• Castle Inn

  • (11)
    4
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Beer/Wine
British
Welsh
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Traditional Welsh pub but offering vegan options, such as sweet potato chilli, salad and nachos, Mexican bean burger, aubergine canelloni with vegan cheese Open Mon-Thu 12:00-00:00, Fri-Sat 11:00-01:00, Sun 11:00-00:00.


Venue map for Castle Inn
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by harlekwin42

healthie.veggie

Points +1947

Vegan
10 Aug 2022

Sweet little pub

A nice place to go when holidaying in Newport. Food is nice and service is good.

Advertisement

aswa

Points +24

Vegan
30 Sep 2021

Good pub

Nice, friendly pub, good atmosphere. The portion sizes were good, the vegan sunday cauliflower roast was very tasty but there was no protein served with the meal

Caitlin27

Points +24

Vegan
26 Aug 2021

Lovely food and lovely service

Lots of different vegan options, we opted for the tofish and chips with a side of onion rings, food was really nice and the service was spot on. Great outdoor seating and dog friendly. Will definitely be back!

Pros: Lush food, Lovely service , Large outdoor seating area

jillybeth

Points +50

Vegan
20 Jul 2021

Vegan Sunday lunch

Fab little traditional pub in Fishguard
With a lovely beer garden (and covid safe beer-car park!) We visited on Sunday lunch so they were very busy but plenty vegan options available even a full vegan Sunday roast. The pie and sides I had was delicious and very filling. Onion rings were homemade and superb. All round a great place to go for a proper bit of pub grub

Pros: Sunday lunch, Delicious homemade onion rings

Cons: Service was slow but covid + summer = fair enough

JBeardsmore

Points +148

Vegan
27 Jun 2021

Good pub good location

Good pub food with vegan options (and on Sunday a vegan roast, althogh I didn't try). Would be 4* but food was quite expensive for what you get

ejtrittonhalls

Points +295

Vegan
08 Oct 2020

Excellent vegan options

Lovely to see so many vegan options in a traditional pub in a small town in Wales. At time of visiting there were four vegan options for main course at dinner. We had the vegan chilli with vegan cheese and also tofish and chips with vegan tartare sauce, both were great. Service fantastic also.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

veganark

Points +168

Vegan
13 Aug 2020

A gem!

We have just visited, and I was amazed at the choices on the menu. Eventually decided to have the jackfruit and bean chilli, which didn’t disappoint! This is a gem of a place and very friendly. If you are vegan and travelling through north Pembrokeshire do not pass by!

Pros: Excellent vegan choices!, Friendly staff, Reasonable prices

Cons: None

Jessthetics

Points +138

Vegan
04 Sep 2019

Nice food but expensive

At the time I visited there were 3 vegan mains available - the tofu burger, battered tofu and chips or a quinoa salad. The burger was tasty but just lettuce and tofu inside the bun so I asked for vegan cheese, which meant the burger cost £17. The staff were lovely though and it’s treat to have clearly labelled options in a traditional pub like this.

Pros: Tasty food, Friendly staff, Vegan cheese

Cons: Expensive , Limited choice

susiejo

Points +90

Vegan
16 Mar 2019

Tasty food

Only a couple of vegan options but food was good. Had sweet potato chilli. Very rich and gooey vegan chocolate brownie which was yummy. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only three stars due to slightly limited vegan menu options not quality of food.

Pros: Relaxed, friendly place. Reasonably priced.

Cons: Not a lot of vegan choice for starter or dessert

ShaunCunningham

Points +90

Vegan
18 Aug 2018

Great vegan options!

Awesome choice for the area. Battered Tofu & Chips was great. Lovely staff. Nice vibe. Book in advance if you can.

harlekwin42

Points +332

Vegetarian
15 Apr 2018

friendly Inn with interesting Vegan menu

new managers are very interested in creating at least 2 vegan options for each course of their menu. They are keen to learn and very open to suggestions. Very vegan aware in terms of what can be present in a meal. Vegan options include aubergine cannelloni stuffed with quinoa, sweet potato chilli with nachos and salad. Food is tasty and not the usual pub vegan choices! Friendly staff, nice atmosphere

Pros: vegan aware staff, good choice for main course, very friendly

Cons: at the time of my visit they had no vegan desert




This page has been viewed 1498 times.