• Cavens Arms

  • (7)
    1
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Beer/Wine
British
Scottish
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Omnivorous real ale pub serving pub grub but with a separate vegan menu. Open Mon-Tue 11:00-23:00, Wed-Sat 11:00-00:00, Sun 11:00-23:00.


Venue map for Cavens Arms
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by Wiggedywotsit

Bramblemouse

Points +21

Vegan
17 Aug 2022

Best vegan menu in town

It's great being able to order off a vegan menu that has variety - not just having to resort to a single offering, or having to ask for a 'special' vegan meal. Garlic mushroom starter was delicious, and the burger, & curry, main meals were tasty & hearty. Burger seemed homemade and had a lovely chunky texture. Service was very polite & attentive. We're locals and will certainly be going back.

Pros: Separate vegan menu, Friendly, attentive staff

Advertisement

leadolly

Points +331

Vegan
09 Aug 2022

Lovely food

Very tasty burger and chips which seemed homemade. They have a vegan menu with a range of starters, mains, and desserts. Staff very attentive.

Pros: Vegan menu, Friendly and attentive staff

Cons: Meat-heavy menu

WendiWendi

Points +39

Vegan
24 May 2022

Really enjoy coming here

I love the separate menu AND the fact I could have asked for something different. Staff lovely and a very warm welcome. Been twice and coming back in June

Pros: Lots of vegan dishes , Home made, Great choices

Cons: Smell of meat dishes around me, Not another one in Glasgow

weegievegan

Points +447

Vegan
27 Jun 2021

Really tasty

A separate vegan menu with one starter, 4 mains and 2 desserts. We tried the mushroom, pea and broccoli tikka masala and the burger, and shared. Really yummy! Nice to be able to visit somewhere with our fussy omnivorous family (not nice to sit amongst meat being served obviously, but needs must, just mean that it's rare to find somewhere to appeal to us both). Dog friendly outside in the beer garden.
Had fudge cake for dessert. Cake tasted like the supermarket "just love" one - not a criticism at all, just a comparison. Ice cream didn't have much flavour but was still pleasant!

Updated from previous review on 2021-06-27

Pros: Separate vegan menu, Dog friendly

Alyson

Points +751

Vegan
16 Nov 2019

Pub grub on vegan menu

Very friendly staff, served quickly, and vegan menu had 2 starters, 4 mains, and 2 desserts. Had the bean gumbo which was nice, other person had the tikka massala which was good and came with lovely sauteed potatoes and a pitta bread. Decided against a starter as they were £7. Mains were £10. Not wow/amazing but good if you need somewhere to go and open most of the day/evening.

Pros: Always has vegan menu, Friendly staff

Cons: Serves meat & fish

ac1111

Points +20

Vegan
11 Nov 2019

friendly pub with vegan menu and good service

Great pub with cheerful atmosphere, fairly unexciting but hearty vegan pub menu - had bean chilli, gumbo, chips (fried in same oil as fish so not on vegan menu) and shared a hot chocolate fudge cake with ice cream.
Attentive table service.
~£10 for a main
~£5.50 for pudding
P.S. cleanest toilets I've ever seen in a pub.

Wiggedywotsit

Points +19

Vegetarian
11 Feb 2018

Great pub

This is a lovely pub I have eaten in a few times. It now has a vegan menu with a number of tasty options - not only available with advance notice as stated. Friendly and helpful staff and hearty portions. Definitely recommend.




This page has been viewed 2245 times.