Lacto
Indian
Delivery
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Casual, Indian street food. Menu offers many lacto-vegetarian items, with vegan and gluten-free options marked. Counter service, comfy booths. Food is served as small tapas-style dishes. Another outlet in Decatur. Open Mon-Sat 11:30am-3:30pm, Mon-Thu 5:00pm-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 5:30pm-10:30pm, Sun 12:30pm-3:30pm, 5:00pm-9:30pm.


Venue map for Chai Pani
© OpenStreetMap contributors

21 Reviews

First Review by cringer

MaryT

Points +386

Vegan
11 Nov 2023

Great flavors

There were not a lot of options so I had the Bhel Puri and loved it. It was strong on onions which I am okay with and had other delicious strong flavor. Other people in my group loved their (non-veg) lunches too. We were lucky with going at an off-time and we didn't have to wait in line to get in. btw this place was recommended to me by someone who frequents the Decatur location. Wish there had been more options.

Advertisement

sglcklch

Points +2815

Vegan
26 Jun 2023

Delicious but limited vegan options

We got takeout from here. Vegan options were pretty much limited to the snack items but what we did get was delicious. We loved the okra fries and the kale pakoras—they were so snackable! We also got the green mango chaat to lighten it up a little and the uttapam as a main dish of sorts. Prices were on the higher side but portions were generous. It's a popular spot so don't assume you'll get a table just because you arrive 30 minutes before they close (speaking from experience here 😅).

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-24

Pros: great food, hearty portions

Cons: could use more vegan options, pricey

Veganmouse

Points +800

Vegan
25 Jun 2023

Good food, lots of options

Separate menu with vegan options was appreciated. Service was great.

Kale pakora - tasty, though do prefer a variety of veg
Vegetable uttapam - good but not great. Decent portion size
Cholle curry with daal - nice plate of options with this. Included rice and pappadums
Pappadums - these were good, and weren't the lentil ones
Naan - vegetarian not vegan. Also fairly average, didn't taste like it was made in a tandoori oven.
Paratha - very good

nickelvolp

Points +28

Vegan
04 Jun 2023

Delicious, could use more vegan options

This place was great. Wish they had vegan mains like they do with the butter chicken plate, but the stuff we had was really interesting and delightful. Tons of flavors and textures, our favorites were the bhel puri and okra fries.

Pros: Delicious, Good service, Nice ambiance

Cons: Expensive, Could do with more vegan options

ElissaBVegan

Points +2325

Vegan
08 Jul 2021

Beautiful and Delicious!

Dazzling food! Almost too beautiful to eat. Lots vegan options. We were lucky because our waitress was vegan and gave us fabulous suggestions and recommendations. Especially loved the Green Mango Chaat and Bhel Puri.

Pros: Absolutely delicious and gorgeous food, Lots of vegan options , Friendly service, cheerful atmosphere

Lauralei

Points +536

Vegan
13 Sep 2020

Limited vegan options

Very limited vegan options. What we had was good but not great, and expensive for the portion size. Maybe that was because we got take-out? Not sure.

Pros: Food was good

Cons: Long wait time, Few vegan options, better for vegetarians

kgrass

Points +16

Vegan
24 Feb 2020

Five stars

Forget Happy Cow and their forced four star rating. I don’t care if the restaurant has some meat on the menu. They deserve five stars.

The vegan and vegetarian choices are amazing. Fantastic food, great service, as reasonable prices. Go there, you won’t be disappointed!

Pros: Variety, Fresh ingredients , The whole package

Cons: None

chelsea.elle13

Points +447

Vegan
23 Feb 2020

Great vegan options

Ask for the allergens menu to see the vegan and gluten-free options. Very pleased with the choices and great food and service.

I wish the Golden Milk was made without honey, but otherwise no complaints.

Pros: Vegan options , Gluten-free options

Lomky

Points +621

Vegan
14 Apr 2019

Tasty Fried Veggies!

Delicious uttapam and pakoras. They have explicit options marked out on the default menu, and a special diets menu that has customize options to make things vegan by swapping out sauces.

francofille

Points +94

Non Veg
05 Mar 2019

Good for all types of eaters

Ask for the separate menu if you have food sensitivity etc. and be sure to tell the server you would like the modified dish. The smell alone in the restaurant is amazing and likewise flavors are great. Okra fries for sure!

ilovetoeatveggies

Points +221

Vegan
10 Feb 2019

The best Indian in the region

Crave worthy deliciousness that does not disappoint. My fav is to order the chick peas and veg stew with a side of rice. But I’ve had nearly every veggie option! Cocktails and beers are good too!

Pros: So darn good

Cons: Can be very busy and you have to wait 😫

13RUN5

Points +206

Vegan
15 May 2018

Excellent vegan options.

Excellent vegan option. The veggie uttapam & okra fries are incredible. Sorry I couldn’t make it 5 stars. Plus offers Shiva IPA. 👍

Cons: L

hellojessiejo

Points +119

Vegan
06 Dec 2017

Yum!

I'm from Atlanta and love eating at Chai Pani in Decatur! This location was just as delicious as the Decatur location. I loved the vegan special of the day and my wife was able to get the meat she was craving. I love the family style plates and the creative drinks. There are plenty of vegan AND vegetarian options!

lmop

Points +106

Vegan
07 Mar 2017

Pretty good food, pretty small portions

My girlfriend and I ate here for dinner while on vacation in Asheville. If you ask, they'll give you a "special diets" menu, which lists everything they offer that's automatically vegan as well as dishes that can be made vegan with a few substitutions, and that's nice. Their food is pretty good, although not super spicy (good for me, probably not good for actual Indian people who like their spice). Portions were pretty small for the price. Gf and I split the mixed veggie uttapam and the samosa chaat. Neither one was really big enough for a full meal despite both being about $10, and afterwards I had to eat a granola bar to really feel full. Still, I liked the food, and I definitely would go again if I knew I'd be getting bigger portions of it.

Pros: Friendly/knowledgeable staff, Tasty food

Cons: Small portions , Bit pricy

Rgarb003

Points +88

Vegan
22 Jul 2016

Delicious!

The food here is amazing! The menu is clearly marked for vegan and vegetarian and they are willing to modify things that aren't regularly vegan so that they are. Atmosphere is nice and the staff are friendly. They are even environmentally friendly, charging a small fee for take away in order to be able to use environmentally friendly containers. My boyfriend said that this was the best Indian food that he has had in America. Would give it five stars if I could!

PixieMel

Points +740

Vegan
22 May 2016

A delight for your taste buds!

Their food is so delicious. There was an explosion of flavor in my mouth. My mom and I ordered quite a bit so we could try an array of their vegan offerings. We enjoyed everything we got. In the future, I probably wouldn't order a samosa due to it being a bit spendy for only 1. However, the other vegan apps would make for a great meal due to their size. They also offer free refills for tea. Some places don't, so I was happy to see that they do here.

Pros: Plenty of vegan options, Organic black tea , Great service

Cons: Parking

rickyboy

Points +35

Mostly Veg
15 Apr 2015

great indian!

enjoyed their cooking a handful of times and have been thoroughly satisfied each and every time.

WNCVeggie

Points +503

Vegan
30 Jan 2015

Good Restaurant but Not Great for Vegans

This restaurant has good food and some yummy cocktails at a decent price for the most part. Options for vegans are very limited. Decent amount of options for vegetarians.

Pros: Location, Good Value

Cons: Parking Not Easy , Limited Vegan Options

tgif66

Points +43

Vegan
13 Sep 2010

I likey

I've been to Chai Pani a few times now. The food is usually pretty good. I bought the Veg Thali my first time there... tasty but I wouldn't call it cheap at $11. Last time I got the Dal and Rice and it was quite bland and unfilling. In India you would get a ton of food for $5 but here it's just a little scoop lol. The Bel Puri was really good. In all it's worth a stop and great vegan choices.

Pros: Vegan Friendly

Cons: Portions are small

navski

Points +122

Vegan
20 Jan 2010

good, cheap, tasty, different

Very inexpensive, tasty Southern Indian and various Indian snack foods. Contrary to what the reviewer below says, this place is actually owned by an Indian (and his non-Indian wife), but it's different from the other Indian restaurants in town, which serve exclusively Northern Indian cuisine. This food isn't the more familiar stews and curries, but there's a simple, nice thali plate (typical South Indian dish), which you can't find anywhere else in town and various other authentic Indian treats and some hybrids like the fries with Indian spices. What's great is that so much of the menu is vegetarian and a lot is vegan. Although it might be an unfamiliar style of Indian food, I find this fresher and tastier than the other options around here.

Pros: interesting veg options, cheap, tasty

cringer

Points +96

Vegan
26 Dec 2009

Mediocre Indian Food

This place is VERY cute and the staff is friendly but the food was very bland. There are items marked vegan on the menu which is cool.

You can tell an Indian family does not own this restaurant because it does NOT taste authentic at all. They have these fries that were pretty good though. But, this place is very, very cheap. It is almost too good to be true! It's worth going to, but if you want kick *ss Indian food, go to India Garden or Mele. This is more of a place to go because you don't want to go to Taco Bell. Don't bring family or out-of-towners here.

Pros: CHEAP, cute atmosphere, friendly staff

Cons: bland food




This page has been viewed 7101 times.