Dajeon Cafe

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 16 reviews )
Contact
518086363
Find

240-12 Bujeon 2i-Dong Busanjin-gu, Busan, South Korea

다전 at 부산진구 신천대로62번길 61, 부산광역시, 614-846, 대한민국 located on 4th floor is a Korean food cafe & tea house. May 2017 reported no longer uses honey - please confirm. Open Mon-Fri 12:00pm-10:00pm, Sat 12:00pm-9:00pm.

Category: Vegan, Korean

Reviews (16)

First Review by danielReich

Lovely banchans - Edit

We had two mock meat dishes and mandu. Everything was great! Closed when we arrived around 21.45 for a second visit.

Updated from previous review on 2017-08-01

Pros: Vegetarian banchan, Nice rooftop garden atmosphere, Friendly staff

Cons: I didn't see any beer in the menu?

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wonderful little place - Edit

I ate here twice this week on my vacay to Busan. I loved it. Both times I had the mandu and the galkuksu. I loved them both, especially the nice, piping hot galkuksu. I love hot soup even in summer and this really hit the spot. The first time, I also had lovely gukhwa tea...chrysanthemum tea. the second time I had the strawberry smoothie...delicious and refreshing. I will definitely come again on my next trip to Busan. I also love the outdoor garden patio on the rooftop.

Pros: Great service, Great food, Good portion sizes in correlation to price

Cons: Hard to find..found it on my 4th attempt

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

My favorite Korean Food in Busan - Edit

This vegetarian restaurant is almost completely vegan (minus honey in a couple drinks as mentioned below), and has been consistently excellent in my visits over the last nine months. The lotus wrapped rice (special meal, minimum order of two) is my favorite. You get a big serving of rice with some beans, wheat bulgogi and lettuce wraps, a korean pancake, soup, some excellent tofu, and enough banchan to cover your whole table. I also recommend the mandu. They have an excellent selection of tea, the only thing they are really missing is dessert. If they had vegan cake or ice cream on the menu it would be perfect. It's also significantly cheaper to eat here than some of the other vegan restaurants in the area.

It's also pretty easy to find, just head out exit 7 at Seomyeon and walk straight for maybe two or three blocks. When you see three green phone booths, turn left. Take another left at the first cross street (very short distance) and there is a sports arcade followed by a doorway with stairs going up. There is a small sign with no English that could be easy to miss. There is a big poster of a baseball player swinging a bat at the top of the first stairs when you enter. Take the stairs all the way to the top.

Updated from previous review on 2016-11-06

Pros: inexpensive and delicious, excellent location, and relaxing space, friendly staff

Cons: no dessert

2 Responses
Read More

FresiaCyw 19 Mar 2017 - Hi could you share with me, is the operation really from 12pm-1pm only?  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

LindseyOtterbourg 18 Apr 2017 - Thanks for the info! Super excited to try this place in a couple weeks :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Dajeon Cafe, Busan - Edit

They seem to market themselves as a vegan eatery. The menu though clearly indicates some beverages prepared with honey.



Updated from previous review on 2016-09-16

Cons: Shame about the honey

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent! - Edit

Really delicious vegan versions of traditional Korean dishes.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

cute café with lovely vegan food - Edit

On the 4th floor filled with plants and a ceiling of clouds - very cozy and homely.
The bibimbap was amazing and the dumplings were a hit. They specialize in tea of all kinds.

Pros: cheap delicious food

1 Response
Read More

tulips326 10 Sep 2016 - This place was extremely hard to find. Even after showing the taxi driver the address in Korean and after using the GPS system, he still dropped me off with this place nowhere to be found...disappointing.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

AMAZING - Edit

Traveling vegan in South Korea is a challenge and so I was weeping with joy to find a place that serves some veg Korean food. The prices are reasonable, the place is super cute and the workers are really wonderful. The vegan bulgogi was absolutely incredible, and the dumplings were also delicious. It's not that hard to find if you look at the pictures some other users provided. Look for the sports arcade and go up to the fourth floor, simple. This was probably the best meal I've had in South Korea, cannot say enough good things.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan Bulgogi! - Edit

This place was amazing. I was able to eat by myself in Korea without feeling weird AND have true vegan Korean food, 2 things that happen rarely! The staff was super friendly and they have an English menu. I ordered the vegan bulgogi which came with rice, shredded cabbage, lettuce wraps, seaweed soup, tofu, and some pickled side dish. Every single bite was AMAZING, and I'm picky with my vegan food. I would go back there every day if I could. It was a little hard for me to find though. After turning left by the 3 phone booths, turn left again onto the first intersecting street. There is an arcade/sports bar about 2 or 3 stores down on the lefthand side and the restaurant is on the 4th floor.

Pros: Reasonable pricing, Delicious food, Great atmosphere

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious! - Edit

Everything we tasted was absolutely delicious and so tasty. Such a relief (and rarity) to be able to eat vegan food in South Korea.

We had the bibimbap, deep fried veggie chicken and dumplings. Would recommend all of them.

Difficult to find but I have added some pictures to hopefully make it a little easier. It's located on the fourth floor of a building where baseball posters are on the wall on the way up. The restaurant sign is in Korean.

Pros: Lovely food, Attentive staff, Reasonable

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cozy restaurant - Edit

The place is very cozy, although slightly difficult to find. They serve amazing Korean food. Their dumplings and bibimbap are belicious. I definitely recommend the dumplings. The pumpkin soy latte is also to die for. Tastes like heaven. They also serve vegan chicken but I didn't really like it because of the texture. Everyone is different though so definitely try it!

Pros: Delicious dumplings , Amazing soy latte , Cozy restaurant

Cons: They were out of ice cream, Difficult to find

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

amazing dumplings and latte - Edit

I went to Dajeon and got the dumplings and soy pumpkin latte and was highly impressed with the food and the atmosphere! The restaurant has really nice views being up on the 4th floor. The food is really delicious, healthy and affordable. I'll definitely go back here if I ever return to busan.

Pros: affordable

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious and Inexpensive Food - Edit

I was so happy with the food served here. I was expecting small portions and a small selection, but the selection was great. I ordered the bean-meat steak for 7,000 won. The steak and the sauce was delicious! Nothing felt too heavy or salty. It was served with fried oyster mushroom on perilla leaf with a sample of kidney beans, a serving of rice, shredded cabbage, with miyeok-guk, and tofu and mu kimchi as banchan. Usually I really dislike kkakdugi (radish kimchi), but theirs was really delicious! I couldn't believe the portion size for 7,000 won. I was really full when I finished but felt good and not sleepy. Another thing that really surprised me was how quickly the food came out.

The only disappointment was that it seems they do not sell many of their desserts anymore.


Updated from previous review on Tuesday August 18, 2015

Pros: Large Portion Size, Delicious and Satisfying Food, Inexpensive

Cons: Needs updated menu

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Love love love - Edit

Travelling in Korea as a vegetarian isn't an easy feat. After a few weeks of surprise meat in majority of meals thus place was exactly what we needed.

Pros: Tasty vegan takes on traditional food, Big portions, fair prices, Lovely staff and atmosphere

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lovely Local Cuisine - Edit

Dined here last night with a friend. Enjoyed the set menu. Plate of sticky rice and beans wrapped in a lotus leaf and bowl of seaweed soup each plus eleven Korean dishes and buckwheat tea for 11000 won each. Plus kiwi juice for 5000 won. Great service, great food, great value.
Location: Take subway train to Seomyeon station. Use Seomyeon market exit (exit 7). At top of stairs go straight ahead on footpath for 2 or 3 long blocks When you reach a group of 3 phone boxes turn left into side lane and Wa Bar is on the corner of the long, narrow alley crossing the lane just ahead. Stairs to top floor are entered from alley.

Pros: Calm ambience, comfy seating, Great value local cuisine, Prompt, pleasant service

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best Korean food in Busan - Edit

This place deserves more praise and visitors. The quality of the food is absolutely amazing. If you are into traditional Korean food, this is a must visit!

We were a party of two and ordered the bulgogi set, which was their most recommended item and the steamed mandu (dumplings). The food came with a bajillion side dishes (ok, around 10 dishes), steamed glutinous rice wrapped in a leaf, a bowl of seaweed soup, pan fried tofu drizzled with chili sauce and a veggie pancake. Our main dishes was the "beef" bulgogi, which was made from gluten and the steamed dumpling. It was basically a feast! A very satisfying experience! Oh and it's cheap too. We paid ₩ 27,000 for all of that!

The restaurant itself is very spacious, quiet and clean. It's got very comfy couches to seat on and they've got outdoor seatings too.

The staff are friendly and speaks minimal English. But worry not, they've got an English menu. Yey!

I'm a person with high standards when it comes to food and this standard does not get compromised even if I'm traveling.
This is by far the best restaurant I've encountered in Busan. All the other places that were rated "best" on Happy Cow has just been average and even below average for me. Those places just doesn't have the "wow" factor. It's good food but just not enough for me to go back again and again.

This is definitely worth it, even if it's a mission to get here. Your efforts will be rewarded! Go vegans!!

Pros: cheap , filling , satisfying

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Our best food experience in Korea - Edit

We loved this place. They only have a few items on the menu, but they were delicious. The service was great too. We especially enjoyed the bulgogi and sweet pumpkin latte.

Pros: Great food, Relaxing atmosphere, Quick service

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Busan Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Dajeon Cafe closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 4763 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support