• Datta Banana Leaf Restaurant and Bungalow

  • (15)
    3
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Indian
Asian
Catering
Breakfast
Malaysian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Offers north and south Indian food and has a separate vegan/vegetarian menu. English spoken.


Venue map for Datta Banana Leaf Restaurant and Bungalow
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by thechatonstravellers

Klaud

Points +539

Vegan
24 Jan 2024

Lovely owner!

The place has very nice view over the river and the owner is so sweet and very attentive😊

I had mutter panner with nann - it was perfect 😍

The prices are also very reasonable!

I highly recommend the place!

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-24

Advertisement

GlutenBomb

Points +13

Vegetarian
24 Dec 2023

Just ok

Ordered an aloo mutter with rice. Also a side of garlic naan. Everything came fairly quick although we noticed the establishment was quit dirty. I know this is Laos, but definately a lack of attention to cleaning the space. Halfway through eating I bit into the metal strand of a sponge in my food. This killed the mood fast. Food not bad, but the poor detail to cleanliness killed the vibe.

Pros: Friendly people., On the river.

Cons: Cleanliness of the establishment.

nhansson

Points +487

Vegan
23 Dec 2023

Best indian food during our trip

Would give 5 stars if possible. The food is sooo good, we went every night. Chana masala 🙏🏼 for cute dog

kirstyconnery

Points +713

Vegan
31 Oct 2023

tasty hearty meals

ate here twice during our stay on don det and were really impressed! their naan bread is vegan along with a lot of different curries. Both times i had the chana masala and it really hit the spot! They also do these huge samosas with mint sauce which were incredible!! My friend and I shared them which i would recommend doing as they’re huge and both agreed they were one of the best samosas we’d had! In addition there’s also a really cute dog and puppy who live here who made the evening really entertaining!!

Pros: lots vegan, cute dog, lovely atmosphere

Cons: long wait for food

MerikWesterveld

Points +755

Vegan
17 Sep 2023

Amazing indian food

The curries were so full of flavor! Really enjoyed my experience here, friendly family and they fully understand veganism. There naan is even vegan which is great.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-17

isabellaoakley

Points +149

Vegan
16 Aug 2023

I Want A Latta Datta

Such a good Indian restaurant, I tried the eggplant curry and the masala popadoms. Everything was packed full of flavour and cooked well. The portion sizes were on point too, tastefully satisfied.

Pros: Good options, Cheap, Amazing food

Cons: Service a little slow

Kathi15

Points +280

Vegan
13 Jul 2023

Empfehlenswert

Alle vegetarischen Gerichte sind auch vegan. Der Inhaber versteht gut Englisch und für wirklich kleines Geld kann man hier leckere Gerichte erhalten. Wir hatten das Green pea- spinach-Curry mit Reis und das klassische vegetable-Curry mit plain Naan. Wir sind begeistert und gehen morgen direkt nochmal hin! Super!

Pros: Leckeres Essen , Günstig, Freundliche Inhaber

Selina_nsw

Points +3489

Vegan
02 May 2023

Okish Indian food

It's really nice that all of their vegetarian options are also vegan. I ordered the Dal curry and it was only ok. It was a bit lacking in flavor and had almost more lentils than curry in it. The plain naan was the worst one I've ever had, it tasted a bit like eating a spoon of flour.
The staff was very nice and really try to make you feel welcome.

Annanas3

Points +385

Vegetarian
12 Apr 2023

Nice Indian/sri lankan

The malaï koftha is just incredible, go for it. And the naans are all good!
Owner speaks English and easy to get pure veg food.

bryonyhickson

Points +931

Vegan
05 Apr 2023

Amazing

We ordered aloo gobi & veg curry - sooo good. Plain naan was also very tasty. Really decent price.

IuliaNOTLulia

Points +5692

Vegan
19 Mar 2023

Good vegan food, and the staff understands what is veganism

All the dishes can be done vegan. All the breads are done without milk or eggs, so it’s safe to order. As always; triple check before ordering, but if you tell them vegan, it should be enough

Pros: Nice family business , Knowledge of veganism, Cheap

FloTaylor

Points +19

Vegetarian
04 Feb 2023

Fantastic Food!

Amazing vegetarian and vegan options here, the food is so delicious and really cheap too. You can say how spicy you want it as well which is always great! The eggplant Pakora's are so tasty as well!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, You can choose the spice level, Cheap

Cons: Service could be better

DevonNewton

Points +427

Vegan
14 Dec 2022

AMAZING!

Possibly the nicest curry I've ever eaten I got the palak paneer (tofu). Absolutely delicious! We got 2 other curries and 2 garlic naans. Could not recommend more. So so so so tasty! Whole veggie/vegan page in menu owner is very aware of what vegan is .


Edit: went again the next day and was just as beautiful honestly this food is some of the best I've ever eaten!

Updated from previous review on 2022-12-13

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Delicious food , Very good prices

DennisBaltz

Points +49

Vegan
20 May 2020

Amazing Restaurant

We loved the atmosphere and the food very much. We think it tasted a little different than the other Indian Restaurant (Jasmin) on the Island but was just as delicous.

They have a Potato-Nan-bread which Jasmin doesnt have and its amazing!
we think that the surronding is a little nicer

Both are increadilby cheap. (15000 kip for a curry)

The staff is was verry sweet and made everything vegan an almost oil-free for us.

Pros: Atmosphere, delicous food, friendly staff, cheap

Cons: Serves meat

thechatonstravellers

Points +1274

Vegan
06 Feb 2020

Amazing indian food!

The only vegan restaurant was closed so we had to find a place for lunch. Already tried the other indian restaurant on Happy Cow but didn't enjoy it. This place is amazing!! The Chana Masala was SO GOOD! We also ordered one Chapati and a plain dosa with rice. It really made us feel like if we were back in Malaysia. Moreover it was a little bit cheaper than the other indian restaurants on Don Det. Totally recommend if the vegan restaurant is closed. Friendly owner.

Pros: Real indian flavors, Friendly owner




This page has been viewed 923 times.