• CoCo Ichibanya - Shibuya Namikibashi

  • (21)
    58
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Japanese
Fast food
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Japanese curry house chain. Ask for the separate vegetarian menu which offers a number of vegetable and vegan curries, with/ spinach, mushroom, mix veg, or eggplant. These may be customized with extra ingredients. Curry is served with a portion of rice. Indicate spice level and portion size at the time of placing order. Must order from this menu for your curry to be vegan. On the regular menu, the vegetable curry contains meat, but you'll find a vegan salad or two. Note that not all branches provide vegan curry options, suggested to check ahead. Relocated from Sakuragaokacho, Shibuya. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-11:00pm.


Venue map for CoCo Ichibanya - Shibuya Namikibashi
© OpenStreetMap contributors

21 Reviews

First Review by schonstal

Francifra

Points +619

Vegan
10 Jan 2024

Plant-based ramen here!

I had vegetables ramen, which is made with vegetable broth. The taste was great and prices absolutely ok.

Advertisement

jesseileen

Points +211

Vegan
22 Dec 2023

Hearty and Affordable!

Delish curry sauce with vegetables came with potatoes, carrot and beans. Nice to have a vegan option that doesn’t come with soy meat automatically! Great option for a cheap lunch. Big portion!

catandcupcake

Points +3833

Vegan
20 Jul 2023

Hearty and cheap

Very good value. We got a veggie curry and a soy burger curry with regular spice and rice. Only 150yen to add a drink. Quick and efficient staff.

wendy_adams

Points +147

Vegan
12 Jul 2023

Good selection of options

A number of vegetarian and vegan options available, I had the vege curry (vegan curry sauce found in the lowcarb menu on the ordering system) with soya hamburger and vegetables. It was very tasty and you had the option to change spice level to your taste.

Pros: Very tasty, Cheap

Cons: Vegan option is a bit hidden on menu

portiii

Points +537

Vegan
22 Jun 2023

Good vegan options

CoCo has a good choice of vegan options. I had the vegetarian curry with vegetables and quite liked it.

ashna_med

Points +62

Vegetarian
05 Jun 2023

Good meal!

Ordered a half veggie half mushroom curry, and it tasted pretty good!
Note: normal rice portion was a bit much for us (300 g)
There are multiple veggie options on this menu (veggie and mushroom at the least)

Pros: Dedicated menu items, Fast service

MicciM

Points +1477

Vegan
18 Dec 2022

So good

The Vegan curry is so tasty! Plus you can choose between different options!

midoribakerph

Points +196

Vegetarian
05 Jun 2022

Go-to Kare Place

Can’t go wrong with Coco Ichibanya if you are craving for Japanese Kare. Love how you can customize the options and they have accessible branches in various locations. Always order the veggie Kare with soy meat. Filling and delicious every time.

Pros: Lots of options with affordable price, Accessible branches everywhere , Fast serving and big volume

Cons: Some options are quite expensive

·X·

Points +17199

Vegan
05 Sep 2021

CoCo Ichibanya

Apparently this is a famous place (according to my coworker)...I had no idea, but I see why, because it's very good.

We ordered Coco's delivery for lunch one day and it was delicious. I'm not sure I could have navigated the menu well without my Japanese coworkers, but they were sure to verify and confirm the vegetable curry was vegan. There's not many options to add to this dish, but I got a side of garlic with the curry. So essentially, the dish was comprised of a dark curry sauce, my side of garlic, and rice. Just mix it all together and it will be pretty tasty. I would definitely each lunch here again (as long as I can figure out how to order the vegan item)!

RG_Bhajee

Points +116

Vegan
10 Mar 2020

Delicious curry

Lots of vegan options and friendly staff who know to give the veggie menu to tourists. Definitely coming back!

MooX

Points +37

Vegetarian
27 Sep 2019

Best curry I've had

Staff was awesome and friendly and the curry mushroom was the best I had in Tokyo! Their vegetarian menu is great :)

BlankSpace

Points +912

Vegan
13 Jul 2019

Filling vegan curry

I'm not a fan of Japanese curry but went for a try based on reviews. I followed the advice of other reviewers and just went for the vegetarian menu, which is vegan with 6 options.
Regular size of rice was plenty. Upping the spice level made it nicely spicy but not too much.
Overall good hearty food, fast and cheap. Will come back.
Probably feels good in winter.

Pros: 6 good vegan options , Filling!, Cheap: ¥750 yen each

itravelforveganfood

Points +1824

Vegan
19 Jun 2019

Great tasting vegan curry (Separate vegan menu!) 🌱

Read the Vegan Tokyo Guide on https://itravelforveganfood.com/vegan-tokyo-guide/

Coco Ichibanya is a big curry chain in Japan. It’s not vegan or vegetarian, but they have some vegan options available in selected stores.

The curry is cooked separately for each dish, but it seems to use the same oil to deep fry things with other non vegan food.

The curry is very flavorful, and you can choose whether you want it spicy (I chose the mild one). For this dish, the eggplant is deep fried and the tomato sauce comes in a separate bowl.

For less than 1000 yen in Tokyo, it’s a good meal that doesn’t break the bank.

Pros: Delicious curry, Cheap, Customizable spiciness

DDesai

Points +198

Vegetarian
19 May 2019

Separate vegetarian menu!!

I would give this place 5 stars if the app allowed me to! This is one of the best restaurants with vegetarian options in Tokyo. They have a pretty good selection of vegetarian curries on an entirely separate vegetarian menu. The portions are also very large and very filling. I will definitely be coming here again :)

Pros: Separate vegetarian menu, cozy ambiance

Cons: Limited seating available in the restaurant

petergwyn

Points +60

Vegan
24 Apr 2019

‘It is what it says on the tin’

Cheep, tasty Japanese curry’s, with half a dozen variations on the theme. Helpful staff. This was a straight forward, quick tasty place to eat.... a life saver for a jet lagged vegan who speaks no Japanese

Pros: Tasty, Cheap, Helpful staff

Cons: Not the place to go if your not into curry

maisie_faye

Points +46

Vegan
19 Apr 2019

Cheap and easy!

Had some time before our train and went here. Portion sizes are huge for the price! Staff were also lovely and spoke to us in English

JasmineEmma

Points +891

Vegan
18 Apr 2019

Good and cheap

Really yummy curry with different options for veggies in the curry. Has separate veggie menu which is on the tables. Price varies depending on toppings, I had aubergine and mixed veg and it was around 800 yen

Pros: Vegan options marked , Tasty , Cheap

AliciaOnion

Points +116

Vegan
10 Mar 2018

great curry great service

Eight curry combos to choose from. Very helpful friendly staff and serving delicious curry. Never disappoints.

Pros: eight choices , helpful staff , English menu

MelissaW

Points +830

Vegan
30 Jan 2018

decent meal near shibuya station

We stumbled upon this place, really quick and easy meal - big portion sizes and you can add extra rice/change level of spice! Would recommend if you’re looking for a quick meal around shibuya.

Pros: location , good value for money , large portions

brenna

Points +13

Vegetarian
26 Nov 2017

Great for vegetarians!

CoCo has a separate menu for vegetarians (and a menu in English)! It made me so happy to see multiple curry options for me to choose from, as well as getting to choose how spicy it is from their spice chart. Open late which is great for me. The food it’s self was really good and they are big portion sizes!

Pros: vegetarian menu, nice employees , open late

Cons: limited space

schonstal

Points +274

Vegan
13 Sep 2017

Great Easy Option

Very clearly marked menu. Staff was very helpful. They speak English, though obviously it's easier if you know Japanese. Probably the closest option to shibuya station. Tastes delicious, but no mock meat.

Pros: clearly marked menu , cheap , close to station

Cons: no proteins (but veggie options plentiful)




This page has been viewed 9001 times.