Vegan-friendly
Middle Eastern
Moroccan
Non-veg

Serves fish, vegan options available. A small cafe where the kitchen makes traditional Moroccan cuisine. Est. 2015 as all-veg then modified its menu to include fish in 2019. Reported closed June 2023.


Venue map for Chez Khadija
© OpenStreetMap contributors

18 Reviews

First Review by Poganana

ChristianCole

Points +35

Vegan
22 Jul 2021

Some good vegan options and friendly service

Had a really nice vegetable tagine and vegetable soup. Owner said all vegan dishes are cooked in one kitchen and any none vegan are cooked in different kitchen

Advertisement

enigmau5

Points +83

Vegetarian
04 Feb 2020

Amazing place

Although a small and unassuming restaurant, our time and meal here were both fantastic! Really tasty food, and some great vegetarian options. The ladies were really friendly as well!

Pros: Great food, price

oswald22

Points +36

Vegan
01 Nov 2019

Bonne adresse

Petit restaurant très agréable. Nous sommes arrivés à 8. Kadija étant seule en cuisine et comme nous avons chacun demandé un plat différent, nous avons un peu attendu. Mais tous les plats ont été servis en même temps et tous chauds. Tout le monde a adoré.
Du poisson est aussi à la carte maintenant.

Pros: Propose des jus frais fruit/légumes

newspanishvegan

Points +52

Vegan
13 Sep 2019

THE Best in Essaouira

I ate at numerous vegan restaurants here and this one had the absolute best vegetable couscous and tagine. I specially loved the tagine with prunes, apricots, nuts etc which was truly amazing. Lovely portion of bread and olives while waiting for the food to cook.

SatShabad

Points +314

Vegan
31 Aug 2019

Homemade Goodness

We had the sweetest time at this restaurant. We were able to ask for everything to be vegan. It was really good food.

GabrielaSeltzer

Points +13

Mostly Veg
21 Aug 2019

Beautiful Moroccan Vegan food!

I saw Chez Khadija as the only vegan place in Essaouira and decided to eat here.
Did not disappoint! Amazing tasty food, the owner is a lovely lady that is super kind and cooks amazing!
The cous cous with vegetables and vegetables tajine were beautifully cooked
شكرا!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Great portions , Beautiful atmosphere

veganschmegan9

Points +23

Vegan
09 Jul 2019

Sooo delicious!

This nice little place is in the heart of Essaouira’s Médina in a bit more quite street. Although the lovely women that served and cooked the food didn’t speak Englisch ordering was not a problem. I had the couscous with figs, dates, plums, walnuts, almonds and caramelized onions and the lentil Tagin. Bot dishes were super tasty and really made with love. The potions were bigger than I expected so one ot the two dishes is really enough. My boyfriend helped me a bit with the lentils but he was also pretty satisfied from his goat cheese Briouates, officially not vegan but also very yummy. I mixed my two dishes a bit wich was soooo sooo delicious. At the end I was pretty full but as I said it was so tasty so I had to finish and I don’t regret it. We were the last in the restaurant but the lovely woman didn’t rushed us till we or more I was ready. Oh and before we got our orders she gave us bread and olives for free and we were even getting more bread after we finished the first portion. You really can tell that the food is freshly made, she even went to get some groceries for our dishes. So all in all I am very happy that we went to this place and can recommend it to everyone who wants to eat real delicious Moroccan food and wants to support a small restaurant.
*we were a bit worried that our orders were not understood but at the end it turned out very well without any problems.

Pros: Food, Place, Everything

Cons: Nothing

cajb

Points +220

Vegan
14 Apr 2019

A must visit on your trip to Essaouira

My favourite place to eat from our whole week Morocco trip! We sat outside to eat and it was roasting hot, so nice! The cafe is run single handedly by one woman who cooks all the food to order so you know it’s fresh. The food is amazing and I was living my wildest Moroccan fantasy with the tajine royale (almonds, walnuts, dates, figs, apricots & pumpkin) 😍 my friend got the goats cheese pastilla which she said was amazing. Tried my first avocado juice (as it usually has milk in) here which was good! The owner doesn’t speak english only French & Arabic but she will point out which options are vegan on the menu. The food here is very cheap, I ordered the most expensive thing on the menu which was only 70 dirhams (£5.57!) which is cheaper than the most basic vegetable tanjines you will find in Marrakech!

Pros: Lots of amazing vegan options, Very cheap & very delicious , Very cosy with fresh cooked food

Hazelcubed

Points +430

Vegetarian
01 Apr 2019

Home cooked vegan

This is a tiny little place with one cook who makes your food made to order. It’s definitely worth the wait. We had the vegetable pastille, the rice, and the Moroccan soup. Also had the avocado orange juice which is just to die for. The cook/owner speaks french & Arabic but not much English. However, she knows the difference between vegan and vegetarian. Also the name above the place is Cafe Resto. You can’t miss it with its orange awning with Vegan Food label. The owner/cook is a vegetarian. She took time to talk to us after she finished cooking. I had a lot of fun there, but be prepared to spend some time there.

Pros: All items vegetarian & many vegan, The cook knows vegan v. Vegetarian

Cons: Takes time

#veganforworld

Points +153

Vegan
19 Mar 2019

Lovley little restaurant

Nice little restaurant in the heart of Essaouira's Medina. Friendly cook and waitress all in one ;)
Enough options for food and good prices.

Pros: Yummy juices cheap prices big portions, Vegan options

Cons: Takes a while as only one person is working there

nova734

Points +119

Vegetarian
14 Jan 2019

Veggie hole-in-the-wall

Veg and vegan food made to order. The restaurant is a one-women show, down a quiet side street off one of the main roads. It's small but this is exactly the type of place I like to support when I travel. Menu is in English and I got a delicious sweet couscous with prunes, dates and nuts for 55 dirham.

Takes a lil bit because everything is made then and there, but the upside of this is that you can customize your order if the ingredients are available.

Pros: Veg and vegan options.

Travellingpagefamily

Points +110

Vegan
26 Feb 2018

An ok lunch

We had lunch here a few days ago.

It was ok. We had the vegetarian pastilla. I didn't like it at all. I found it was really oily but my husband was ok with it.

The place is kind of cold and not very inviting.

GGRedheart

Points +58

Vegetarian
18 Jan 2018

Charming family owned spot

The place is seemingly run by a mother and daughter- both speak some French, but no English. I had the vegan Moroccan soup (a steal at 10 dirhams) and a SWEET couscous flavored with almonds, dates and figs (I believe) that was out of this world- if you love sweet things, you should give it a try. My partner had a tajine that he found acceptable. The family is very polite, although the atmosphere is a big odd- stone walls, empty almost like a museum. Overall, it was a very nice place to eat. :)

Pros: Strong sweet flavors., Friendly owners/employees., Good price.

Cons: Strange interior., Somewhat slow preparation.

JaneWidgery

Points +29

Vegetarian
03 Dec 2017

fabulous meal no cost at all

We had freshly prepared two Moroccan salads , lentil tagine and mixed fruit and veg tagine, both prepared while we had our salad, lemon juice freshly squeezed twice (4)
Olives and bread all for 210dh (21€)..
It is a lovely little room which seats about 10 just off the street...so much ambiance. The owner and cook were kind and courteous.
Everything was fresh and delicious.

Pros: Tagine and pasta options....but all veggie so no h

Cons: none....

VeganNatascha

Points +1178

Vegan
09 Nov 2017

Leckere, günstige marokkanische Küche

Mitten in der Medina gelegen, kocht Khadija hier alles frisch, was ggf. zu Wartezeiten führen kann. Günstige Preise (z.B. Harira für 10 DH). Sehr leckeres Essen, große Portionen.

Pros: Leckeres Essen, Günstige Preise , Nette Besitzerin

Cons: ggf. Wartezeit

smncx77

Points +28

Vegan
29 Jul 2017

Delicious Moroccan food

A great find - 100% vegetarian with extensive vegan options. Everything cooked fresh so takes a little while but it's more than worth the wait.

GayleStewart

Points +19

Vegetarian
18 Mar 2017

Best veg food

Absolutely fantastic. The best meal I've had in Morocco in 2 weeks. Veggie burger was beautiful, as was the accompanying veggies. The carrot, orange and ginger juice was so fresh and yum. A lovely couple runs the place. If you are after really tasty, healthy and fresh food, this place is a must.

Pros: Healthy, Tasty, Fresh

Cons: None

GayleStewart

13 Apr 2017

The above review was meant for Le Corail at Latifa., but I unfortunately posted it on Cafe Resto by mistake.
Cafe Resto still exists,I walked past it by chance. I am not sure of the hours however.

Poganana

Points +45

Vegan
27 Oct 2015

Tiny cafe, great food!

Nice tiny place in one of the quite streets of Essaouira city centre. There was only a cook and a waiter, supposedly a son and his mother. Both did not speak a word of English or French, so communication might be challenging. Menu was in English and French though.
Food took some time to prepare, but when they brought it, all dishes were very good. All made from scratch and from fresh ingredients. We in particular liked the kus-kus with raisins and almonds. yummy!
oh! one point to note.. there is NO toilet in this place.

Pros: food, location

Cons: no toilet!, no English/French speaking staff




This page has been viewed 5570 times.