Vegan-friendly
Ovo
Organic
Beer/Wine
European
French
Gluten-free
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Restaurant offering soups, bowls, salads, crepes, natural ice cream and vegan desserts. Many dishes are vegan and gluten-free. Previously vegetarian but added meat in 2020. Open Mon-Sun 12:00-23:30.


Venue map for Chez Germain
© OpenStreetMap contributors

16 Reviews

First Review by fluctus

tnow

Points +893

Vegan
10 Aug 2023

Very good galette

Stylish restaurant that only has 2 savoury vegan galettes with buckwheat dough. I didn’t like the fact that they had just vegetables and no protein source, but I tried them both and they were very good. Prices are a bit high but it’s ok for this area I guess

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-10

Advertisement

chris10kors

Points +1317

Vegan
20 Oct 2022

Absolutely delicious

Very yummy and one of the few places in Paris to get vegan galettes! Super cute restaurant and ambiance as well. Definitely a great place to go especially if you’re traveling with non vegans. I’ve had both vegan galette options and they are both amazing. They have 2 vegan desserts but not really a vegan crepe dessert option. They told me that I could “make my own” vegan dessert crepe but it would be the galette batter because they’re crepe batter isn’t vegan. I have yet to try that option because I wasn’t sure how it would turn out. But it is 100 percent worth coming to for the savory galettes… so good!

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-06

BeatriceBiancorosso

Points +114

Vegan
11 Aug 2021

Very good

Very good restaurant not far from notre dame they have 2 vegan option of galette de sarrasin but they are also very open to do some changing with the non vegan galette. They did for me one with hummus of tumeric spinach and tomatoes very good and prices not expensive!

Pros: Vegan friendly, Staff kind, Open to changing

VivaLAarte

Points +3077

Vegan
08 Mar 2020

Delicious Galettes

Vegetarian Restaurant with 2 vegan options of galettes and two other vegan dishes (bowls). The galette with mushrooms and the one with potatoes were both good. They cost around 9 €, which is reasonable.

Pros: Atmosphere

cwl666

Points +1359

Vegan
27 Feb 2020

Nice spot with solid food

Smallish menu with limited but enough vegan options. Friendly staff and nice place to have a coffee too.

nonoknowsno

Points +91

Vegetarian
02 Feb 2020

Underwhelming

The decor is really nice.
There were only 2 vegan crêpe options (I believe there used to be more), which was quite disappointing. The filling was quite tasty, the galette was alright, and the dessert (crème d'amande) was fine. All in all, an ok restaurant, with good service, but simply underwhelming...
It's also written vegetarian here and on the menu, but I believe they have ham and chicken crêpes now.... Quite sad.

Pros: Nice decor, Good service

Cons: Not vegetarian

Jente

Points +34

Vegetarian
23 Dec 2019

Delicious food!

Very good food, very friendly staff. The place was really nicely decorated and super cosy. The galettes are delicious and the salads too. A lot of vegetarian options and also a lot of vegan options or vegetarian option which can be made into vegan (like leave out the egg or cheese). Salads are a little big.

Pros: Food, Atmosphere, Music

EmmyVD

Points +4292

Vegan
03 Nov 2019

Special decor but less special food

Chez Germain is conveniently located when you are visiting some of Paris' highlights. The decor is something you would expect outside but it is original and cosy to find it indoors.

The service is very fast and friendly. I had a gazpacho, an original combination with mango but not that tasty and quite chunky. For the main I had a quinoa salad which was okay but the dressing was very oily and not that tasty. All in all quite expensive for what I ate but it's a nice place to have a cosy diner, the crepes looked delicious.

Pros: Accesible location, Friendly staff

Cons: Expensive, Not that tasty

Shaya

Points +95

Vegetarian
22 Oct 2019

Super yummy

Really good food, great presentation, wonderful service

presslap

Points +20

Vegetarian
20 Oct 2019

Cute place but food not good

The place is nice and stylish. Unfortunately, I didn’t like the food at all. The bowls are completely cold, also the quinoa, chickpea curry etc. The gazpacho was kind of ok and the almond mousse desert was lacking any sweetness. If you are solely looking for healthy food this might be your place but if you want tasty vegetarian/vegan food it’s definitely not. Also, they only offer one white and one red wine.

Pros: Restaurant looks very cute and stylish, Healthy food

Cons: Bowls are cold and not really tasty, Desert without any sweetness, Almost no selection of wines

ornellabertani

Points +28

Vegan
12 Oct 2019

Carte prometteuse mais assiettes décevantes

La carte est prometteuse mais le résultat dans l’assiette est plus que décevant.
Des goûts peu maîtrisés, des préparations mal cuisinées nous avons été très déçus par la qualité de cette adresse qui est pourtant plébiscitée par beaucoup ...
le service était hésitant et lorsque nous avons demandé un couteau nous avons dû nous justifier et confirmer qu’il en manquait un ...
Seule la décoration apporte quelque chose...

Pros: Quelques options végétaliennes

Cons: Insipide , Service peu agréable

Ricardo

Points +15600

Vegan
28 Sep 2019

Good savory galettes

We had two of their vegan galettes: the Chiara (potatoes/zucchini) and the Diane (champignons/leek). Both were yummy; but the portions were a bit on the smaller side, so I'd recommend having an appetizer as well.
In any case, I found prices to be fair for the portion size.

We also took two of their vegan desserts: the Margherite (almond cream with nuts) and the Anais (chia pudding with lemon cream). The pudding was ok; but I wouldn't have the almond cream again as it was nothing special for me. I wonder why they cannot just add sweet galettes or offer sweet vegan crepes by default. That would make their dessert menu so much more interesting.

The staff was not rude at all; but was not that friendly either, so there's some room for improvement there.

Anyway, having savory galettes in a fully veg*n restaurant in Paris is not that easy at the moment, so if you are craving for them, you should give Chez Germain a try.

Pros: vegan galettes, fair prices, location

Cons: not all vegan, limited vegan desserts

eva.breiland

Points +110

Vegan
10 Jul 2019

Great environment

Super cute location and overall setup of the restaurant. The food was really good but only if you are looking for a more healthy/salady place. Not a great place if you are looking for more of a full (substantial) meal. Has clearly labeled vegan options and vegan desserts. Along with other things, they can make the dessert crêpes vegan, you just have to ask. Service was friendly and very fast (also spoke clear English if you are visiting).

ArnaudBorie

Points +18

Vegan
28 Jun 2019

Mehh

Restaurant très sympa dans un cadre très vert, nature, bio.la carte a de nombreuses options veganes intéressantes. Mais niveau goût manque un peu de Pep's, d'un plus qui rend les plats mémorables.
Service rapide et aimable.

Pros: Beaucoup d'options Vega s

Cons: Un peu fade

Sandrab_

Points +613

Vegetarian
16 Jun 2019

Nice place with average food

Chez Germain is very well located and the restaurant itself is really pretty (there is a nice mediterranean vibe).
The food was decent even if, in my opinion, the buckwheat crepes were too light on the fillings.

We choose the Mélusine (with goat cheese, honey, rosted hazelnuts, mint and salade) but I didn't had mint in mine. My boyfriend tried the Chloé (with spinach, smoked tofu, almond, sesame and roasted hazelnuts) but once again, the filling were pretty light.

We also tried the vegan desserts :
- Marguerite: almond cream with a very light touch of orange blossom (we didn't tasted it), pistachios, almonds and hazelnuts
- Anaïs: chia seeds pudding with lemon curd.

I think maybe it's worthy trying their bowls or salad. It can be a good location for a buckweat crepe if you had a light appetite or maybe for a dessert crepe.


Chez Germain est très bien situé et le restaurant en lui même est très sympa (avec une touche méditerranéenne dans la déco).
La nourriture est ok, même si à mon avis, les crêpes au sarrasin ne sont pas assez garnies.

Nous avons pris la Mélusine (fromage de chèvre, miel, noisettes grillées, menthe fraiche et salade) mais je n'ai pas eu de menthe dans la mienne. Mon copain à pris la Chloé (épinards, tofu fumé au sésame, crème de soja, noisettes grillées) mais une fois encore, la garniture était trop légère.

Nous avons aussi testé les desserts vegan :
- Marguerite : crème d'amande à la fleur d'oranger (très subtile, nous ne l'avons pas sentie), pistaches, amandes et noisettes
- Anaïs : pudding de graines de chia au citron

Je pense qu'il faudrait peut-être essayer leurs salades ou leurs bowls. Ca peut être un bon choix pour une crêpe au sarrasin si vous avez un petit appétit ou alors pour une crêpe sucrée.

Pros: great location, nice decoration, quick service

Cons: not enough filling on the buckweat crepes

fluctus

Points +41

Vegan
02 May 2019

Lovely crêperie

So happy to have discovered this crêperie, which has loads of clearly-marked vegan options and is open non-stop (very rare in Paris) and late. We had a spinach-potato-coconut cream soup, a vegan bowl with rice, lentils, and roasted vegetables, and a savory crêpe with mushrooms, potatoes and a soy cream sauce. Everything was delicious and tasted fresh and home-made. They have vegan desserts, but the dessert crêpes weren't marked vegan. The restaurant itself is really agreeable, with high windows and cozy seating. It's very colorful and unique. It's a great place to sit and watch people stroll by along Saint André des Arts. The service was good too: friendly and quick.

Pros: Delicious food, Lovely decor, Open non-stop

Cons: Would be nice to have vegan sweet crêpes too




This page has been viewed 6114 times.