• David's Restaurant

  • (15)
    14
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Ovo
Chinese
Thai
Cambodian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Makes hand-pulled noodles in-house in an open kitchen. The noodles do not contain egg. Vegans could also get rice, and stir fried veg (say no oyster sauce). Soup is not vegan friendly.


Venue map for David's Restaurant
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by JordannHorn

squidfire

Points +38

Vegan
02 Feb 2024

Average. Chaotic

Went here due to good reviews.

Overrated for sure. Food average, service chaotic and awfully noisy and hot inside.
I don’t remember the last time the noise in a restaurant was that overwhelming.

Food pretty oily, nothing special at all. Won’t be coming back here.

We had noodles with veg and tofu, steamed veg buns, fried rice etc,

Cons: Noisy and hot inside , Chaos and super busy , Food bland and oily

Advertisement

toni.markert

Points +257

Vegan
25 Jan 2024

Hand Pulled Noodles

Really lovely restaurant run by a family.
They offer fresh handmade noodle dishes and dumplings.
Vegan options available. I choose dumplings in vegetable soup and can highly recommend.

Fiddlesticks

Points +304

Vegan
09 Jan 2024

Cheap and cheerful. 3.5/5

Had a decent few options. We had green mango salad, noodles and tofu and then mango with coconut sticky rice.

Pros: Good value, Handmade noodles you can watch!, Mango sticky rice 🤌

Cons: Main dishes were fine but not great

jessellisx

Points +178

Vegetarian
23 Aug 2023

Really tasty, not great for vegans

I had the noodle and dumpling soup. The noodles & dumplings are honestly so good, though the dumplings have egg in, and I have just seen reviews saying the broth is beef - i’m not 100% sure as mine didn’t tasty meaty but I can see that it would make sense for the restaurant to cook all broth together. If so I would have appreciated being told this seeing as I ordered a non meat dish.

Pros: Fresh, Delicious, Vegetarian options

Cons: Not vegan friendly

akshayjain8705

Points +28

Vegan
13 May 2023

No options

The Soup broth is made of beef & bones when we asked for vegetables they used the same broth - we just left.

CamilaSilvaL

Points +5849

Vegan
01 Nov 2022

Nice fried noodles

The fried noodles with veggies and tofu are really good and it’s fun to watch how they make them. The restaurant and the staff are really lovely. The dumplings have egg tho, I came just for that. They also cook everything in the same soup (with meat).

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-01

mat_r28

Points +1686

Vegan
01 Nov 2022

Lovely place but the dumplings arent vegan!

I saw a few reviews about vegan dumplings but the lady confirmed that they have a pre-made filling with egg, which cant be removed…
The fried noodles with tofu, on the other hand, were delicious and very fresh, highly recommend!
Make sure to ask for no oyster sauce!

JonnyGato

Points +17

Vegetarian
19 Oct 2022

Amazing

Amazing service, great people, very friendly and welcoming. Had the veggie dumbling soup with handmade noodles.. 🤤🍜
It was delicious, I wish I found this place sooner!! Definitely recommend 🙏💙

Pros: Handmade noodles fresh as can be!

jolpl

Points +17

Vegan
07 Sep 2022

Good vegan options

Loved the handmade noodles and dumplings!

Footprints.of.zoe

Points +222

Vegetarian
19 Jul 2022

Good dumplings, nothing special

I ordered the 8 steamed veggie dumplings. They were nice and made with a spinach and tofu filling. They were served with crushed garlic on the side. I would recommend getting double the amount of dumplings if you want to be full. My pineapple juice was a bit overpriced and cost as much as the dumplings.
Other travellers I dined with weren’t happy with their food (rice dishes and stir fry dishes) and they looked low quality. The staff member who served us wasn’t friendly at all and didn’t look at us when we ordered - we seemed like an inconvenience

Updated from previous review on 2022-07-19

SaraswatiSarungallo

Points +58

Vegan
02 Jul 2022

Cheap tasty food

Enjoyed the local vibe and family owned nature of the business. Got to see the noodles being made!

Pros: Vegan options, Local atmos0here , Friendly family business

MacyBiasol

Points +20

Vegan
14 Jun 2022

If I could give 5 stars I would

One of the best noodle soups I’ve had in my 5 months travelling south east Asia

Pandawan

Points +550

Vegan
22 Apr 2022

Hot, sweaty, family restaurant - wonderful cooking!

When we first walked in it was quite off putting: table inside restaurant was full of family’s possessions. Kids cleared, begrudgingly.
Is absolute mayhem, with dad doing key parts of service but forgot 1/3 of our order (and of course, with Asian food, we couldn’t be sure if it was just coming when it suited the kitchen)
We followed the advice in the headline section of the restaurant and hoped it is accurate, as dad was too busy, and so were the kids (but suspect they’d just tell us what they thought we would want to hear anyway)
Food was amazing: best dumplings I’ve ever had by a country mile, and they are already a real favourite of mine
Noodles didn’t need any source (we were specific about that as per the guide) they were amazing
Kids are either serving or playing around you: it’s a real hard working family restaurant and you start to really enjoy that aspect after it initially being offputting.

Pros: Dumplings: still dreaming of them!, Cute children , Amazing taste!

Cons: Cute children (see pros) do most of the service, Can’t be absolutely sure: followed advice on here, Forgot some of our menu

amyy

Points +146

Vegan
03 Feb 2020

Really tasty

We had the veggie dry noodles, veggie noodle soup and veg dumplings. They dumplings were great. Noodles are super tasty. Tofu tasted a bit funky though.

JordannHorn

Points +327

Mostly Veg
13 Oct 2019

Awesome noodles!

They hand pull the noodles in the front of the restaurant so order noodles to e joy the show! The veggie fried noodles are amazing!

cheepek

13 Oct 2019

just a wee thank u 4 all the information u have given




This page has been viewed 2328 times.