• Clare & Don's Beach Shack

  • (15)
    37
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Casual place with a full bar, big patio, live music, veg menu section, vegan dessert, and a completely vegetarian fryer. Specify that you want vegan sauces with your order. Open Mon 4:00pm-9:00pm, Tue-Thu 11:30am-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:30am-11:30pm, Sun 11:30am-8:00pm.


Venue map for Clare & Don's Beach Shack
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by Jaelus

FairfaxVeganFam

Points +343

Vegan
11 Jul 2023

It’s a vibe

Fun place to hang out and lots of good vegan options.

Advertisement

justyouraverageotter

Points +106

Vegan
09 Jul 2023

Fun stop

I had one of the pasta options and it was great. You could definitely taste how fresh it was and it came out quickly. The staff was super friendly and knowledgeable about what was vegan/how to make a dish vegan. The atmosphere was also very fun and relaxed.

music-fitness

Points +20

Vegan
13 Jan 2023

Unique food and atmosphere

Clare & Don’s is a perfect representation of what non-vegan restaurants can and should be. They serve tofu dishes in the same manner as their meat dishes - various options including blackened, grilled, coconut fried, Buffalo, and even on a sandwich. I personally love their blackened or coconut fried tofu with fries. They also have a vegan burger and Mexican-inspired items. They are attentive to dietary restrictions. The food is also affordable compared to other restaurants in the area. #Veganuary

Camtaylor

Points +1827

Vegan
10 Apr 2022

Good vegan options

Clearly marked vegan options, just mention vegan to waitress

Pros: Good vibes, Large terrace

pheasance

Points +295

Vegan
20 Nov 2021

Beach bar food for vegans

Clearly labeled and yummy vegan "seafood" options, such as fish and chips or crabcakes. Fun beachy atmosphere for outdoor dining.

Pros: Clearly labeled vegan options, Vegan fish and crab, Beer

ChloeCanetti

Points +308

Vegetarian
02 May 2021

Tons of vegan options

This restaurant had more vegan options than we could even handle! My partner (who is vegan) got the tofu basket and they put non-vegan sauce on the side. When he told them he was vegan, they immediately brought him the vegan version, labelled, and offered to bring him a new side of onion rings cooked in a separate fryer. They were really accommodating and made us feel very welcome! They also use really fresh, light ingredients. Great place and we will surely be back!

Pros: Tons of vegan options , Fantastic, knowledgeable service, Cute outdoor atmosphere

TheMalfoys

Points +52

Vegan
03 Jul 2019

I second the crab cake!

Fairly quick, feels like the beach, lots of clearly marked options. Yum!

AlexaEllis

Points +91

Vegan
04 May 2019

Vegan CRAB CAKES

the title really should have you driving to this place rn! they’re so good and they have plenty of vegan options as the owner I believe is vegan! they have live music some nights and have an amazing outdoor space/bar! super tacky decorations that just make the place so perfect for its name! definitely recommend stopping here if you haven’t already!

Pros: lots of vegan options, friendly staff, outdoor seating

db2202000

Points +189

Vegetarian
02 Jan 2018

Reliable casual

First went here when it was still in Clarendon. Always reliable for a casual meal. Enjoy the hush puppies and coconut tofu.

SuperViolet

Points +24

Vegan
04 Oct 2017

Wonderful Vegan Options

VEGAN ONION RINGS with vegan dipping sauces. This is not offered anywhere else in our area, so I feel as if could be the entire review in itself. However, I will add that their phish and chips (made with Gardein fish these days) and tofu ("crab") cakes are awesome, and they offer many great beer and cocktail choices. Would give 5 stars if this establishment went vegan ;)

DCGrrl

Points +101

Vegetarian
11 Feb 2017

Neighborhood beach bar

We love this place, after many years it's remained consistently good.
They are a surf shack in the middle of the burbs, it's a great escape.
As a beachy restaurant, their primary menu items are seafood, but they have a good range if vegetarian and vegan options, and they know the difference.
My favorite is the tofu crab cake sandwich. There's also vegan chili, tacos, and phish and chips.
The atmosphere is very family-friendly, but there's an outdoor cantina (summer weekends there's live music) and a sports bar inside. They even have a large additional dining room for private events.

Pros: great when you're with omni friends , laid-back atmosphere , great beer choices

Cons: limited vegan options , crowded on weekends

SarahHarmonOberther

Points +93

Vegan
05 Feb 2017

Good bar food for vegans and meat eaters alike

This is our go to place when you have a group of people that are not vegan and some that are. They have great comfort bar food and a wide variety of vegan options. The uncrabcake sandwich is my favorite. They offer vegan onion rings and vegan dipping sauces. Overall this place is consistently yummy and accommodates a wide variety of pallets.

Pros: Great value, Live music , Quick service/great staff

Orangerory

Points +50

Vegan
20 Aug 2016

decent veg options

Great family place for omnivores and vegans alike. Many vegan options such as "crab" cakes and various tofu dishes. The food isn't gourmet and most of the options are fried and soy based but good beachy spot when you're craving tater tots, fried tofu, and a beer.

mwhite5990

Points +73

Vegan
15 Sep 2015

Good food, Fun atmosphere

This is a great place to go with omnivore friends and family. The food is good and reasonably priced. The drinks are good as well. There was a live band performing when I went.

While the vegan options are marked, make sure you mention you want it vegan. I got the cluckless (tofu) tacos and the standard version was made with cheese. (fortunately I asked to make sure it was vegan). The onion rings were also vegan, and they were delicious.

Pros: Vegan items marked, Fun atmosphere

Jaelus

Points +113

Vegan
20 Apr 2011

Decent vegan options

The atmosphere is like a Florida beach shack with a bar. Inside and outside seating available. Many things on the menu can be made vegan through subsitutions, but it's much easier if you just ask for the vegan menu when you get there. It's got the entrees on there with the substitutions already laid out to make them vegan and there are quite a few tasty options. The best thing on the menu though is the blackened tofu sandwich (so delicious!) which comes with vegan tartar sauce and coleslaw. I find this is a great go to place to grab a bite to eat with my non-veg friends since everyone can get what they like without making a big deal of it.

Pros: Seperate veg menu, Friendly staff, Many vegan options




This page has been viewed 5076 times.