Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Indian
Fast food
Take-out
Take-out only

Kiosk and kitchen making dosa to-order. Dosas are vegan and gluten-free, topped with chutney. Lassi drinks contain dairy. DC Dosa also operates booths at area markets. 2015 relocated from I St NW. Take-out only. Open Tue-Fri 11:00am-8:00pm, Sat-Sun 10:00am-7:00pm.


Venue map for DC Dosa - Kiosk
© OpenStreetMap contributors

17 Reviews

First Review by cookiem

LoganMelton

Points +1245

Vegan
18 Feb 2024

Great dosas!

Great dosas, made quick in front of you. They fill it up with lots of toppings so it is very filling. Most of the menu is vegan as is.

Advertisement

happy_banana

Points +1133

Vegan
12 Nov 2023

Favorite spot in Union Market

Really filling and tasty dosas, reasonable prices

AlexinDC

Points +444

Vegan
08 Jun 2023

So good - so cute!

Watching them make and prepare these incredible vegan dosa is half the experience. Highly recommend!

Elaine_P

Points +104

Vegan
12 Dec 2022

Huge and yummy dosas!

A great option for vegans in Union Market. I've gotten dosas from here several times and I've never been disappointed. They're made fresh in front of you and it's reasonably priced considering the large amount of food you get.

Pros: Large portion, Fresh

conn0rr

Points +503

Vegan
30 Oct 2022

Tasty quick meal

Food was nice, I especially liked the mango chutney that came with the dosa. A little expensive for what you get though.

sriblet

Points +274

Vegan
18 Oct 2022

Underwhelming dosas, shorter hours

I am always disappointed by the dosas here - they just aren’t as good as in a traditional South Indian restaurant - smaller, and with more, and more liquid-y, fillings, so they don’t stay crispy and end up more like a crepe. I would definitely never get one to take out for that reason. The masala uttapam is the best option, in my opinion. But $14 is, frankly, not a very good deal even for one of those. Their hours are also listed as beginning at 11 am, but I tried to visit at 11:30 am within the past few weeks and was told that they wouldn’t open until noon.

Updated from previous review on 2022-10-17

Pros:

kellyymaee

Points +78

Vegan
18 Sep 2022

Delicious dosa

I had the mung lentil dosa with curried potatoes and roasted veggies (plus two sauces), and it was excellent. The portion size was huge, too!

DC Dosa definitely seemed to be the best (and possibly only?) option for plant-based brunch at Union Market.

Updated from previous review on 2022-08-14

Pros: Huge portions, Speedy service, Flavorful food

beetsrock

Points +719

Vegan
05 Mar 2022

Huge and delicious

Make your own dosa — choose outer, filling, and chutneys — you can mix and match. I had the Punjab combo and it was very good. The dosa is huge and good for two people. I checked out every vegan offering in Union Market and this one was a winning choice.

Pros: All vegan dosa menu, Speedy service, Reasonably priced

chels2ocean

Points +689

Vegan
20 Feb 2022

Filling and inexpensive

Great option in Union Market - very fast and inexpensive given the HUGE portion you get. Admittedly it wasn't the most amazing dosa and sambar that I've had, but it was still tasty

elenidragon

Points +333

Vegan
01 Jan 2022

SO GOOD

Get the yellow lentil dosa with curried potatoes!! So good it doesn’t need any of the sauces, the onion tamarind and coconut chutney weren’t spectacular but it really was very good even without them

ElissaBVegan

Points +2325

Vegan
03 Oct 2021

So good!!! Excellent Union Market option!

I was delighted by my first visit to DC Dosa in Union Market. Everything is 100% vegan. I had dosas with curry potatoes and roasted vegetables. Absolutely delicious! My lunch companion who is an omnivore who lives in Texas told me that he could hardly wait to get back to DC Dosa after trying it on his last visit to DC.

Pros: 100 Vegan, Flavorful and delicious , You can watch the dosas being made

etoile

Points +319

Vegetarian
25 Dec 2020

Good food inside Union Market

One of the better Union Market stalls for veg folks. The basil lassi is especially good if you do dairy. Not quite as spicy as I would like but the sauces make up for it.

beccab

Points +51

Vegan
21 Apr 2019

AMAZING

This was my first dosa ever but holy moly will it not be my last. Thank you so much for this blessed experience.

HappyLamp

Points +74

Vegan
13 Jul 2018

Great vegan meal

Dc dosa offers a lot of unique flavors. They will cook your meal right in front of you. I asked them to make me whatever they suggested because I knew I would like anything they made.

Pros: Completely vegan , Large serving , Inexpensive

Katie Le

Points +519

Vegan
30 Apr 2015

Almost all-vegan!

I agree with the other reviews so won't repeat them. In sum: supremely delicious, large, all-vegan dosas. Wow! What a treat. I have only been to their Urban Market location.

tauberl

Points +472

Vegan
02 Nov 2014

Huge and delicious!

I went to the urban market location and had a great meal! There are different batters and fillings to choose from- I tried a lentil batter with eggplant and sweet potato filling- and then a few chutneys to put on top. The employees were super friendly in explaining the different options, and made the recommendation of the eggplant which was delicious!! And it's all vegan! Portions are huge so you may want to share- or take home for later :-)

Pros: creative and delicious food, friendly staff, all vegan!!

cookiem

Points +5865

Vegan
13 Apr 2014

Almost all vegan

I love this option in the Whole Foods at Foggy Bottom because it is delicious and independent!

All the dosas are vegan- the 3 dosa bases of petite yellow, multi and another option. They are all gluten free, too, using rice and lentil flour. Then you can pick your filling of potatoes, eggplant with sweet potato or cabbage with carrots. They all looked great, but the eggplant and sweet potato looked avant garde- maybe next time! The chutneys were tasty- the cilantro sesame was nice and spicy, the tomato peanut was rich and tasty . The dosas were more of a Vietnamese pancake style with the size and presentation. Dosa was a bit thick, but easier to eat because there was ample filling! Often, the filling is minimal in ratio comparison to the crepe/ dosa, so I was quite pleased.

The cook was nice and friendly, efficient too.

The mango lassi had yogurt, as does another chutney.

I really like this place and it exceeded my expectations! Yay!

Pros: Generous filling, Almost all vegan!!!

Cons: Small menu, Lassi not vegan




This page has been viewed 6093 times.