CLOSED: Chaostheorie

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 108 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Find

Schliemannstraße 15, Berlin, Germany, 10437

Vegan cafe and cocktail bar est. 2013 and moved to this bigger space in 2016. Offers dishes like currywurst, pulled mushroom burger, cheese meatball sandwich, fries with dips, and house-made cakes. Big savory breakfast plate and pancakes are available on weekends; döner kebab on Thursday; 3-course dinner on Tuesday by reservation only. Drinks include coffee, tea, shakes, soft drinks, cocktails, beer and wine. Reported closed, Sep 2018.

Categories: Vegan, American, Western, Beer/Wine, Take-out, Bakery, Catering, European, Breakfast

108 Reviews

First Review by Arif

noodlepoodle

Points +70

Vegan
26 Jul 2018

Great cakes, good comfort food

We've been here for dinner once and it was delicious! Good vegan junk food. No beer on tap though. The cakes and other drinks (cocktails) were great. The café is a little dark inside, but very cozy. Plus the waitstaff is quite nice!

Pros: Good junk food, Good cocktails

Cons: Little dark, Little expensive

VegSebastian

Points +70

Vegan
17 Jul 2018

Comfortable and friendly

We were there on doner night and it was amazing! The seitan is delicious and the side order of fries was gigantic. We also had a “snickers” milkshake but wished we had saved room for cake because it looked so delicious!

Pros: Delicious , Friendly

stiku

Points +32

Mostly Veg
17 Jul 2018

Worthy of its reputation

Just wow! Such good food, nice staff and a cool atmosphere. Took my non veg dad here and he started asking a lot about substitutes for animal products, since he couldn’t believe it was so much alike what he’s used to eating. I had the schnitzel and dad the pizza buns, and for dessert the tiramisu. Every single thing was d e l i c i o u s! Note: the opening hours differed from what’s stated on this site/app :)

Pros: All vegan menu , Friendly staff, Delicious food

Cons: Too far from home ;)

Advertisement

LizzieWest

Points +480

Vegan
13 Jul 2018

Cool vibes. Amazing food.

Laid back, trendy atmosphere - had the Curry Wurst, Nachos and pizza rolls. Practically licked the plate. Highly recommend!

Tiggy

Points +10142

Vegan
02 Jul 2018

Good food but not amazing

This place was surprisingly empty when we came for dinner around 8:30pm on a Saturday. We ordered the Pulled Mushroom burger (€6,90) and the Wochenburger (€8,90 with fries and two dips), both of which were fine, although the schnitzel in the latter didn’t have great texture. The highlight was the chilli cheeze fries (€5,50 small size): delicious and full of flavour, a bit like nachos made with fries. I ordered an unadventurous G&T, which hit the spot, and my companion a nice spicy rum cocktail. I was a bit surprised that they arrived with plastic straws. Perfectly nice food but nothing out of the ordinary.

Pros: Great cheezy fries

LinnéaSöderlund

Points +123

Vegan
24 Jun 2018

Best milkshakes

Really awesome milkshakes and a very cosy place.

Pros: The shakes, Cosy

PattyB

Points +560

Vegan
22 Jun 2018

shakes and nachos

i want there already few times with my friends and we loved the shakes they serve. So we tried all of them, here is our opinion:
we didn't like the MannaManna as much as the others
Oreo is for the ones who like sweets and the Snickas is for the Peanut Butter lovers and the lovers of salted carmel.
I also ate once chills keese nachos, second nachos in my life and the better one the topping was delicious and with the cheese what made it even better. It wasn't so spicy so I was glad

Pros: Snickas, Oreo Shake, Nachos

AssafOhana

Points +76

Vegan
24 May 2018

this place sucks

Overpriced and the food is less than mediocre. The nachos are okay, but the meatball sandwich and the currywurst are so bad they will make you feel sad. One of the waiters was friendly but this older guy, maybe the manager or owner, was totally rude and just really weird. I recommend giving one of the many other vegan places in the area a try instead.

Pros: the nachos are okay

Cons: Overpriced, mediocre food and drinks, rude, nothin

MiaTorgersenKolrud

Points +23

Vegetarian
19 May 2018

Perfect!

Can’t believe it’s vegan! Lovely food And good drinks!

Pros: All vegan, Good drinks, Lovely staff

IngridPessoaBighetti

Points +110

Vegan
18 Apr 2018

Excelente atendimento e comida!

Além do ambiente ser ótimo, a comida é muito saborosa e o atendimento é excelente (o que é raro em Berlim haha).

DamjanGoldt

Points +90

Vegan
18 Mar 2018

Great Smoothies, Burgers & Pancakes

I really love this place. It has a chill atmosphere, nice staff, tasty food & drinks.

celesteonthego

Points +36

Vegan
10 Mar 2018

Delicious junk food & great drinks

I've been here 9 times so far and I loooove the food. Tried most of their dishes and cakes and wasn't ever disappointed. Brought some big-time meat eaters and didn't tell them it wa vegan - they didn't believe me when I told them that their 'cheeze meatballs' were vegan when they were done eating. It was great, they loved it and it completely changed their view on vegan food.

Not a big fan of the seating - cramped and not always comfortable to eat, but the awkward seating does add some charm to the atmosphere.

There's a photo booth, too, and they regularly host events (big dinners, magic shows, etc.). Books available, too. One of my fave places in Berlin.

Pros: Incredible junk food, Great drinks

Cons: Some of the seating isn't great for dinners, Staff is sometimes overwhelmed

Evyatar

Points +32

Vegan
05 Mar 2018

Awesome place

This bar is great!
I was greeted by a very warm and welcoming staff. The bar was only half full, but it's recommended to reserve a seat in advance. I had the double "meat" sandwich which was delicious and fries with two dips. I didn't know any good German beer, so the nicest waiter i met recommended one for me and it was very good. All together, i had a wonderful experience there mand i highly recommend going here.

DavidHearne

Points +82

Vegan
25 Feb 2018

Chilli chips are delicious!

We ordered Pancakes (nice), Chilli Chips (delicious and not spicy at all) and the meatball sandwich (average) with a couple of beers. Friendly, helpful staff, nice food, plenty of drinks on offer. All vegan and very good eating. Recommended.

Pros: Chilli chips! Go large!, Lots of alcoholic options, Friendly staff

Cons: A bit out of the way

Ofez

Points +98

Vegan
25 Feb 2018

Très bonne expérience !

Quelle chance de pouvoir déguster un chocolat chaud vegan agrémenté de marshmallows ! Ambiance cosy, service très sympathique, choix assez large de boissons fraîches, chaudes, cocktails, jus, etc...
Nous avons vu le serveur proposer à une cliente un énorme matelas pour son chien ainsi qu'une gamelle d'eau, les animaux sont donc les bienvenus et choyés !

Pros: Ambiance cosy et service sympathique, Large carte vegan, Animaux choyés

SkyFitzgerald

Points +1766

Vegan
23 Jan 2018

SO CUTE AND ACTUALLY MASSIVE!!

I got the 'small' chilli cheese fries (€5.50) option and it was still quite big! They cut the chips into little boat shapes to catch more toppings which I thought was an amazing idea!! I also got the oreo milkshake (€8.60) which tasted beautiful but it took about 20 mins to come out and also the price is ridiculous. I guess its probably because they used soy whipped cream etc etc.
The staff were super nice, we ended up sitting in there for about four hours!! Theres a photo booth and books and free stickers and a disco light in the bathroom! So cute!

Pros: Nice decorations etc, Great tasting food, Nice staff

Cons: Prices, I couldnt afford more than one milkshake , Gets busy

HappyOtter

Points +265

Vegan
22 Jan 2018

lovely bar, delicious food

Had my first currywurst here. There's a nice variety of food and drinks, the atmosphere is great, and the staff are lovely.

Would recommend for a date or small group.

Erdnussmus

Points +739

Vegan
13 Jan 2018

amazing breakfast

We tried the chai latte, hot chocolate, oreo shake, pancakes with different toppings and the savory breackfast plate. Everything was amazing!! They don't offer a lot of breackfast options (and only saturday and sunday), but I will definitely go there again, because it was just delicious. It's a really nice and dog friendly location :)

adaysc

Points +134

Vegan
11 Jan 2018

Cool place!

We tried different dishes and all were yummy. Also the cakes were beyond amazing. Sadly, we missed doner kebab night. Next time!

Pros: food quality

Frogalina

Points +560

Vegan
30 Nov 2017

great venue.

Kebab night - rest of menu not available on Thursday nights. Kebab and fries were very good. Tasty beer and delicious cocktails. Great value and friendly service. Toilets need a bit of attention- broken loo seat and overflowing waste paper bin.

blackoutrishi

Points +94

Vegan
23 Nov 2017

cool hip place!

The bartender was the nicest guy I ever met in my life! He gave me pretty good recommendations for the two times I went. I loved the pulled mushroom burger,
But not the double cheese meatball sandwich as much.

Pros: the pulled mushroom burger , the drinks

Anamarta

Points +128

Vegan
31 Oct 2017

Amazing bar,food,vibe,staff,decor..

I loved this place!!! The food was awsome, the vibe was great, the music well chosen, the staff very nice. I highly recommend. Went there again in 2017, still my favorite, although the menu changed and has less things

Pros: Vegan, delicious, with luck you can get a free sho

Cons: The kitchen closes early

vanche_s

Points +195

Vegan
16 Oct 2017

cool place, nice people!

super nice place, great friendly service..we tried 5 different cakes, basically all they had :), and they were crazy delicious! only one of us wasn't vegan, but he loved it so much, he ordered a 2nd piece of cake :))
i was so full, i couldn't get anything else from the menu, but i'll be back soon!
i have only one small recommendation - the cappuccino didn't look or taste like one - the coffee was bitter & the milk wasn't foamed well, it was more like coffee with some hot milk..

Pros: tasty food, nice service , cool vibe

Cons: could improve barista skills

Aroha

Points +39

Vegan
15 Oct 2017

very nice food and good prices

Everything was very tasty.

crazyliljess

Points +535

Vegan
21 Sep 2017

nice breakfast plate

We booked a table for Sunday to have breakfast there. When we arrived at the time they were surprised we were already there. We sat down at a table we wanted (there were no other people). Waitress was really refreshing and nice! She was honest and said that there's a little chaos because they have new owners with completely new staff and she never had the morning-shift before. But no problem - we ordered the breakfast plate which was awesome! After that we wanted something sweet so we tried the chocolate berry cake which seemed old (was already dry). I also ordered hot chocolate with whipped cream but the whipped cream tasted weird (hot chocolate was good!)

Pros: nice & refreshing waitress, breakfast plate is awesome!

Cons: cake was not fresh

MaxConway

Points +171

Vegan
17 Sep 2017

Lecker Fastfood, Preiswert und Freundlich

Gemütliches mittelgroßes veganes Restaurant. Wir hatten Currywurst, Hamburger und ein Meatball Käse Sandwich und waren sehr zufrieden. Portionen stimmten auch für den Preis.

MariaMjau

Points +51

Vegan
10 Sep 2017

bbbbreakfast

Chaostheorie makes my absolute favorite breakfast/brunch plate in Berlin! Generous amount of food and great value for money.
They've also got super lovely staff which is very refreshing in this city.


Updated from previous review on 2017-09-10

Pros: Tasty tasty food , Value for money, Great service

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Berlin Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Chaostheorie closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 44919 times.