Bakery

Coffee roastery and bakery cafe serving non-vegan meals, but the pastries are all-vegan and bakes its own breads. Offers vegan brunch plate and house-made vegan hotdog. Has almond and soy milks. Open Tue-Sun 10:00am-6:00pm.


Venue map for Dark Arts Coffee
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by sunshine315

Tsukimi

Points +3675

Vegan
11 Feb 2024

Yummy food, great service!

Cozy hip coffee shop. Perfect after a hike trough the peninsula.
Had the vegan burger. It was very good. Liked that it came with salad instead of fries. Very reasonable for the price!
I also ordered a Nutella roll which was surprisingly hard. It must have been a bit old. But the must have heard our conversation and handed us a another fresh one instead which was still warm and very fluffy. 😋
They also agreed to put a happy cow sticker on their window. 👍

Advertisement

JohannesHattendorf

Points +342

Vegan
12 Aug 2023

Always! ALWAYS!!!

Went there in 2019, went there in May 2023, gonna go there in November 2023.
Always worth the trip from Tokyo/Yokohama. Possible the best non-japanese food in Japan. It just taste good.

Pros: Vegan Menü, Best Coffee, Cool Music

BrwnFngrsGrnThmbs

Points +53

Vegan
09 Oct 2022

Great cafe with good vegan options

The vegan burger is great and they often have vegan specials on the weekend

Pros: Great coffee and their own roaster, Vegan specials

ClaireRugaber

Points +92

Mostly Veg
01 Jun 2022

Amazing brunch

Amazing food, cofee and location

Pros: Great location with good parking too , Vegan and non vegan options , Awesome trinkets to buy

サンドラ

Points +472

Vegan
15 Jan 2022

Good burgers and coffee

Next time will try other vegan options.
Also, I found a wonderful hoodie to buy there!
It was my bday, so I treated myself~

Pros: Vegan options , Sells interesting clothes and other goods

lilahh

Points +160

Vegan
07 Nov 2021

Amazing coffee and bakery!

Twenty minutes away from Keikyu Zushi-Hayama station, the Dark Arts Coffee is a bike-centred roastery with divine coffee and delicious baked goods.

The roastery place is somewhat rustic, and there's a lot of bike-themed souvenirs, from mugs, water bottles, and T-shirts. They also sell coffee beans, which mostly come from South America. Pro tip: You can try these different blends at the premise by ordering them as drip coffee. Another intriguing thing I spotted was the 'F covid-19' sign on the table that reminds you to consume everything within 90 minutes.

Since I often got coffee shakes, I ordered the flat white and cinnamon rolls. The former looks very pretty, and I love the creaminess that, I assume, came from the mix between soy and oat milk. I also tried my drinking partner's today's coffee. Although it's a bit more acidic than your usual coffee, it wasn't very heavy and refreshing. I actually regretted a bit that I didn't go with today's coffee.

The cinnamon roll was also delicious; it wasn't sickeningly sweet with a good amount of cinnamon. Compared to the other cinnamon rolls in your local bakery, the bun has more texture, so it can get a bit chewy. It definitely pairs well with my flat white.

Since our sweet tooth was not fully satisfied, we ended up buying an extra oatmeal cookie each, provided by ovgo baker. My drinking partner had the coconut chai cookie, which was heavily spiced, so you can tell it is a chai cookie. Compared to the nutty chocolate oatmeal I had, which was also good, I would definitely recommend the coconut chai cookie.

If you are a coffee lover and happen to be roaming around the Zushi-Hayama area, please give this place a try!

Pros: can buy the coffee beans to enjoy at home, Friendly staff

JaumeLabro

Points +12

Non Veg
06 Oct 2021

Lovely food, specialty coffee and vibes. A 5 stars spot ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Great restaurant-cafe to enjoy English style brunch, sandwiches, burgers, etc..with several veggie and vegan options! Top quality specialty coffee and best bread in Shonan area.

Pros: Vegan sandwiches and burgers, Top quality coffee, Best natural homemade bread in Shonan area.

Cons: Is closed on Monday 😎 🤣

ScottNeilson

Points +44

Vegan
14 Feb 2021

Famous London Coffee Roaster in Hayama

I couldn’t believe it when this top flight roaster opened near Zushi beach. Great for coffee, vegan brownies and vegetarian and vegan breakfast and lunch. The chef is vegetarian and I am a vegan with a wheat allergy (gluten free) and he works around that to cook me up a post Miura ride meal with no problems at all.

Pros: Awesome coffee roaster, Vegan and vegetarian options , Has parking for cars and bikes

Cons: Limited outdoor seating (bench seat & 2 tables)

VickiNewMath

Points +707

Vegan
31 Dec 2019

New favorite spot!!

Cute cozy warm and delicious! Food is fantastic and not expensive at all. Get the coffee too, absolutely amazing. English speakers here.

Pros: Vegan options, Cheap

ReiAmber

Points +3086

Vegan
30 Dec 2019

yummy!

They have a small menu with a vegan brunch plate, which had house-made sourdough bread, hummus, vegetables, house-made sausage and baked beans, and was excellent. The hummus was terrific. I never liked actual, non-vegan sausage so was really happy that this one was not meant to be an exact replica but rather a sort of "veggie burger" version of it made with grains. I also don't particularly care for sourdough bread but the sour taste was so mild I enjoyed it a lot and got a small loaf for 500 yen to take home. They also have larger loaves to take home and vegan Gugga brand brownies.

I liked the brownies but one of the main components is coconut oil so those who dislike coconut may not be fans.

I had an almond milk latte. I think I would have preferred soy but they were sold out.

They also sell lovely pottery cups and vintage clothing.

Very recommended!

24 mins on foot from JR Zushi station or there's a bus stop very nearby.

Credit cards accepted at 1000 yen or above. They'll email or text you a receipt if you want one.

Pros: tasty food, almond and soymilk are both available, also sells nice pottery cups and vintage clothes

Cons: menu is limited

BeeJax

Points +321

Vegan
29 Dec 2019

Vegan options and great coffee

Offers vegan brunch plate which was delicious! Large plate made up of; homemade sourdough bread, beans, roasted vegetables, hummus and vegan sausage.
The vegan sausage is homemade by themselves as well as the sour dough bread.
Also have a vegan hotdog and salad set on the menu.
Offering almond and soy milks, as well as vegan cookies and cakes
Great coffee which they roast themselves!

English menu and clearly labelled vegan items :)

Pros: Homemade/ fresh , Nice atmosphere , Good options

Mondogonzo

Points +19

Vegetarian
23 Sep 2019

Dark arts coffee japan

Great cafe in a coffee roaster premises. They self baking all the breads, all the pastry are vegan! They run a small menu with plenty of vegan options including a house made hot dog! Super friendly stuff and of course killer coffee!! Easy and chilled atmosphere.. weekly specials and stuffing portions..

Pros: Big portions, Plenty of vegan options, Amazing coffee

Cons: One parking spot, Bit far from zushi station

sunshine315

Points +149

Vegan
23 Sep 2019

Great Coffee. Delicious Food!

Dope coffee shop with a small menu but has solid vegan options! Sister shop to the Dark Arts in London.

Pros: Coffee (plus non-dairy milk, Vibes




This page has been viewed 1841 times.