Vegan-friendly
Western
Juice bar
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Farm shop, juice bar, and cafe offering cold pressed juices, blended juices, smoothies, coffee, tea, pastries, and sandwiches. Has soy, almond, and coconut milk for drinks. Sells Saigon Cider. Atmosphere is that of a coffee shop with a few tables, a booth with a couch, high top cafe counter, and it opens to the street. Free Wi-Fi. Owner speaks English and Vietnamese. Prices consider high by local standards. Open Mon-Sun 9:00am-7:00pm.


Venue map for Coco Box
© OpenStreetMap contributors

21 Reviews

First Review by Hatchmatch

coldbuckwheatnoodles

Points +4582

Vegan
16 Feb 2023

Good enough

The space was nice, they have a little store downstairs. The shake I had was really good, the sandwich better than some, but not the best. The atmosphere was a bit fancy.

Advertisement

CarryOnOnly

Points +320

Vegan
11 Aug 2022

Nice chill place in the ancient town

Description on Happy Cow says they have pastries and sandwiches but I visited in August 2022 and they don’t. Ordered an An Bang Colada Smoothie and a Watermelon Men juice. Both were amazing. I suggest going upstairs and sitting up there on the balcony because you get some great views of the Hoi An streets.

Pros: Really tasty smoothies and juices

Cons: Nothing to eat really, just drinks

KevinZawierucha

Points +254

Vegan
04 Mar 2020

Good

The juice and the coffee tasted good.
Little bit pricey but i guess you will not find very cheap places in the old town.

Cons: Pricey

Aiwendil

Points +948

Vegan
19 Jan 2020

Ok

We had a coconut coffee and a cappuccino with soy milk. It’s expensive (120k for the two drinks) and tasted not really good. The cappuccino was to thin and I had much better coconut coffee in Vietnam before. The interior and the stuff is nice.

Altels

Points +63

Vegan
15 Jun 2019

Better coffee at other places in Hoi An

Maybe it was just a bad day, but the coconut coffee was not good and the people working there were really rude. I hate leaving a bad review but I cannot understand all of the good ones. The juices were good but rather pricey

kirsty.g

Points +76

Vegan
19 Mar 2019

Disappointed

Advertised as having almond milk when they don’t, and the waiter didn’t understand me trying to order a iced latte with coconut milk. Ended up getting a ginger tea which came out with honey in it. My boyfriend ordered the coconut iced coffee and found it quite bad

Cons: English barrier with staff, All ingredients not listed on the menu

trinir

Points +35

Mostly Veg
02 Jan 2019

Cozy coffe with vegan options

👅🇬🇧
There is a lot of these coffe on the old town. They have options with coconut or soy milk. I had the ice and also the hot capuchino and they were really good. Also tried the carrot cake it was good but to oily for me.

--
👅🇪🇸
Hay va de estos cafés en el casco antiguo. Tienen opciones con leche de coco o soya. Yo tomé el capuchino frío y el caliente y estaban muy buenos. También probé el queque de zanahoria, estaba bueno pero muy aceitoso para mí gusto.

Pros: Coconut and soy milk

Cons: Expensive

Lilyars

Points +175

Vegetarian
01 Jan 2019

Cozy Place / Nice Food & Drinks

I tried the Sip The Dragon Smoothie which was really good, as well as the carrot cake. The Jasmine Tea was tasty and you can ask for more hot water.

BarAzar

Points +180

Vegan
18 Sep 2018

You can change drinks

They are willing to change the drinks and swap cow milk to soy or coconut.

They also offer damp cold towels - well needed refreshment in this hot weather

Pros: accomodating

Cons: higher prices

KirstTrethowan

Points +27

Vegetarian
30 Aug 2018

Lovely spot for a smoothie

Delicious vegetarian options plus yummy smoothies and juices. We went to a couple of different ones and they were all good.

Pros: Lots of veg options , Shop that you can buy some healthy snacks , Great service

Cons: None

sinasamira

Points +69

Vegan
17 Mar 2018

Really good cappuchino

The soy cappuchino is just delicious. The milk fits perfect with the coffee.

Pros: Good coffee

evasveganlove

Points +66

Vegan
28 Feb 2018

Tolles Cafe

Wir haben das Tofu Sandwich für 100k gegessen und es war Sensationell. Etwas teuer für vietnamesische Verhältnisse aber jeden Dong wert.

Cons: teuer

LilacHippy

Points +12162

Vegan
29 Dec 2017

Comfortable Place

It's a nice and comfortable place to sit and enjoy a drink. If you are vegan and you order a tea make sure you tell them no honey as it does not list honey but they put it in as standard.
They also sell vegan dark chocolate.

brtknr

Points +225

Vegan
10 Oct 2017

Great strong Vietnamese coffee with soya milk

We highly recommend the iced Vietnamese coffee with soya milk- strong and tasty. The coffee beans are roasted without any added butter so it is safe for vegans. We tried the cold brew and weren’t too impressed as it was very weak. The same coffee is also served at the Roastery cafes throughout Hoi An (although no soya milk) so also safe to have a coffee at these places.

Flogs

Points +725

Vegan
29 Mar 2017

Tasty sandwich

We have been here 3 times since being in Hoi An and the smoothies are delicious. I had the beetroot and walnut sandwich today which was really good and sooooo garlicky ;)

Pros: Good food, Lovely smoothies

Cons: Limited menu , A bit pricey for Vietnam stAndards

Marike

Points +304

Vegetarian
31 Dec 2016

tasty sandwich

They have quite a few locations in Hoi an, but I went to the one indicated on happy cow as it was close to my home stay. I had a tofu sandwich. Quite tasty. And they have wholegrain bread! Nice relaxed atmosphere.

Tenealde

Points +20

Vegan
30 Aug 2016

awesome smoothies, pastries are NOT vegan

I got one of the smoothies with coconut milk. Make sure you say no honey. They said the pastries didn't have egg or milk but they have been cooked with butter (NOT VEGAN) maybe stick to the options that are labelled as vegan, tofu dish and Beetroot dish.

Tiggy

Points +15205

Vegan
30 Jul 2016

Coffee and a couple of vegan things only

We came here be aye it was the only place in Hoi An I'm aware of that had both fair trade coffee and soy milk. However, when I mentioned the vegan pain au chocolat the first time, the staff seemed to have no idea what I was talking about, saying it had egg and milk in it. The next time I asked again and it was confirmed as vegan. There are a couple of vegan smoothies on the menu, and my An Bang Colada was not bad. There's also two vegan sandwiches, but the tofu one I tried was less than remarkable. A couple of coffees, a smoothie, my sandwich and my companion's non-vegan cake later, we parted with over VND300K.

Updated from previous review on 2016-07-01

Pros: Fair trade coffee, Soy milk available, Vegan pain au chocolat

Cons: Expensive, Not really a great deal on offer for vegans

waveruss

Points +243

Vegan
11 May 2016

great food!

Really nice vegan sandwiches and smoothies. Also 4 vegan pastry options! Pain au chocolat is delicious

melephant

Points +167

Vegan
03 Feb 2016

Great place for drinks, dessert, souvenirs

This place is wonderful. Their drinks are all very good, and I think some of their baked goods might be vegan. They also sell a variety of cooking ingredients and toiletries, most of which are vegan!

I would recommend popping in here just to check out what they are selling.

Hatchmatch

Points +28

Vegan
28 Mar 2015

i really liked this place - great juices

I wen to this place 3 times in 24 hours! Nice atmosphere and staff. I just had juices as there weren't any cakes that were vegan and then food menu was quite small. But lots of great, tasty juice combinations and ice tea, etc.
So good I want to go back tomorrow before I leave town!

Pros: great vegan juices

Cons: no vegan cakes, juices cost around 60.000 vnd (but i thought it wa




This page has been viewed 5171 times.