Vegan-friendly
International
Organic
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Beachside restaurant, slightly outside of Senggigi. Has plenty of vegan choices all made with veggies and herbs grown in on-site organic garden. Try the tapioca leaf in coconut milk, the tofu cakes, the baby potatoes tossed in garlic and rosemary, the fried corn or vegetable cakes. Will also create dishes not on the menu as long as the ingredients are in the garden. Herbal drinks and medicinal teas are available. Dine in your own garden pavilion hut. Very peaceful, laid back place and inexpensive. As of December 2014, average plate is $1.50. A bit hard to find but most taxis know it. Make a small left turn a few hundred meters north of Svarga Resort. Reported open June 2020. Closes 10pm.


Venue map for Coco Beach
© OpenStreetMap contributors

25 Reviews

First Review by oliontheisland

pestri

Points +2080

Vegetarian
14 Nov 2023

Speechless

No words to describe the “soya a la coco beach”. It doesn’t taste like tempe, it’s actually like meatballs with a very meaty texture. One of the BEST dishes i’ve tried in Indonesia.
Also the place couldn’t be better, there’re some individual tents to seat in front of the beach. I went at night and i couldn’t enjoy too much the environment, but if you go for lunch or early dinner you must have nice views.
It looks like it is run by a family. Staff was very nice with me.

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-18

Advertisement

r.lopes

Points +317

Vegan
19 Aug 2023

Very nice food

We had the Coco Special and a tofu curry. Very nice !
The cook or owner is vegan herself😄(but the restaurant is not veg/an)

Pros: Tasty, Friendly staff

Cons: Slightly more pricey than average but its worth it

likatha3

Points +27

Herbivore
01 Jun 2023

Nice place near the beach

Very nice place and friendly people. I had the vegetable curry which was super delicious 🤤

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-01

sally_stern

Points +293

Vegan
26 Feb 2023

Beautiful place, great food, perfect for sunset, lovely staff

Beautiful place right at the beach surroundedby coconut palms, had a nice curry with tofu and Tempeh and a fresh coconut. The man who is working there was very friendly and showed me his garden with all the fresh herbs and fruits. He even gave me a passion fruit for free from the tree. Perfect place for watching the sunset and have great foot.

Pros: Lots of vegetarian/vegan options with tofu/tempeh, Right at the beach with a beautiful garden , Very friendly staff who knows what is vegan

bramhubbell

Points +843

Vegan
13 Feb 2023

Delicious food and a beautiful beach view

They have an excellent selection of vegan choices. Go and watch the sunset and enjoy a delicious meal.

hellafe

Points +45

Vegan
30 Oct 2022

Delicious vegan food

Different food than many other Indonesian places (potatoes)

KathleenB23

Points +57

Vegetarian
04 Aug 2022

Excellent food, setting and staff

One of the best massaman curries I've ever had, enjoyed on a picture postcard beachfront and served by lovely staff. Very large range of vegan options available. I also had a luscious herbal tea and a salad, with a To Die For dressing, which was made personally by the lady owner. She doesn't usually do the cooking - only for vegans. I was there for hours and, in between meals, swam and read - there are loads of delightful spaces to sprawl and relax. This place is a gem.

Pros: Scrumptious , Beachfront setting , Great staff

Cons: A little way out of town

AbbyMacredie

Points +36

Vegan
26 Jul 2022

Beautiful location & great food

What a beautiful place to visit for dinner & watch the sunset! Staff were lovely and food was great. It’s been difficult for small places like this post covid and they were so grateful for us coming.
Definitely worth a visit if around Senggigi & support the local community.

NinaBeranek

Points +31

Vegan
16 Feb 2020

Wonderful location

Really dreamy location and very sweet staff. We went for the vegan options. The curry, tempeh and fried tapioca was delicious. Many ingredients from their own garden. Our most favourite place around Sengiggi (and beyond).

2hnez7

Points +22

Raw
15 Feb 2020

Sunset paradise!

Fantastic place! Splendid food, especially the homemade tempe-dish that I forgot the name of but was kind of a meatloaf with a delicious sauce on top of it. Tofu, veggies all fresh and tasty. Great service and decoration. Probably the best place to enjoy a Vegan sunset on Lombok.
Ohh ye, almost forgot, peanutsauce, also super-duper tasty!
Went there twice. Wanna go back!

foodtravellers

Points +20

Vegan
15 Feb 2020

Go here:)!

I wish I didn't know about the place and was able to visit for the first time again! Great food, their special "tempeh beef" is like nothing I ever tasted! I also had a vegetable plate with peanut sauce which I totally fell in love with! Friendly staff that have insight in veganism and can help adapt the menu. The view is fantastic! The food areas are like personal bungalows with no walls. Super cozy and great for sunset!

ThomasdeHeus

Points +853

Vegan
02 Feb 2020

Amazing location and view, great food

This place is awesome and hidden away right on the beach. The waiter knew about veganism and was able to help us with removing egg to make things vegan. The view rocks and it's pretty well priced. Definitely worth a stop if you're in the Senggigi area!!

JamesVeggie

Points +49

Vegetarian
05 Nov 2019

Amazing place

We found this place and went twice during our short stay. The food is excellent, especially the tempeh in soy sauce, and the pelecing kangkung - although spicy. Fresh fruit juices and fantastically beautiful location. Would happily come back here time and time again wish I could give it 5* but can't due to HappyCow policy not to allow unless fully veg

Pros: Excellent food, Cheap, Amazing location

Cons: Cash only, Limited seating

jaso_k

Points +177

Vegan
27 Jul 2019

The location 😯

The location is unreal! They are really open for veganism. Even tough they have meat on their menu I only met vegans here. The food (we had the first vegetarian option and asked for a vegan version) was so so good! The staff were really friendly and modest. Also try the honey melon juice 😍

Pros: Location, Staff, Tables

Cons: Meat

DuncanMacbethLead

Points +1183

Vegan
14 Jun 2019

Absolutely unreal

I wish I could give five stars, because wow. This is by far the best food I’ve had in Indonesia. I cannot recommend the soya a la coco beach enough (make sure to ask for it vegan). That tempeh was to die for. The tofu cakes were also extremely tasty. With a beautiful view of the sea, and a dog for company, you can’t beat this place

Worth noting that the exact location on happy cow isn’t correct. You need to walk up the beach a bit further from where it says it is. Google maps will get you there without issue😄

Pros: Amazing vegan options, Lots of vegan options , Incredible views

Cons: Serves meat

chiiaranella

Points +24

Vegan
01 Jun 2019

Very nice place to be

Can only recommend this place so much. They have several vegan options I tried their coco beach temphe and fried tofu was delicious.
Nice staff to with a stunning view at the ocean.

lheeman

Points +236

Vegetarian
10 Mar 2019

Very yummy!

Beautiful setting right on the beach with several cute open bamboo huts jotted around the garden. Food was great, ate here twice (so far😉and both times it was delicious. I had Soya a la Coco Beach, and a vege curry. Recommended!
Great sunset spot & friendly staff too.
(only 4 stars due to being not a solely veg restaurant, but would have given 5 if it were up to me)

DaisyScholte

Points +656

Vegan
02 Jan 2019

Absolutely amazing food

It's a shame I can only give them 4 stars, because my oh my do they deserve 5! After our first time here we didn't even try to look for another restaurant in town. I think we tried every vegan dish on the menu and they were all equally good. I just didn't want it to stop! Also, the seatings are nice and cosy and a few metres from the sea. Instead of cars, the only sound you'll hear is coming from the waves and few birds. The staff is very friendly too.
They suffer from the lack of tourists (due to the recent earthquakes) and therefore sometimes close earlier than they usual. Simply because there's no customers. So please, make the effort of the little detour out of town, you won't regret it!

Pros: Many vegan option

meislnicoline

Points +939

Vegan
10 Apr 2018

very nice location

A very good ending to our Lombok trip! The restaurant is right by the beach and you get your own little hut to eat in. The food is very delicious (and very spicy). The starters were our favorites though, especially the tofu and corn cakes! The prices are also very reasonable. They had a cute little puppy, too! It’s a small dirt road of the coastal road and you have to keep right to find the place, there are some sides to guide you as well.

Pros: tofu cake, corn cake, cute puppy

Cons: not completely vegan unfortunately

Chibidweeni

Points +26

Vegan
19 Sep 2017

Coco beach vegan review

Really enjoyed the food here! Came here everyday I was here in Senggigi :) definetely a must go for any vegans who are travelling to Lombok.

Pros: Excellent food, Friendly staff, Nice chill beach vibes

Cons: Small beach entrance fee

adventurous_herbivore

Points +80

Vegan
19 Aug 2017

Friendly staff, delicious food & beautiful location!

Would give 5 stars if I could (non-veg places can only be rated a max of 4/5 on HappyCow). Coco Beach is a sweet and laid back beachfront restaurant with cute little bamboo huts spread across the lawn. Menu is diverse with lots of vegetarian options that can easily be vegan-ised. Don't forget to ask for no 'terasi' (shrimp paste used in most Indonesian cooking). The tempeh and tofu cakes are so yum (just ask for no egg in the batter) and the veggie curry is worth ordering too! May be a bit hard to find on your own, but both Blue Bird taxi drivers we used knew where it was! Plenty of local dogs around, so make sure to give them a pat when you visit. Enjoy!

jojoinbrighton

Points +1283

Vegan
06 Aug 2017

Delicious vegan food

This place is so great! Everything we ordered was super flavourful and they took my allergies in their stride and happily modified dishes so that I could eat them as well as veganising things (like the corn cakes) that are usually made with eggs. The rosemary roasted potatoes were fantastic and I was in love with the Soya a la Coco Beach which was kind of like an epic flavourful tofu burger covered in a delicious sauce.

StephVHe

Points +349

Vegan
20 Aug 2016

Super schön

Mega schöne Atmosphäre mit den kleinen Bambus Hüttchen. Essen ist auch sehr zu empfehlen. Die Besitzerin kennt das Wort "vegan" und kann das meiste auf der Veggie Karte auch vegan anbieten. Preise finde ich sehr teuer für Lombok.

GalenLoram

Points +231

Vegan
20 Jul 2015

Yummy vegetarian variety!

Very delicious spot - definitely would give five stars if i could (only can give four as it serves meat as well). Located on the beach (drive down from the main road at the sign that says coco beach, and stay right), it has a bunch of cute little bamboo pagodas with reclining chairs - a nice place to hang out for a leisurely lunch or dinner (service is a little slow). About half the menu is veg, and is clearly labeled. The tempeh goreng, eggplant, and tapioca leaves in coconut milk all very delish. Open til 10 Strongly recommended!

Pros: super tasty, good variety, cheap!

Cons: slow service

oliontheisland

Points +27

Vegetarian
07 Dec 2014

Fab Veg Indonesian Food

Has a huge selection of veg dishes, at least 20-30 options, and all insanely delicious. Simple, natural, unpretentious, but beautifully seasoned and piping hot. Can't recommend this place highly enough, absolutely LOVE it, but as it does also serve meat Happy Cow won't allow a 5 star(cow) rating. Best restaurant I've found in Lombok, hands down. Open for lunch/dinner until 10:00 p.m. Happily, there's so much yumminess on offer you won't be stuck ordering yet ANOTHER gado-gado or cap-cai again! :-)




This page has been viewed 6988 times.