry to De Republiek, but apparently there wasn’t any available that day, or the waiter must have been unaware of it.

https://brugesvegan.com/2018/06/01/de-republiek-2-bruges/

Updated from previous review on 2018-06-02

Pros: nicely renovated, interior, spacious, Vegan options clearly labelled, wheelchair accessible

Cons: Please also provide vegan butter, cookie

Advertisement

naoms84

Points +313

Vegan
19 Nov 2023

Great atmosphere

Really good food and a great atmosphere. Very lively and a real mix of people. Had a great time

ElizaLagast

Points +38

Vegan
09 Jun 2023

Pleasant, vegan friendly place.

This place has a really nice atmosphere. Some excellent vegan options, including some pastries for dessert. Another bonus is that it is dog friendly, both inside or outside in their lovely garden!

VeganFoodieAmy

Points +418

Vegan
08 Jan 2023

Lekker!

Er staan paar vegan dingen op de kaart!

veganevolutionist

Points +1898

Vegan
19 Dec 2022

Welcome Lunch

Being a Monday the places we’d planned to visit were closed so it was nice to come across this beautiful place. Gorgeous interior. Although we hadn’t booked they found us a table. The menu is a QR code so we had to work round that but there were quite a few vegan options. B had the soup of the day which was vegan and I had a tempeh and tapenade dish, lovely. The fresh mint tea was lovely too.

Pros: More than one vegan option, Vegan desserts available, Gorgeous interior

Macarone

Points +564

Vegan
20 Nov 2022

Quality vegan options at this hidden gem

We were recommended this place and so glad for the tip. Walking by it’s hidden away but step inside and it’s a huge, modern restaurant. There were a couple of vegan starters (we had the lacquered tempeh) and a couple of mains (we had beruit (tempeh and roasted veggies) and the Hokkaido (noodles and tofu ramen) both dishes were huge and super tasty. Sadly we didn’t have room for the vegan pastry on offer. The selection of beers on offer was also excellent.

Pros: Interesting, tasty vegan options , Huge portions , Good atmosphere

jonassh

Points +21

Vegan
14 Nov 2022

Undercooked noodles

Large and nice atmosphere. Don't order the ramen dish - the broth is good, but the noodles are undercooked so they taste like flour and the prefried tofu is put in cold.

Pros: Nice atmosphere

Cons: Undercooked noodles and cold tofu in ramen dish

deirdrewh

Points +351

Vegan
27 Jul 2022

nice atmosphere

We stopped here for coffee and dessert. They have a brownie, frangipane, and a chocolate chip cookie from a vegan bakery. I tried the frangipane cake and it was very good.

Pros: vegan options (and dessert!) clearly marked, nice garden

edob

Points +133

Vegetarian
18 Jun 2022

Heerlijke vega opties

In de prachtige binnentuin hebben we genoten van een overheerlijke lunch. Genoeg keuze in vegan of vegetarisch.

Pros: Heerlijke binnentuin

MarliesScheemaker

Points +120

Vegan
16 Jun 2022

Changing menu with vegan options

The menu changes every know and then, lovely food, nice atmosphere, vegan deserts from chez mariette

naturalistica

Points +138

Vegan
29 Apr 2022

Very busy but friendly staff and tasty food

The restaurant has some vegan options and knowledgeable staff. It's a large and busy place.

Updated from previous review on 2022-04-29

Pros: Tasty food, Feel like a local as a traveller, Friendly staff

Cons: Busy and large restaurant, Not that many vegan options

Happylifes

Points +145

Vegan
28 Feb 2022

Goed vertoeven

Steeds meer vegan op de kaart! Heerlijk vertoeven in de zomer. Aanrader

Pros: Groot buitenterras

Susagainstspeciesism

Points +48

Vegan
07 Oct 2020

Nice atmosphere and staff

Some appetizers are vegan, 3 main courses are vegan and they are delicious, variety of flavours and tastes. Nice staff. Industrial look with plants. Dogs are welcome

Pros: Cheap for the fancy plate you get (20€)

RichT

Points +270

Vegan
17 Mar 2020

Not a burger as we know it

Last time we visited de Republiek it was a cavernous pub serving beer with loud music. A makeover has transformed the place into a modern, comfortable eating and drinking space. The vegan ‘burger’ was actually a well presented bowl of vegetables and salad covered in a garlic and onion sauce, but no sign of a bun. Hidden under the lettuce was a dollop of something that tasted of mash potatoes and chestnut. An interesting meal but probably one we’d not choose again.

Pros: Friendly, helpful staff, Good choice of beers, Reasonable prices for area

Cons: Limited vegan options

Mpie

Points +2653

Vegan
06 Feb 2020

De beste back-up

Voor ons is De Republiek altijd het back-up plan. De locatie is fijn: ruim, maar niet ongezellig. Je kunt er vaak met een groep terecht en het terras is leuk (kindjes kunnen er ook makkelijk rond lopen zonder weg te kunnen). De kaart bevat niet altijd een vegan optie, maar er zijn altijd gerechten die kunnen aangepast worden. De obers weten wat vegan is en doen er nooit moeilijk over.

alannahlyall

Points +72

Vegan
22 Oct 2019

Expensive but lovely

Higher price for the amount of food you get but the flavours are delicious!

hammie

Points +31

Mostly Veg
09 Jul 2019

Unusual but delicious vegan options

Came highly recommended by a local. Food and service did not disappoint. 4 vegan dishes available, 2 of which we ordered and found to be excellent. Gazpacho was not your traditional beet soup and Asian salad came with nice variety of veggies. Great local beers too.

imgraff

Points +41

Vegan
09 Jul 2019

Delicious vegan choices and friendly vibe

Big busy restaurant with a warm and friendly atmosphere. Four vegan options were clearly marked. My gazpacho was unique, filling and absolutely delicious. Good beer selection that favors smaller local breweries. Did not enquire about dessert--too full!




This page has been viewed 3800 times.