Chay Banh Mi - Food Cart

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
  • ( 142 reviews )

Find

115 Hung Vuong St, Nha Trang, Vietnam

Street cart parked in front Mai Huy hotel and Melissa restaurant. Serves vegetarian banh mi sandwiches. Uses mock meats. Has a 'vegetarian' sign on cart plus marked vegan options. Open Mon-Sun 6:00am-9:00pm. Open days & hours vary.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Fast food, Take-out, Vietnamese

142 Reviews

First Review by JillMurdoch

tversteeg

Points +159

Vegan
16 Jun 2021

Best bánh mì

Title says it all.

Lucy.agnew95

Points +495

Vegan
16 Oct 2020

Excellent Banh mi

The vegan Banh mi was full of flavour and the lady working at the food cart was so friendly!

Greggco

Points +1167

Vegetarian
30 Sep 2020

The best

The best vegetarian Banh Mi I had in Vietnam 👍

Advertisement

Chad

Points +64

Vegan
03 Sep 2020

Quick and tasty

The food is good, cheap, and vegan. Vegetarians can add cheese for a price. Mainly fake meat, cucumber, and carrot, with a tasty sauce. The woman who runs the place is smiley and friendly and speaks a little English. She does run it by herself and is mostly around in the morning and early afternoon. If you arrive and see a blue tarp around her stall, come back another day. If you arrive and she is not around, come back in about half an hour.

Pros: Vegan, cheap, quick, friendly

Cons: Not the healthiest vegan food 😀

kittyeats

Points +187

Vegan
16 Jul 2020

🥖 Flavorful 🤤

She's just lovely and leaves you such an optimistic outlook on humanity. The bun is a bit stale, but the fillings are memorable: a bit crunchy and very savory.

Pros: Tasty vegan option, Loveliest seller, Very cheap

JordanaGodber

Points +40

Vegan
02 Jul 2020

Love this lady! Love this food!

We searched for this lady after a long and hot ride. We weren’t sure how clean it would be as it’s on the street, however I was sooo impressed with the ladies cleanliness, the food and the lady herself!

She was very careful to anti-bac before preparing food, her surfaces were super clean and the food looked really fresh. It tasted amazing!!

She was also very happy to let us film anything and have her picture taken with me. A great lady serving great food. I definitely recommend!!

Pros: Clear vegan menu, Super lady , Super clean food

KellenGross

Points +39

Vegan
25 Jun 2020

Vegan banh mi

Give this place a try!

PandAonTour

Points +427

Vegan
14 Mar 2020

Best Banh Mi

Lovely lady runs this stall. Great Banh Mi, filled with fake meats, salad and sauce. Really tasty and filling. All vegan, unless you want to add cheese (unnecessary).

Pros: Vegan, Plentiful , Great value meal

KevinZawierucha

Points +254

Vegan
29 Feb 2020

Very good

10/10 would reccomend :)

rjay4444

Points +20

Vegan
27 Feb 2020

Yummmmm!!!!!

Oh my word yum!! 13000 dong for vegan mock meat, saucy salad goodness. Cannot reccomend enough.

Pros: Delicious , Cheap, Different Mock meats

WillyGT

Points +16

Vegan
24 Feb 2020

Excellent vegan local Banh Mi

Perfect local Banh Mi for vegetarians and vegans !
3 options :
- bread with only vegetables ;
- bread with vegetables mock meat ;
- option 2 cheese.

Very cheap sandwiches ! 😁

Worth it if you're around 😍

PlanB-tourdumonde

Points +121

Vegan
22 Feb 2020

Bon Banh mi

Le Banh Mi est bon mais sans plus.

svenima

Points +34

Vegan
20 Feb 2020

Best Banh Mi!

The beast Banh Mi we had in Vietnam so far. A lot of stuffing with a really nice sauce! Can only recommend! You won’t regret it😉

Pros: Vegan - just order without cheese :)

TanjaGangl

Points +31

Vegetarian
07 Feb 2020

Love it

Nice sandwich, we go there again tomorrow. You can choose between a vegan or vegetarian option.

Pros: Super cheap

elenamkv

Points +36

Vegan
23 Jan 2020

Delicious Banh Mi!!

Had the vegan banh mi (banh mi without cheese) and it was so good! It had so much flavor and such an amazing texture! Can’t believe it’s meat-free!😂

June78

Points +36

Vegan
21 Jan 2020

Amazing experience. Super yum.

Lovely experience. The lady is very smiley and has English translated on her menu/sign

Pros: Delicious, Cheapest I’ve seen by a mile

Alexvegander

Points +139

Vegan
19 Jan 2020

Tasty Banh Mi

Cheap, tasty and lovely service

RohitIN

Points +30

Vegan
19 Dec 2019

Heavenly Food

This Banh Mi was so good, it was the highlight of my trip to Nha Trang. I Ate 7-8 times here.

Marilynmodiva

Points +1587

Vegan
16 Dec 2019

Delicious and so cheap!

We always love a vegan bahn mi, so when we discovered this bahn mi cart (vegetarian not fully vegan because you can add cheese if you desire) we were well excited! We loved the different mock meats she puts in the baguette, but love it even more than she makes them all herself. She's situated outside of a temple, and on one of the days we visited her, there was a temple full of school children praying - so lovely vibes! The bahn mis themselves were delicious and for the price (only 30,000 VND each - WHAT?!) you pay, you're really getting good value. We visited her twice, and on the second trip we bought two bahn mis each (because, why not?) If you're in Nha Trang, pick one (or two) up, walk over to the beach and enjoy your sandwich with the beautiful view of the ocean.

Pros: Delicious and cheap!

Cons: None

DimitriLemieux

Points +100

Vegan
07 Dec 2019

Tasty and cheap vegan Banh Mi!

Although we didn’t eat a lot of them, this was definitely our favourite banh mi in Vietnam (3 weeks). The lady is very sweet and it is also very affordable (13k without cheese).

Pros: Very affordable, Good service

EstherKool

Points +434

Vegan
05 Nov 2019

3 mock meats in one sandwich!

So good, we went there twice. The lady puts 3 mock meats in the banh mi. And it is super cheap: only 13k.

Pros: Delicious, cheap

Cons: None

JordannHorn

Points +332

Vegan
05 Nov 2019

So yummy!

First banh mi I’ve had with mock meats and I loved it! She gives all 3 mock meats on the sandwich which is cool and very cheap for the vegans (without cheese)!

mountainRain

Points +106

Vegan
26 Oct 2019

Lovely lady - nice banh mi

Thanks to HappyCow we found this lovely lady in Nha Trang with her delicious Vietnamese baguettes (banh mi). When we found her, she was in front of Mellissa restaurant at 73 Hung Vuong. I added a photo of the restaurant so you can locate her cart.
The banh mi was very good. All options have their prices listed and written in Vietnamese and Russian.

Pros: Cheap

zinab

Points +53

Vegan
22 Oct 2019

Delicious

It's more or less in front of Pita GR restaurant. We couldn't find the mai huy hotel as mentioned in the description. Very good taste and only 13.000 VND for a sandwich without cheese (18.000 VND with cheese) . highly recommend!

AmanParikh

Points +620

Vegan
25 Sep 2019

Amazing and cheap food

Loved it! Grabbed 5 for 65000 vnd which is super cheap!
Bunch of faux meat options and fresh veggies. The lady understands english and knows what vegan means so that is a good sign😄

Best and cheapest vegan food in the city
Open from 6am-9pm

Pros: Great for the price, got 5 for my overnight bus, Bunch of faux meat options, All vegan, and only 13000vnd for a banh mi

Cons: Could have been toasted

greenet09

Points +132

Vegan
02 Sep 2019

Good Banh Mi

Went here once at about 8:30 a.m. was open early. The next day we tried again (Saturday) but was not open.

Pros: Cheap

Dillon

Points +62

Vegan
20 Aug 2019

Absolutely delicious

Lovely woman working at the stall makes you an incredible Chay Banh with plenty of mock meats inside. We are vegan so we just asked for no cheese inside which is the only differentiating variable between the place being vegetarian and vegan. Costed 13k as well !!

Pros: Delicious, Super cheap (13k)

Cons: Offers plastic bags for the tiniest things

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Nha Trang Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Chay Banh Mi - Food Cart closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 18193 times.