Lacto
Chinese
Taiwanese

Taiwanese Vegetarian Restaurant est. in 1986. All menus are 五葷(allium) free. Every meal menu (except for single side dishes or dim sums) comes with 杏仁豆腐(almond jelly) as mini-dessert which contains milk, specify vegan when ordering if needed for the veganized substitution. A variety of products (mock meats, dim sums, instant noodles, seasonings, beverages, etc) available at the counter. Credit cards accepted. Name and address in Japanese: 中一素食店 健福 〒186-0004東京都国立市中1-19-8 中一ビル. Open Mon 11:00am-3:00pm, 5:00pm-9:00pm, Wed-Sun 11:00am-3:00pm, 5:00pm-9:00pm. Last orders 2:30pm and 9.30pm.


Venue map for Chien-Fu - Kunitachi
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by backpasher

Asahi

Points +814

Vegan
12 Jan 2024

おいしい

メニューが豊富でいいです。価格もベジのお店の平均よりは安めだと思います。野菜まんがとてもおいしかった。

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-12

Advertisement

Nanami7seas

Points +69

Vegetarian
04 Nov 2023

Nice and humble

Very humble restaurant with a large menu of oriental vegetarian food with reasonable price.
They sell some frozen/dry food.

Pros: Good Chinese food , Reasonable price , Hot tea for free

Cons: The staff seemed too busy

サンドラ

Points +472

Vegan
15 Jan 2022

Was so so

I didn't like the taste much, and some items looked different than in the menu photos

Updated from previous review on 2021-01-29

Pros: Almost everything vegan

Cons: Looks different than in the menu, Food felt too oily

Ruzha

Points +3167

Vegan
05 Jun 2019

Huge variety of dishes

I went to Chien-Fu with my Japanese husband and his non-veg parents. We ordered a huge number of dishes to share. We all enjoyed every single dish, the food was amazing! Not the best ambiance, but the great taste made up for it.

ForAnimalsJapan

Points +4999

Vegan
19 Apr 2019

Affordable & delicious

English below👇 国立にある『健福(チェンフー)』に行ってきました。
駅から徒歩で15分ほどの所にあり、大通りに面しています。
店内は広々としていて物販コーナーもあります。

今回は、色々な料理を友人とシェアして頂きましたが、どれも文句無しで美味しく頂きました。中華料理特有の油っこさも無く、味付けは濃いのにアッサリと頂けました。
お酒も含めて、かなり沢山の料理を頂きましたが、価格もとても良心的でパーティにうってつけだと思います。

※こちらのお店はベジタリアンレストランなので、乳製品を使用している料理があります。事前におご確認下さい。

A bunch of the 4AJ All-Stars went to Chien-Fu, a Taiwanese restaurant in Kunitachi, to celebrate a birthday. Chien-Fu is mostly vegan, except for a few dishes that use cow’s milk. Soy milk can be substituted for cow’s milk, however, which makes us wonder why they don’t just use soy milk in the first place 🧐

Anyway, we ordered a bunch of different dishes, and not a single one was a disappointment. The hot and sour soup was very popular at our table, as was the daikon mochi. My personal favorites were the fried spring rolls and the sweet and sour “pork”, but really, I think it’s impossible to go wrong here. Just order whatever you want. Even our meat-eating companions seemed very satisfied with the food.

Though the dining room was full and there was only one server present, she was polite and attentive, providing great service in Japanese and English.

The restaurant also has a fairly large selection of mock meats, noodles, and other vegan food items for sale. If it’s “meaty” Chinese food you’re craving, definitely pay Chien-Fu a visit!

Pros: Huge variety, Affordable , Friendly service

Cons: A little shabby

veebichu

Points +28

Vegan
22 Mar 2019

Affordable, Filling, Delicious

They opened 20 mins early for us!

Pros: Delicious vegetarian options! , Filling, Omnomnom

Cons: I read it isn’t fully vegan but I don’t know how

dannyboy504

Points +34

Vegan
10 Jul 2018

Excellent food

Nice atmosphere, good service. I love Chinese food and they make GREAT Chinese vegetarian food. I have dinner here several times a week when visiting Japan. I miss it when I leave.

niti

Points +10

Non Veg
27 Oct 2016

Is it closed?

I went today and the restaurant was closed (in the information about this restaurant it appears like open). Thanks that nearby there was a nice korean restaurant with vegetarian dishes. Please, update this location!!

Cons: it was closed

pkins

18 Jun 2017

This restaurant is not closed. I go there all the time. You just went on a day that they were not open.

Dominika87

Points +161

Vegan
22 Feb 2015

Great fake meats!

I went both to the Kunitachi and the Roppongi location. The Kunitachi restaurant's interiors are not as nice as the one in Roppongi, but the food is just as delicious and it is not so crowded. I ordered the Spring Roles, Ebi Fry and Taiwanese Beer, all very good. I will definitely eat there again. Most of the food is vegan, there are only a few non-vegan meals and they are clearly marked on the menu. The restaurant is not very hard to find as the entrance is from the main street and there are signs (also in English). You should look for 台湾 (or was it 臺灣 ?) on the window.


Updated from previous review on Sunday November 30, 2014
Ordered snowfish the other day and it was delicious!
Updated from previous review on Saturday December 13, 2014

Edit: Menu has changed, remember to double check whether your dish is vegan!

Pros: Food

Cons: Interior

paulh

Points +13

Vegetarian
01 May 2014

decent prices, nice staff, yummy food

This place does Taiwan-style vegetarian, with many mock-meat dishes. There's also some Japanese-style dishes and the set meals are good value. The staff I dealt with spoke Japanese and Mandarin, but the menu has English. The bubble tea is great. I'm vegetarian, but I think they must be very vegan-friendly because they asked multiple times if I was OK with milk in the bubble tea. They also sell several vegetarian ingredients, teas and snacks.

Pros: yummy food, nice staff, considerate of dietary requirements

Cons: no cons!

Earthdiet

Points +120

Vegan
31 Oct 2013

Large menu of vegetarian food!

This place has soooo many options to choose from! The menu is long! I have been here a couple of times and have always enjoyed it. It is in a cute little college town area of Kunitachi and not too far from the train stop. Great little place.

Pros: moderate price, large menu

umebossy

Points +140

Vegetarian
15 Aug 2013

Hard to come by vegetarian chinese food!

I breathed a sigh of relief when I discovered naka-ichi/chien-fu! Vegetarian chinese food is hard to come by in Japan, so I am a regular visitor when I need my fix. They have an extensive menu, mostly listed by type of "meat" as they rely heavily on mock meats. They also have great ramen and their spring rolls are delicious. Prices are reasonable, with daily set menu deals that are great value. They also stock a large selection of soy products, vegetarian meats, instant noodles etc.

Pros: Vegetarian chinese food!, Veggie supplies, Good value

Cons: Can be a bit empty, not much atmosphere

backpasher

Points +161

Vegetarian
30 Dec 2008

Every time I go to Nagoya, I visit Chien-Fu

This place is really great. It is 100% vegetarian and almost entirely vegan (some of the desserts have milk in them) so it is both delicious and easy dining for vegos!!

I went with veggie friends and we liked the food so much that we kept on ordering, just to sample as much as possible.

The portions aren't huge, but it's inexpensive so you can afford to order several things without spending a huge amount.

Their Ma Po Eggplant dishes are delectable, as is their Chow Mein, Fried "chicken" and noodle soups.

They also sell veggie products include soy meat and noodle soups (with veggie flavours included).

If you get to Kamimaezu Station in Nagoya, take exit 9 and head towards the Osu 301 building - in the arcade that runs all the way from near Osu Kannon Station. It's on the 3rd floor.

The Veggie Cook

15 Jun 2009

The Nagoya location closed in May 2009. The Kunitachi city location is still open.




This page has been viewed 7763 times.