• Common Ground Natural Grocery

  • (11)
    3
    Loading...
  • Health-food-store Health Store

Well-stocked store. Has organic produce, vitamins & supplements, care products, veg-friendly foods, frozen & bulk items, gluten-free items, and more. Open Mon-Sat 8:00am-6:00pm, Sun 10:00am-5:00pm.


11 Reviews

First Review by EstherDubrovsky

TristanB

Points +59

Vegan
15 Nov 2021

Best place for vegan staples

Best place in town for soy curls, canned lentils, tofu, and other vegan staples. Friendly staff. They have pre-made wraps for lunch that are all excellent. All of the hummus they make is amazing.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Friendly staff, Affordable bulk goods

Advertisement

Haley_Kat

Points +277

Vegan
14 Sep 2021

Great little store!

So many vegan options for a small store! Love it

VeganHammy

Points +187

Vegan
06 Dec 2018

My favorite local stop

Common Ground is a little paradise in this town. Any vegan snack, meat, milk, cheese, or frozen food you can imagine is here or is probably available upon request. Cheesecakes, worcestershire, bee-free honey, chocolates and caramels, and favorites around xmas like egg nog available. Also have a self-care section with soaps and toothpaste and such, many of them vegan and cruelty free. Great bulk section with sprouting seeds, spices, and teas. Extremely friendly staff. They have a vegan/vegetarian buyers club on Facebook you can join to get up to date on new products and request products. I believe they have a small section dedicated to fresh, local produce. My favorite store in the area! Small amount of dedicated parking as well, which is appreciated.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, wide variety, Very friendly and knowledgable staff

HeidiMignonne

Points +196

Vegan
06 Oct 2017

Great Prices on bulk organic foods

Very impressed with the selection and prices of organic lentils and quinoa. My non-gluten free boyfriend loved the fresh baked bread!

Pros: Price, Selection, Fresh bakery

simguy05

Points +123

Vegan
29 Feb 2016

Amazing for a town this size!

Many larger cities benefit from places like Whole Foods, but what they lack is a local grocer who will order things based on customer request. Because of their willingness to try new products and their remarkable prepared soups, I give this place 5 stars. Go in and stock up on what you need! If you don't find what you're looking, ask in-person or on Facebook if they can get it in. Tell your other vegan and veggie friends to swing by and give it a look. The store has charm, the folks are super-friendly and the prepared soups are so yummy!

Pros: Local, Open to carrying new items, Very vegan and organic friendly

Cons: Somewhat smaller shelf space, but they make the mo

alopez38

Points +33

Vegan
23 Aug 2015

Hidden Gem

Great place to get meat, cheese, dairy alternatives! Fun vegan snacks! And tons more! Not as much produce but that is understandable. More folks need to come in and check this out! Friendly people too!

hippie2783

Points +137

Vegan
10 Jul 2015

nice little place

friendly staff. small health food store with some options you may not find at other places.

Pros: vegan options, hard to find products

Cons: pricey, small selection

TiffanyBright

Points +42

Vegan
05 May 2014

Little but has a lot to offer

This little store really had all of our needs covered. From the vegan margarine and nondairy milk to the snacks and fresh produce, they had a little bit of everything. They even offered bulk spices, nuts and herbs. Their prices were fair considering they are just a little shop in the middle of town. The employees were beyond friendly. When I asked about a new product they said they would try to order it for me if I wanted. I told her that would have been wonderful, except that we don't live anywhere near them and were only visiting :) They no longer have the deli portion, but they did have some grab-n-go items and homemade hummus in the fridge section. If you live near them or are just passing through, I definitely recommend making a quick pit stop in to grab a few essentials.

CowGirl56

Points +27

Vegan
16 Apr 2009

It's been around a long time

Upon visiting Common Ground, I noticed a sign that said "since 1977" and I thought that was amazing. They've obviously been doing something right. I did already know it had been around a while, because my parents took me shopping there as a child in the 80s, but I didn't realize it had been that long. They have a great selection of organic and sometimes local produce, and have other local products in the store such as soap, honey and flours. THEY DO NOT CARRY MEAT which makes me very happy. Sometimes they have vegan deli salads, my favorites are the tempeh salad and the tofu 'egg' salad! Sometimes parking downtown can be an issue, but they now have a few spots in the lot right next to the building that say for Common Ground Customers.

Pros: No meat, Independently owned, Decent prices

Cons: Sometimes out of salads, small, closes at 6

TofuGirl83

Points +25

Vegan
14 Jul 2008

Great little place

Small health food store but they really pack it in! The staff is very friendly and helpful and they are always willing to do special orders for you if they don't carry a product you want. Large selection of bulk items including herbs and spices. They also carry many local items including produce during the summer.

EstherDubrovsky

Points +17

Vegetarian
31 Aug 2007

good little place for health food

Helpful staff and friendly atmosphere. It is smaller than what I am used and a bit more expensive, but they can't get a better price with the volume they order. But I still go regularly for food items you can't get at the normal grocery stores in the area




This page has been viewed 3665 times.