• Chutneys

  • (23)
    32
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Indian
Buffet
Beer/Wine
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Previously one of the vegetarian Indian restaurants on Drummond St, reported to have added meat to the menu Jan 2019. Offers a large buffet on Sun with plenty of vegan options. Open Mon-Sat 12:00-23:00, Sun 12:00-22:30.


Venue map for Chutneys
© OpenStreetMap contributors

23 Reviews

First Review by Enfieldian

ElaineVeg22

Points +44

Vegan
21 Jul 2023

Brilliant vegetarian / vegan buffet lunch

Amazing vegan and vegetarian buffet lunch for £9.95. No meat options despite other comments saying so. It’s amazing value and the food is fresh and tasty.

Pros: Fresh tasty vegan options, Value for money, Best kept secret

Advertisement

theclubthatloves

Points +63

Vegetarian
04 Jan 2023

Great lunch buffet for a very good price

We went for the vegetarian lunch buffet. The food was really good and the hosts were extremely friendly and welcoming!

The food is 100% vegetarian and vegan options are available as well. We paid 9,95£ per person and could eat as much as we wanted.

Would definitely come back again 😊

Updated from previous review on 2023-01-04

Pros: Tasty lunch buffet for a good price , Very friendly and welcoming host family , Vegan choices available

Addison.Cao

Points +32

Vegan
16 Dec 2022

Okay for once in a while but not enough vegan options to warrant frequent visits

Curried vegetable stir fry was ok, but they really need more vegan carbs options

esther26

Points +25

Vegetarian
23 Jul 2022

Amazing lunch buffet

I went for the vegetarian lunch buffet. It was great food! And great value for your money. There were so many dishes to try and they were all great. Would love to come back some time

apostrophe

Points +53

Vegan
18 Feb 2020

'New' Chutneys

Very disappointing to find this restaurant now serves a largely animal based menu (after about 30 years of being vegetarian) . Other people have mentioned that the management may have changed. On previous visits the food was good and prices reasonable. Food now very average. Prices high. Staff confused about what is, and is not, vegan. I won't be going back.

Pros: Near Euston station, Other vegetarian indian restaurants on same street

Cons: Poor food, Poor value

iancdf

Points +13

Vegetarian
29 Oct 2019

Disappointed

Been eating here for 25 years, used to be a great veggie staple. Last time the staff were incredibly rude and really disappointed they've put animals on the menu. There are plenty of great veggie restaurants in London, move on.

Cons: Meat, rude, not licensed

ijeama

Points +18

Vegan
26 Nov 2018

One of the best

Such affordable prices, delicious food and friendly staff. Perfect for all types of occasions and for vegans! They can make almost evetything vegan apart from the obvious paneer dishes. Just say when you order to be safe. Buffet around £7 on weekday lunches and sunday all day.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

LukeCroydon

Points +96

Vegan
15 Aug 2018

Fantastic Dosas

Brilliant south Asian restaurant selling the best dosas I’ve ever tasted. The menu doesn’t label what is vegan but the staff are very friendly and helpful and will tell you what is vegan, which is almost everything that doesn’t contain paneer. The restaurant is dry but they’re happy for you to bring in drink with you.

Pros: Dosas, Staff, Great value

Cons: Restaurant is dry, Decor fairly basic

wyrd

Points +3261

Vegan
05 Oct 2016

Good dinner

I had dinner in Chutneys with two non-vegetarian friends and we were all very satisfied at the end. We all ordered a sort of combo-dinner, and I asked for the vegan version of it (almost everything was vegan anyway). Food was good, maybe not the best Indian food I had in my life, but nothing to complain about! Recommended!

Updated from previous review on 2016-10-05

Pros: Good food, Vegan friendly, Friendly staff

mattblack

Points +21

Vegetarian
07 Apr 2016

Awful...

This is up there with my worst restaurants ever.
MCLP is vegan so i have been dabbling in Indian cuisine,so i know of what i speak.
The Onion Bajjis were flat and tasteless,has the price of onions shot up recently?
My Vegetable korma was thin and bland,with the vegetables seemingly boiled to death.
The Peshwari Nan was packed with coconut and no fruit. It was perhaps the least offensive part of the meal. I didnt bother with a dessert ,i thought it best to cut my losses.

Pros: good service

Cons: awful food

Marilynka

Points +140

Vegan
30 Sep 2015

Great food!

As a big fan of Indian food, I just had to try an Indian restaurant in London during my short stay. I picked Chutneys and I was not disappointed! The food was amazing! I visited with a friend at lunch time when they have buffet. Great variety of tasty meals and friendly, helpful stuff. Only 2 of the meals weren't vegan as well as all of the desserts except the fruit salad of course.
Highly recommended!

Pros: Great food, affordable , friendly staff

jennyc32

Points +3216

Vegan
09 Mar 2015

Brilliant buffet

I popped in for the lunchtime buffet before getting the train out of London, and this was the perfect place to get some fuel. It was busy, but there was no wait for a table. The buffet table was full of food and kept well-stocked. I asked a waiter which options were vegan and he replied that it was easier to tell me what wasn't vegan, so I had plenty to eat and loved all the variety. It was cheap and we ate a lot, so it's definitely good value for money. I'll be back for more!

emzie1983

Points +678

Vegan
11 Sep 2013

Quick and tasty!!

I went here with a friend for an evening meal. We were there for 7pm and it was very quiet, only about 5 other customers, so had extremely quick service.
I had to ask which items on the menu were vegan, and the waitor was very helpful. Turns out almost everything is vegan, or can be made vegan, so there was plenty of choice.

We started with poppadoms and pickles (only the raita isn't vegan), and the food came so quickly, we hadn't even finished these! For mains, we shared a dosa (large with good flavour) and a vegetable curry (it was top of the menu, but can't remember the name!)which was nicely spiced, although mostly carrot rather than the advertised 'exotic' veg!
There were a lot of waitors around, so the service was really good. They were continually topping up our water and were quick to bring the desserts menu and bill.

A really nice little restaurant, with a convenient location in London, plenty of choice and good value for money. I'll definitely be returning to try some more items on the menu!

Pros: Very quick and friendly service, Good vegan selection, Good value

Cons: Vegan options aren't identified on menu

imogenmichel

Points +2631

Vegan
23 Apr 2013

Excellent

I cam here for an evening meal with friends (including omnis) and found delicious food with plenty of vegan choices. I had an amazing masala dosa myself, and the others who came with me were all very happy with the food. My only minor gripe is that vegan options are not marked on the menu so you have to ask for them to be pointed out to you. However, as the staff were all so lovely and friendly, this wasn't a problem.

Pros: Great food, Friendly staff, Nice atmosphere

Cons: Vegan options not marked on menu

gin_and_tonic

Points +92

Vegetarian
06 Feb 2013

Lunch Time

I went here with some colleagues for lunch. They were a bit skeptical at first, heading towards Euston rather than down town. That soon changed when we entered.

Its quite a small place, and can feel busy, but we were able to get a table straight away. There were about 20 main dishes to choose from, some hot some cold. It's a buffet, so you can pick and choose what you want. The staff offered us drinks but we had tap water, which wasn't a problem. (Some places like to sell you drinks or bottled water.)

We all went up several times to refill and try new things. The consensus was that the food was very good.

There are a few things I haven't seen in other places. There are also a few things that can catch you out. The fresh mango salsa, was in fact fresh lemons with a sauce. Very nice, but not what I was expecting!

There are several deserts. Gulab jaman, a keer (rice pudding), fresh fruit and a gram flour based dish.

The staff were friendly and not intrusive. The atmosphere is relaxed, with a diverse lunchtime crowd. All of this for £6.95 is a bargain.

Pros: Good food, Lots and lots of choice.

Bow

Points +80

Vegan
18 Jul 2011

Hits the spot every time

Chutneys is consistently good, and offers delicious food and great value for money in a convenient location. By a long way the best of the Drummond Street restaurants, and second only to Rani for all the Indian restaurants I have tried in the Greater London area.
Their lunchtime buffet is superb. The variety is endless, and every dish is different and delicious. Be prepared to try some new and different things, although familiar old favourites are there too. The food tastes healthy and balanced - lots of flavour, not too much oil. The staff are very helpful in pointing out which dishes are vegan (most of them). You can eat a three-course meal with seconds of everything for a ridiculously small £7.95, making it outstanding value, especially as the quality is high.
If you are going in the evening, the à la carte dining experience is also highly recommended. They do the best dosas I have ever tasted, and everything else I have tried has also been good.
Unsurprisingly, it can get a little crowded - unless you want to go on an intimate romantic date, don't be deterred. Chutneys will not disappoint.

Pros: Delicious food, Outstanding value for money, Good location

Cons: A bit crowded

margypargy

Points +100

Vegan
02 Jan 2011

Best Veggie Curry Buffet in London

I've been frequenting Drummond Street restaurants for over 20 years (Diwana, Ravi Shankar too) but Chutneys is still my favourite. It's the most comfortable of the 3 veggie restaurants on the street and there are loads of vegan options on the buffet including one or two starters, three or four mains, at least one dhal and half a dozen or more really interesting salads. The vegan dessert is only fruit but I never have any room for that anyway! Their chutneys are fab, especially the garlic one and the coriander one. The food is fresh, properly spicy and the dishes on offer are different every time. They continue to evolve - the salads were added four or five years ago, presumably to keep regulars interested. I love this place! London would be way poorer for vegans without it.

Pros: Food is fab!!!, Choice, Chutneys

Cons: Can get busy

beitme

Points +149

Vegan
26 Dec 2010

wonderful

The buffet is an excellent deal. With a wide selection of health favoring tasty food, it's surely one of the best around. Try some (or all) of the nearly dozen sauces that will leave you're taste buds desiring more days later. Staff are friendly and willing to explain dishes to those interested, which is useful for those with special diets. This is a prime stop for me.

Pros: excellent value, healthy cuisine, tasty

Ruby X

Points +81

Vegetarian
19 Jul 2009

Five cows indeed

My boyfriend and I went here for lunch. They have an all-veggie lunch buffet. Most things were very yummy. Some were a bit on the spicy side though, but not as much as I expected (or feared ;)

The buffet was authentic, very large and included some desserts. The service was very swift and friendly. The price was ridiculously low for an all-you-can-eat buffet.

Pros: yummy!, great service, great price

*manon*

Points +31

Vegan
12 Apr 2009

All you can eat buffet!

Good and cheap. Curies were very tasteful. Wonderful sour mango chutney. Nice apple salad. Ate more than i should have :-), so skipped the desert buffet.

Pros: good food, low price, all you can eat

Alyson

Points +751

Vegan
08 Mar 2009

Tasty and good value

I ate here on a work trip to London. Being close to Euston train station it is very convenient. Although the menu isn't labelled with vegan items the waiter advised what was suitable. Great flavours and good value. There weren't any vegan desserts, but I was given a complimentary fruit salad instead. As a single female I didn't feel uncomfortable here. Highly recommend.

Pros: tasty, good value, near train station

Cons: menu not marked with Vegan

Stevie

Points +11765

Vegan
01 Mar 2009

Chutneys, London

When I travel to London my principal point of entry and exit is Euston train station. Thus with Drummond Street being right beside the station, the veggie restaurants there have had a lot of my business over the years.

For vegan veggies the best of the Indian eateries on Drummond Street is Chutneys. If you ask the waiter what on the menu is vegan veggie you will get an on the spot answer on what is and what isn't. The food is tasty and reasonably priced. Also with seating available for up to 120 you'd have to be pretty unlucky not to get a table.

This is a popular restaurant and it's not difficult to see why.

Pros: Vegan veggie friendly, handy for Euston station, tasty reasonably priced food

Enfieldian

Points +64

Vegetarian
13 Jul 2007

Great Buffet

Cannot be beaten on quality of vegetarian eat as much as you like buffet at extraordinarily low price. Always great value.




This page has been viewed 12717 times.