Bakery

Gluten free bakery and café offering some vegan cakes, pastries and raw desserts, as well as some non-vegan hot dishes. Open Mon-Sun 09:00-22:00.


Venue map for Celicioso Barquillo
© OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by FlokiTheCat

LeFunks

Points +8198

Vegan
09 Nov 2021

Super classy

Same options as in their outlet in c/Hortaleza but in a much quiter, roomier and classier café. Average price for a piece of cake is 3,50€ and there's a pretty decent range of vegan options (baked and raw), all properly labelled. Staff was really nice and service was quick. If you're in the area, avoide the café in c/Hortaleza and head for this one instead (it's a 5 minutes walk).

Pros: you won't belive baked cakes are gluten free, super roomy and classy café

Cons: A bit expensive, Raw cake we ordered was so-so

Advertisement

raelo

Points +693

Vegan
28 Apr 2021

Yey

This is a chain, and a wonderful one, there are some bakerys like this one in Madrid and other parts of Spain. The price is a bit high, but i was very happy due to the quality, and vegan bakerys are still a bit hard to find in Madrid, so this is your option for sweet treats. There is another one, very close to Gran vía, in calle hortaleza, dunno why its not listed anylonger. Not everything is vegan, but there are many things and clearly labeled. Check my full reviews on my Youtube channel Israel V trips:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXwbMyRRxlF72vFDlR_skdQ

Updated from previous review on 2018-04-16

martint

Points +7560

Vegan
04 Aug 2019

Several vegan options

They have some vegan cakes. They are good, but unfortunatelly all of them have chocolate and for me, they have the same flavour. They also offer som raw cakes, but I did not try any.

KarlaDaniela

Points +98

Vegan
11 Jul 2019

Very nice gluten free bakery

They have some good vegan options like lasagna crudivegana, burger and my favorite the spice tofu bowl.

Pros: Nice staff, Pet friendly , Cozy

Cons: Is not totally vegan , Slow service

KayClover

Points +57

Vegetarian
13 Mar 2019

Worth visiting if in Madrid.

Lovely place to relax and enjoy good gluten free food with plenty of vegetarian and vegan options. Yes, you do have to make it clear to staff with not so good English if you are vegan and question ingredients, but that was not a problem. Ended up returning here for several meals while in Madrid as I knew I could trust the ingredients. Mouthwatering vegan deserts and cakes. Vegan pancakes especially good. Lovely decor and ambience.

Pros: Lovely decor

bmb86

Points +55

Mostly Veg
26 Feb 2019

Very slow stuff

Came with some friends and we waited ages before get a place for eat then the waiters were extremely slow, they also forget twice to bring the food of one of my friends... food quite simple for what I expected according to the price

eiaam

Points +343

Vegan
16 Feb 2019

Extremely slow service

The food was delicious. Many vegan and raw vegan options. I had the raw vegan lasagna and it was delicious.

However, the slow service is a problem. I don’t mind waiting a bit, especially since it was relatively crowded, but I spent at least an hour total waiting to order. When I was waiting to order dessert, one of the staff members who was on their break had to text their coworkers to come take my order because I had been waiting for so long. Even when I waved at the waiters they didn’t come. It ruined the whole mood.

I would come again for the food but next time I’ll take it to go so I don’t have to put up with the waiting.

Pros: Many vegan options, Great food, Nice cosy atmophere

Cons: Extremely long waiting time

CrisAlis

Points +78

Vegan
06 Jan 2019

Be careful with the vegan options

It has some nice VEGAN options: pasta, burger, sandwich.
But be careful: they brought us NON-VEGAN mayo and parmigiano to our full vegan dishes.
Sorry, but this is a NO WAY.
Plus: Location is very nice and staff very friendly.
Hopefully more vegan options in the future.

avocado_jess

Points +2730

Vegan
10 Nov 2018

Lovely lunch

We had a lovely lunch here. I had the raw vegan lasagne with pesto and brother had the vegan pasta dish listed on menu as ‘healthy’. The pasta was delicious. The pesto and sundried tomatoes on lasagne were tasty. The savoury menu is more extensive here than at the other branch, and lots of vegan options. Fresh juice was delicious. Very attentive staff.

Pros: Delicious food, Lovely staff

FlokiTheCat

Points +882

Vegan
03 Jan 2018

Way too sweet for me

Celicioso offers a selections of gluten-free vegan cakes (including some raw vegan cakes).

The two vegan cakes we tried (black velvet and triple chocolate) were very similar, the only difference being the top layer. Both were way too sweet for my taste but they were nice otherwise, being quite flavorful.

Cons: Way too sweet




This page has been viewed 3290 times.