Vegan-friendly
Fast food
Take-out
Bakery
British
Catering
Breakfast

Bakery chain established 1937. Offers an extensive vegan range which includes bakes, sausage rolls, pasties, toasties, sandwiches, breads, cakes, donuts, shortbreads, flapjacks, and gelato. Provides plant milk option for coffee and hot chocolate. Accepts catering orders for celebration cakes and party platters. Open Mon-Fri 07:30-16:00, Sat 08:00-16:00.


Venue map for Coughlans Bakery
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by CatSmith

Vegfix

Points +6018

Vegan
09 Jun 2022

Fab bakery

I love this place, almost everything is vegan!! I would award it 5 stars if it were fully vegan. Love the sausages. Loved the cakes and the cheeze pasty, but I think they could make the cornish pasty even better.

Updated from previous review on 2022-06-09

Pros: So many vegan tasty cakes and savouries.

Cons: Meat also sold.

Advertisement

HenryBlane

Points +10492

Vegan
03 May 2022

So many vegan goodies!!

Coughlans is amazing! From the moment we entered the staff were really lovely and welcoming. When we asked what was vegan they excitedly started telling us how all of their baked sweet treats were vegan, as well as loads of savoury options, and cakes. We were very excited by all the vegan options and it was really cool to have that energy matched by the staff! The majority of the shop was vegan, and if it was fully vegan this would be an easy 5/5 for me. The food itself was soooooo good. We got a BBQ meat & cheese toastie (I forget what it’s exact name was), vegan bacon and cheese turnover, butterscotch yumyum, apple Danish and a packet of mini bakewell tarts, which all came to about £17, which I thought was pretty reasonable. The toastie was divine, absolutely delicious and I would order it again in a heartbeat. The bacon and cheese turnover was also really tasty, with a lovely crispy pastry. Of the sweet treats, the butterscotch yumyum was the standout for me, the texture and taste and level of sweetness was just perfection. The apple Danish was also good, not as good as the yumyum, but still really tasty. The cherry bakewells were also really good, they were denser than I expected, but I actually really liked that. Our visit was a graat experience and my only complaint with Coughlans is that there isn’t a branch closer to me!

Pros: So many vegan options!! , The staff are absolutely lovely, All sweet treats are vegan!

OtisVegan

Points +1283

Vegan
10 Jul 2021

Always a great stop

Coughlans is always a great place to buy savoury and sweet vegan treats, without coughlans I think we'd really suffer in finding much baked vegan options

Pros: A million options, Owner is vegan

Cons: Not everything is vegan

RichardⓋMolyneux

Points +1220

Vegan
25 Feb 2020

Lived up to my expectations

Having enjoyed Coughlans' vegan steak bake as a takeaway, my first branch visit lived up to expectations. We tried the curry bake, cheese & onion pasty and sausage roll, the latter being a better, less greasy alternative to Greggs' one. I also had a sip of my wife's mocha with oat milk, which we both agreed was really nice. Staff member Elaine was especially helpful.

Pros: Large vegan range, Some seating

Cons: Seating limited

MarieChequer

Points +56

Vegan
29 Apr 2019

Fantastic vegan range

Great cakes, fresh bread, hot pastries. Very tasty vegan sausage roll!

CatSmith

Points +78

Vegan
16 Mar 2019

real gem

Traditional bakery with lots of vegan options. We got a mini pack of bakewell tarts for £2.99 and a yum yum. Both delicious. They also did two choices of savoury pastry rolls and a strawberry muffin. There is a small seated area and you can get soya or oat milk with your coffee. Went here again march 2019. All the individual cakes seem to be vegan. Amazing choice including almond croissants and Apple danish. Most of the large celebration cakes can be made vegan at no extra cost. Love this place.

Pros: not expensive. very friendly and lots of choice

Cons: none

vegansheep

Points +1970

Vegan
12 Feb 2019

Almost every cake that can be veganised is

Great selection of vegan cakes, donuts, biscuits and sausage rolls. Have had a v nice mushroom roll, sausage roll, sandwiches and donut. It’s particualrly nice that their sandwiches include vegan mozzarella. Reasonable prices too.

joebanno

Points +20

Vegan
19 Jan 2019

Delicious

The food here is delicious, loads of vegan options as well as cakes for events made to order. Lovely service as well, friendly staff 😊

maradi

Points +18

Vegan
29 Nov 2018

Best vegan bakery

Everyone that works here is so helpful, nearly all cakes are vegan. They have great savoury options too, the mushroom sausage roll is delish😄

Pros: Lots of options, Everything is delish, Not too expensive

flavour1

Points +58

Vegan
23 Oct 2018

Lots of vegan options

It's good to find a bakery that doesn't take the piss out of vegans by doubling the price of the food.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Cheap

Cons: Unhealthy

AllGoodAllVegan

Points +221

Vegan
15 Sep 2018

Great bakery - so vegan friendly!

A friendly bakery with loads of clearly-marked vegan options (sandwiches, pies, mushroom “sausage” rolls, cakes) sold at very reasonable prices. So good!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Delicious food, Great value




This page has been viewed 3427 times.