Cape Fruit

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 9 reviews )

Serves meat, vegan options available. Est. 2013 an Italian run cafe offering vegetarian, vegan, and fish. On the menu are breakfast items, fruit salads, salads, sandwiches, and smoothies. Colorful courtyard seating. May be a wait at peak meal time. Open Mon-Sun 8:00am-4:00pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Ovo, Western, Juice bar, Breakfast, Non-veg

9 Reviews

First Review by Maritseetkamer

HappyHeather

Points +315

Vegan
15 Jan 2020

Plastic takeaway cup & straw

We strolled past and popped in for a smoothie. They only do soya milk as a dairy free option - not organic - and so I opted for a juice instead. The mango juice (5 euros) was lovely but they served it in a plastic takeaway cup with a plastic straw!! Cape Verde has no recycling in place so very upset about that.
We won’t be back.

Pros: Use fresh fruit

Cons: Expensive , Uses plastic! , Not very friendly

dianamartins

Points +36

Vegan
21 Sep 2019

Nice Place

One vegan sandwich and lots of smoothies

AVeganVisit.com

Points +155

Vegan
13 Apr 2018

Popular, colourful & friendly!

Cape Fruit is a great little cafe, located at the far end of Santa Maria - an easy walk along the beach front gets you there in about 10 mins.

It is set back from the road with comfy colourful sofas and straw umbrellas offering welcome shade from the baking morning sun.

It is a very popular place and was crammed to the rafters with both visitors and locals. The staff are friendly and smartly dressed, and it is a cosy and relaxed place to eat.

Despite the name, the menu is a mixture of sweet and savoury foods, both vegan and non-vegan.

The roasted vegetable sandwich was HUGE (and I only went for a 1/2!) and it was full to the brim with an assortment of veggies. It was a tasty lunch but not the best I’ve ever had.

I also opted for the strawberry, banana and coconut smoothie, which might just have been the best I'd ever had! I had it with soya milk and it was really delicious - thick, creamy and sweet!

Pros: Friendly, Relaxed atmosphere, Good smoothies

Cons: It can get quite busy

Advertisement

AnnikaHN

Points +33

Vegan
12 Jan 2018

Maybe once or twice..

Wonderful smoothies. But only 1 vegan option in the card. It is a vegan sandwich with hummus and grilled veggies. Not too impressive. I asked if they have more vegan options and the answer was no.

Pros: Smoothies, Atmosphere and deco

Cons: 1 vegan option, Expensive, Staff not very friendly

LauraMathieson

Points +71

Vegan
05 Jan 2018

ok’ish

We didn’t have to wait long to get served, the staff were friendly and helpful as they could manage. The vegan options were very limited. The salad was so so, and there is not gluten free bread or wraps.

Pros: colourful , friendly service , outdoor seating option

Cons: you will still be hungry if you are gluten free, FLIES

245199

Points +48

Vegan
12 Dec 2017

A nice place

The vibe is very relaxed, the staff are friendly. Unfortunately there just aren't that many vegan options. I had a hummus sandwich with grilled vegetables, and while it was nice, I felt like it was a little overpriced for what it was. The fresh juice was very nice.

Pros: Nice vibe , Friendly staff

Cons: Not that many vegan options, A bit expensive for what it is

vellagre

Points +172

Vegan
27 Nov 2017

Good Option for Vegans

The food is excellent and they will adjust their menu according to your vegan wishes.

Juolukka

Points +129

Vegan
31 Mar 2017

Excellent juices

I only saw one clearly vegan meal on the menu, but I guess you can ask about the other meals to be veganized. The patio is lovely and the selection of smoothies and juices is excellent (as well as the taste).

Pros: delicious juices and smoothies, cozy terrace

Cons: not many vegan meal options on the menu

Maritseetkamer

Points +60

Vegan
04 Sep 2016

Cape Verdean Pearl

The only place in Santa Maria were they serve a good vegetarian (and vegan) lunch. All freshly prepared. Lots of fruit and vegetable juices to choose from. And they serve local beer and a beautiful Cape Verdean wine too. All set on a very pleasant terrace with lots of shade and very colour full in the style of the island. The Italian lady running the place understands the business wel: such a shame they don't do dinner! By far the best place in Santa Maria.


Updated from previous review on 2016-09-04

Pros: excellent food, good portions good value, great choices

Cons: please do dinner too

spendabel

22 Dec 2016

By Valerie also have good vegan options, open all day

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Santa Maria Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Cape Fruit closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2852 times.