• Copal

  • (4)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Take-out
Mexican
Oaxacan, Mezcal
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Oaxacan restaurant and Mezcal bar offering several vegan options including two mole dishes, a tamale and more. Note that not all of the mezcal is vegan - be sure to ask before ordering. As of April 21, 2021, offering indoor and outdoor seating as well as take out. Open Wed-Thu 4:00pm-8:00pm, Fri-Sat 4:00pm-9:00pm, Sun 4:00pm-8:00pm. Closed Mon-Tues.


Venue map for Copal
© OpenStreetMap contributors

4 Reviews

First Review by Conniemm

24ktKit

Points +128

Vegan
27 May 2023

Lovely Place

Rhe decore is pretty, well thought out, and comforting. Plants everywhere. Real plants. A clean environment. They have some vegan options. And they try to convert dishes to accommodate. The staff are awesome. They put a lot of effort into showing an authontic culture of Oaxaca. The Mole was incredible ✨️

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-27

Pros: Decor, Authentic food, Good staff

Cons: Tables a little too close in some places

Advertisement

andyjng

Points +4367

Vegan
10 Mar 2023

Good Mole

It took a few years for me to finally come try Copal for their Oaxacan food. This is one of the more upscale spots in town with its own dedicated parking lot, so I was looking forward to the experience.

We started off with chips and salsa that were good to munch on while perusing the menu. Our server was helpful in helping identify plant-based options for me.

I ordered the Vegan Mole Negro which uses fried tempeh, chickpeas, and roasted chayote. The negro sauce is fully vegan and was cooked for three days to create the sauce. The food was pretty good although portions on the smaller side, and a bit saltier than I had hoped. However, the overall vibe and experience was really nice.

While the food was good, I found the $21 price point to be really high for mole. It's nearly twice what I'd normally pay for so I would probably not return often for another chance.

Pros: Vegan options/items that can be veganized

24ktKit

21 May 2023

This was my exact experience, maybe 1 more star although

feelgoodpicks

Points +252

Vegan
06 Nov 2022

Great Mole

They had 2 moles that were vegan the negro and the roja, both are tasty. We loved the negro, served with tempeh, garbanzo beans and squash. I would order that again.
The empanadas, vegan style, we’re ok.
There were plenty items on the menu that could be made vegan.
Fun atmosphere.
Great drinks, especially the Paloma made with freshly squeezed grapefruit juice.

Conniemm

Points +1557

Vegan
25 Apr 2021

Fun atmosphere

Now that restaurants are finally able to open in this county I made my first indoor restaurant visit in over a year.

This restaurant and mezcal bar is bright and festive. Seating is offered indoors or on an outdoor patio that has heaters between the tables.

My table had the mole negro. There are two vegan options of mole - one with garbanzos, chayote and sweet potato and another with portobello mushrooms. They are served with housemade tortillas and rice. Everyone in my group loved the mole and I thought it was good but I think I'm just not a mole person. Next time I go there I will try the other vegan options on the menu.

They offer different flights of mezcal as well as other festive cocktails and a choice of several agua fresca drinks. We learned that some of the mezcal is not vegan nor is the salt mixture the mezcal is served with so ask before ordering.

Updated from previous review on 2021-04-25




This page has been viewed 2097 times.