Take-out
Asian
Burmese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Burmese cuisine with several vegan dishes, including the tea leaf salad, samusa, garlic noodle, veggie kabbat, eggplant curry, coconut veggie curry, pumpkin veggie curry, snow peas with tofu. Staff is accommodating. BYO. Open Mon 11:00am-2:00pm, 5:00pm-10:00pm, Wed-Sun 11:00am-2:00pm, 5:00pm-10:00pm.


Venue map for Dagon
© OpenStreetMap contributors

9 Reviews

First Review by VeganDietGuy

EmilySarasa

Points +125

Vegan
22 Jan 2023

Tasty and good portions

Waitress was knowledgeable about veganism. A little expensive, but we had leftovers for the next day. BYOB!

Advertisement

mcrilly

Points +13

Vegetarian
11 Jan 2023

Incredible

The options were hearty, delicious, and varied. We ordered family style, and loved our waiter’s every suggestion.

Jadediana

Points +2523

Vegan
19 Jun 2022

Amazing Coconut Curry!

The vegan options on the menu aren’t labeled, but staff are more than happy to help. The vegan appetizers we got were the golden tofu and the samosas. The golden tofu was unlike anything I’ve had before- the texture and flavor was completely novel to me so worth getting!! I got the eggplant curry and my husband got the coconut curry. I preferred the coconut curry. Overall we enjoyed all of the food we ordered and would recommend it to anyone in the area.

vegface

Points +69

Vegetarian
23 Oct 2021

Delicious vegetarian options

First time eating Burmese food and what a delight it was. Lots of vegetarian/ vegan options. We had the vegetarian kabob and okra with egg curry. Both were delicious.

Only downsides would be slow service. Hostess left us waiting for 10 minutes when we arrived chatting to her friends and also the washroom is in an alleyway which seemed a little spooky.

Pros: Delicious flavours , Reasonably priced

Cons: Slow front of house , Washroom seemed dodgy

·X·

Points +17321

Vegan
25 Aug 2021

Dagon

Nice Burmese restaurant with a local restaurant feel. Although, be very mindful of the hours here, because we got there at 1:25 PM despite the closing time being 2 PM and we were told that we could not eat in and only had five minutes to order takeaway.

I did really enjoy the tea leaf salad made vegan. The rainbow salad (made vegan) that we ordered was also good, but I feel the flavors could’ve been better…plus, it was a bit weird to have rice and rice noodles in the same dish. I likely would not order of Dagon’s rainbow salad again. I would try the tea leaf salad again and maybe some other vegan items on the menu in the future.

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-22

FELICITASOEFELEIN

Points +112

Vegan
25 May 2021

Excellent vegan choices

Delicious food freshly prepared in this small restaurant. We had the tea leaf salad which was a very special treat and a must try! Very unusual flavor combination! The tofu eggplant dish was also outstanding. The coconut curry was a bit too mild and not very exciting in comparison. But overall a great place. The decor could use some help. The tops of the tables are sticky, perhaps cleaned too much and the varnish has broken down? Not sure but it did not feel good to touch it.. a bit grim inside.

Pros: Nice vegan options, Good price, Good portion sizes

Cons: Decor could use an upgrade, No wine-beer-drinks, Serve lamb

juboktimusprime

Points +73

Vegan
23 Aug 2019

Bad experience

We had a bad experience here. We came here after a cowboys vs Rams football game and it was a nice little hole in the wall spot. It wasn't crowded and we told them we were vegan. They assured us that they could make several menu items vegan. They brought us complimentary water but we asked for straws. It took the woman 20 minutes, after a couple of ask, to bring us the straws. My fiance ordered coconut rice with her curry and I ordered jasmine rice with mine. They brought out the coconut rice but forgot my jasmine rice. I had to wait another 5 minutes for that and the server gave me extra to apologize. The food was delicious but I ordered a Fried Rice dish to go. I specifically told them to take the eggs out. They assured me that they would. When they brought the to-go dish out in a bag, there was a dead roach on the front of the bag. They swapped the food into a different box and bag. When I opened the box in my hotel, my fried rice dish had eggs in it even though
I told them that we were vegan and they assured me no eggs. This was a bad experience and a shame because the food that we ate was delicious.

Pros: Food is tasty

Cons: Poor service, lack of focus from the staff, , Unsanitary

lvashon

Points +100

Vegan
21 Feb 2019

Delicious vegan options!

Our waitperson was knowledgeable about vegan options, and made excellent recommendations. I will definitely be frequenting Dagon. Delicious!

Pros: Delicious, Knowledgeable staff, Numerous options

VeganDietGuy

Points +189

Vegan
08 Apr 2018

Lively Taste and Atmosphere

I had heard about this place from my non-vegan friends before, and recently was persuaded to go with 7 other people for a special occasion. Other than tea leaf salad (which I highly recommend), I had not tried Burmese cuisine before. I was very pleasantly surprised at the number of vegan dishes (see receipt accompanying) available and the new flavors. I enjoyed the samusas and the eggplant curry, especially.

Pros: Several vegan items available on menu, Appealing look and taste , Friendly service

Cons: Most dishes are oily, Parking is limited, Do not offer Vegetarian Society discount




This page has been viewed 3619 times.