• Chai Station - Vegetarian Indian

  • (37)
    20
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Vegan-friendly
Indian
Take-out

Freshly made-in-house vegetarian and vegan North and South Indian food, with over 20 clearly labeled vegan options on the menu. BYOB (Bring Your Own Bottle - alcohol). Jain food available on request. Also offers a menu for catering and delivery orders. Open Wed-Sat 17:00-22:00. Closed Sun - Tue.


Venue map for Chai Station - Vegetarian Indian
© OpenStreetMap contributors

37 Reviews

First Review by Hoggy

MarmiteHappy

Points +616

Vegan
06 Jan 2024

Friendly and cosy

Great food and Bobby is really helpful in suggesting and tailoring dishes.

Pros: Personal friendly service , Delicious dishes, Good prices

Advertisement

VegNev

Points +64

Herbivore
17 Aug 2023

Tasty food

Unusual dishes, very flavourful.
A friendly owner, Bobby, who gives advice about choices.
Different to a standard curry house.

Pros: Range of Dishes, Many vegan options

katieread8123

Points +16

Vegan
16 Mar 2023

Best Indian I’ve had

Best Indian food I have ever had !!! Everything is vegetarian and about 90% of the menu is also vegan! The service is also the friendliest you will ever receive, Bobby and his wife run an amazing business

Pros: Delicious food, Fully vegetarian , Friendly staff

Crusader

Points +48

Vegetarian
02 Nov 2022

Great experience

Vegan and gluten free authentic South Indian food with dosas on the menu.
Owner was very friendly and helpful with menu choices. Food cooked spicy as requested! Definitely recommended.

Pros: Tasty authentic food, Good portions , BYOB too

Cons: Nothing to dislike

billielange

Points +732

Vegan
27 Oct 2022

Great experience

Been here a couple of times, lovely food with great options and really great staff! Definitely recommend!

nigelballer

Points +63

Vegan
07 Sep 2022

Alway tasty

I’ve not been here since 2019 but it hasn’t changed. Still awesome.

Service was brilliant as before , very helpful with menu suggestions and of course all cooked perfectly.

I had cauliflower pakora to start and Aubergine and potato curry as a main. All very tasty.

I will return

Pros: Plenty of vegan options, Helpful advice , Park outside if you are lucky

Cons: Bobbie has stopped wearing his shiny shoes

RamonaHoward

Points +57

Vegan
02 May 2022

Great Indian

It was really nice to find an Indian restaurant with clearly marked vegan options and an owner (Bobby) who knew what he was talking about.

Pros: Plenty of vegan options, Big portion sizes, Friendly Staff

Cons: Food slightly too salty , Service a bit slow

Giseleimogen

Points +353

Vegan
01 Feb 2022

Great meal out on a budget

The owner was extremely friendly, and the food was delicious. You can BYOB which helps to make it an affordable dinner out.

Cons: Food took a while to come out

TigsManley

Points +271

Vegan
22 Oct 2021

Really lovely place and tasty food

Food was amazing. The owner is so lovely and friendly. They are really accommodating and there are lots of vegan options. Prices are good for the amazing food you get. Good portions.

faldinio

Points +165

Vegan
14 Oct 2021

Helpful host. Tasty food

Went based on HappyCow reviews, was not disappointed. Really helpful host suggested a few things for me as I was in a rush and needed takeout but then train was cancelled so able to change to eat in without issue.

Pros: Clearly labelled menu with loads of vegan options, Staff able to recommend dishes

NathanBower

Points +119

Vegan
09 Oct 2021

AMAZING FOOD!

Absolutely delicious, always get a ‘special’ starter from bobby as last time I got the spinach deep fried spice balls! Everything is super delicious and the host is so much fun! Be patient, don’t expect to finish and pay in 5 minutes haha

Pros: Best host

MyGosh

Points +16

Vegan
17 Jun 2021

Cannot wait to return!

Beautiful fresh authentic food, relaxing environment, attentive friendly staff.

The best food I've had in ages! I've struggled to find any vegan Indian food for a while now, and Chai Station did not disappoint!

Lots of choice, almost all the menu is vegan, and the vegetarian dishes can be made vegan at your request. The dishes can be made to your own custom spice level.

Bobby, the owner, made us feel very welcome, and also gifted us with fresh dhal puri to take home with us.
A very cosy, comforting tasty experience. I'm already planning my next visit!!

Pros: Friendly staff, relaxed casual environment. , Extremely tasty food. , Fantastic menu, really spoilt for choice.

agd3000

Points +369

Vegetarian
29 Aug 2020

Authentic and tasty

Dosa are a stand out here at this exclent Indian eatery. Great Dahl, gobi, and puri too.

Pros: Tasty food

Cons: Quite pricy for veggie food.

clareyeahyeah

Points +34

Vegan
29 Jul 2020

Vegan cakes!!

Absolutely brilliant! All vegetarian with loads of vegan options, Indian street food with vegan desserts too!!! Friendly staff and happy to adjust dishes to suit your needs, I fully recommend 👍🏼

GraceSnow

Points +674

Vegetarian
27 Jul 2020

Friendly & Tasty 3.5/5

A very friendly little place with some interesting and tasty dishes. We'd like to go back and try even more off the menu

GillyTilly

Points +28

Vegan
10 Feb 2020

Happy Monday

What a fabulous place, the food was spectacular. Tasty comforting delights.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: None

juliabliss

Points +70

Vegetarian
07 Feb 2020

Disappointing

Food was served on cold plates and wasn’t anything to rave about. The samosas were nice but the cauliflower pakoras tasted like they had been frozen, the panir kebabs were battered, deep fried and soggy. Popadoms and chapatis below the standard of most restaurants. Sorry to give a bad review but this place did not live up to the expectations given by the other reviews. Even booking wasn’t satisfactory: I asked for 7pm and they said we could come at 6.30 or 8.30. We went at 6.30 and the place was still only three quarters full when we left at 7.40.

Pros: Lots of choice, Entirely vegetarian , Friendly welcome

Cons: Mediocre food

Vegan.Paints

Points +172

Vegan
08 Jan 2020

A. M. A. Z. I. N. G!!!

A veggi establishment. Lots of yummy vegan food, packed full of flavours! Interesting regional dishes so it's definatley good if you like a little more variation. Gorgeous little independant resturant with an amazing funny owner, Bobby. Honest and spot on with flavour and vegan options are labelled clearly. Lots of vegetarian options too. Love it!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Clearly labelled, Delicious and interesting

samriley14

Points +20

Vegan
31 Dec 2019

Delicious!

The food was perfectly spiced to our taste and bursting with flavour. Bobby made us feel very welcome and we will definitely be returning.

Pros: Very vegan friendly

JoeScholes

Points +26

Vegan
20 Dec 2019

Good Food, Better Company!

Food was great but the owner Bobby is fantastic, it's an immersive experience for sure.

jimash

Points +147

Vegan
09 Sep 2019

Best ever

The food is amazing and the owner is hilarious

Pros: Delicious , Great selection, Hilarious owner

Cons: Can be difficult to park

Beatand2veg

Points +123

Vegan
02 Sep 2019

Great Indian Street Food with knowledgeable staff

We stumbled across Chai Station, while looking for food before going to a gig at The Live Rooms. A couple were leaving the restaurant as we were checking out the menu in the window, they commented how great the food was, so without further hesitation we gave it a go!

The menu is vegetarian with plenty of choice for vegans, which are all clearly marked. We were welcomed immediately by Bobby, probably the friendliest restauranteur we have come across! He was happy to discuss anything on the menu, and as all dishes are freshly made, was able to accommodate any requests on the level of spiciness etc. This is an Indian street food restaurant so not your typical Indian restaurant menu.

We started with the Vegetable Cutlet and the Madhu Vada, both of which were excellent with delicious sauces to accompany them. The Madhu Vada was a savoury donut, I have to say that's the first time I've had a donut as a starter, but it won't be the last!

For the mains we had Masala Dosa and the Bhindi Dal, it's impossible to choose a favourite, both were exceptionally good. There was several vegans cakes on the dessert menu, sadly we didn't have time to try them on this occasion.

We look forward to going back and working our way through the rest of the menu!

AlexMartin

Points +66

Vegan
23 Aug 2019

Amazing food

Great food, great service. Bobby will get you anything you want and cook to your taste. Several gluten free options too!

Pros: Food , Value, Staff

ccwmca

Points +32

Vegan
14 Jun 2019

Lovely!

Brilliant food, brilliant service, good prices. Lovely.

efcliz

Points +101

Vegan
28 May 2019

Great meal

Had a lovely meal here. All vegetarian with vegan food clearly labelled and the owner will advise if you need help choosing. Authentic Sooth Indian style street food. Take your own alcohol.

Pros: Delicious food, Helpful staff

AngelaMcIver

Points +19

Vegetarian
23 Dec 2018

Amazing

5 stars well deserved. Beautiful food..

CarrieAkhurst

Points +61

Vegan
24 Nov 2018

Best curries we’ve eaten

This has to be the best curry place to eat at, well priced but oh so flavoursome. Great variety of vegan options.

Pros: Lots of vegan dishes, clearly labelled on menu, Friendly staff, Well priced




This page has been viewed 9127 times.