Vegan
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Mexican
Peruvian

Mexican cantina and bar with plant-based menu inspired by Mexican fusion cuisine, and also including Peruvian fusion flavours. Menu includes sharing plates and tacos, as well as a tasting menu and a set Chef's Creation menu on Thursday evenings. Fully licensed with Diablo Pisco bar serving beer, wine and cocktails, specialising in tequila and Peruvian pisco. Open Tue-Thu 6:00pm-10:00pm, Fri-Sat 5:30pm-11:00pm. Closed Sun-Mon.


Venue map for Calle Rey
© OpenStreetMap contributors

27 Reviews

First Review by chrisford67

EmiEats

Points +410

Vegan
21 Oct 2023

Like Mexican fusion fine dining

We had the 5 course set menu and all the dishes were packed full of flavour and the mocktail was lovely. The dessert was yummy. Customer service by the waiting hosts was A .

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-21

Pros: Fantastic customer service , Filling dishes from the set menu, Nice dinner vibe

Cons: Have to book a reservation, no walk ins, Little pricey but fair, Not opened for lunch

Advertisement

isma.glz

Points +274

Vegetarian
02 Sep 2023

Excellent restaurant

The entire menu is gluten-free and plantbased! The food was very tasty, I’ll be back next time I’m in Sydney!

chatreuse

Points +2240

Vegan
22 Aug 2023

3.5 stars: some delish tacos

Tried one of every taco (minus the felafel taco) for Taco Tuesday, it was a great way to sample everything I wanted.
My favourites were the eggplant taco (eggplant cubes were nicely breaded and fried), California roll taco, and the calamari taco (which had togarashi sprinkled on it, giving it a lovely bit of kick).
The crispy maki furai roll was also very enjoyable.
Everything had a little too much rich sauce on them, I would have liked the flavour of the fresh ingredients to come through a bit more.

Pros: Cool ambiance, Friendly staff

LeighEats

Points +114

Vegan
25 Jun 2023

Great food!

Nearly every dish we tried from the set menu was delicious, but the prawn taco was lacking in flavour compared to the rest of the dishes. The drinks were amazing and the waitress we had was friendly and attentive.

We didn't love being asked to tip by a staff member when paying, though. If anything, it left us feeling a bit put out and felt as though it was expected.

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-25

Pros: The food , The drinks , The atmosphere

Cons: Pressure to tip

Plantfoods

Points +33

Vegan
13 Jun 2023

Absolutely fantastic

Best vegan sushi

Pros: Great sushi, Great tacos , Great service

Cons: Manager not super friendly , Closed on Sunday

GrayHorwitz

Points +1659

Vegan
09 Jun 2023

Inventive tacos, but lacking in other areas

tasty food, fishbowl margaritas and great vibe, but a couple issues; the Japanese set menu isn’t enough food, pressuring for tips, and not fixing wrong orders..

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-07

veganvirtues

Points +2748

Raw
08 Jun 2023

Calle Rey

I had buffalo wings, fable carnitas tacos finished with Mexican choc brownie 3 pieces topped with toasted coconut and coconut icecream. The whole lot was soo delicious. Had a drink of a mocktail of strawberry puree, pineapple juice and coconut cream. Bill $46. Worthy of a HC sticker but have no more.

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-08

Pros: Excellent service, Totally plant based, Extensive cocktails and beers

vic.kynda

Points +146

Vegan
18 May 2023

Delicious taco experience

The food and drinks menu is extensive here and everything I've tried so far was scrumptious and so delicious! Bar and wait staff are very friendly and it feels like a super friendly environment to dine at. I would love a better fitting music for the vibe (they were mostly playing 80s-90s American pop songs).

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-18

Pros: Portion sizes, So tasty!, Friendly service

Cons: Music and lighting could be improved

spise01

Points +929

Vegan
10 May 2023

Amazing

The CHURROS oh my god and the corn were incredible. Mushroom taco also great, maki roll was good but too much ‘crab/fish’ in the middle for my taste. The workers are also very nice

aa97

Points +553

Vegan
30 Apr 2023

Always great

Food is always amazing. I have never had anything that tastes bad there. Highly recommend

Tiggy

Points +15165

Vegan
09 Apr 2023

Crowd pleaser

Having had a great experience at the other Mexican street food restaurant on King Street, I was keen to see what this one was like. We ordered the set menu and I made a point of ordering pisco cocktails, since this was the bar’s specialty. The atmosphere was fairly unremarkable. Drinks and food came out very quickly and it was nice not to have to wait around. The smoked chicken nachos were nice but but the most substantial nachos I’ve ever shared. The charred corn was deliciously messy in the way one would expect. The cauliflower wings were fine but unexciting with a crowd-pleasing sweet sauce. The tacos we chose - carnitas and chicken adobo - were both tasty but super sloppy and (more than typically) hard to eat, to the extent it detracted from the experience. As a rule, tacos are only small, so you need to make that brief gustatory event a good one. We chose the churros for dessert and they were drenched in dense syrup but still quite delicious. I’d been a bit worried it wouldn’t satisfy my big appetite, but it was enough. Staff were polite and in studiously intrusive. I’d come back to try out the rest of the menu, and a couple of different cocktails.

Pros: Quick service, Generally decent food

Cons: Soggy tacos

Joe_86

Points +24

Vegan
08 Apr 2023

Incredible

The set menu was outstanding. 10 out of 10.

Pros: Vegan and gluten free

bfeitosa

Points +4974

Vegan
23 Mar 2023

Absolutely obsessed with their taco tasting menu!

Great tacos, great drinks, not a huge fan of the other tasting menus because everything's fried. Still, my partner loved the 5-spice brownie, and he's never liked vegan brownies before, so cheers to that. The taco tasting menu, on the other hand, has all the taco options for 35, with very generous portions. Highlights: smoked chicken, mushroom adobo, fried calamari, and the California roll. The other ones taste pretty good as well, but these just blew my mind, especially the calamari (I had low expectations) and the adobo mushroom. Chill atmosphere, friendly staff, decent price, amazing taste. Highly recommend this place.

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-15

Pros: Great taste, Creative options, Decent price

Cons: The other tasting menus are all fried food

TBR

Points +356

Vegan
07 Mar 2023

Delicious

Really enjoyed the variety of flavors and textures. Quite filling but very light too. The rules for ordering were pretty confusing - you could not order certain combinations of things - they want people to have a "shared experience."

Pros: All vegan , Delicious

Cons: Not super cheap but not the worst 🙂, Rules for ordering were pretty confusing

MichaelaBone

Points +170

Vegan
13 Oct 2022

rolled home after eating !!!

ate the set menu with a fellow vegan and an omni and they were very pleasantly surprised !
so many elements to it and with a few margs I was soo full leaving!

Pros: great atmosphere, lovely waitstaff, pretty cheap too!!

RicAllport

Points +152

Vegan
16 Jul 2022

Wow!

This place is incredible! The food is superb. The atmosphere is very cool. Prices are great. Legendary cocktails! All wonderfully vegan 🌱

Pros: Great food , Great atmosphere , Lovely staff

patito8796

Points +41

Vegetarian
23 May 2022

Favorite among favorites

I love it, everytime we go we find a new dish we love.

Pros: Completely vegan menu, Drinks are also vegan but taste like the originals

EllaKennedy

Points +45

Vegan
19 Feb 2022

Friendly staff, nice atmosphere and delicious food!

One of the best vegan restaurants in Newtown! It’s not as busy as other vegan places on King street so it is a bit of a hidden gem

Pros: All plant based menu, Delicious tacos, Good cocktail selections

VivaWang

Points +50

Vegan
27 Mar 2021

Amazing food with great value, innovative and friendly

For $28 per person, it comes with set menu with 7 items. All of them are packed with flavour and just enough portion.

I like how innovative they are in terms of updateing their menu. I really don't mind not having to choose from the menu.

I mean in a way, it shows their confidence in food and in a way reduce food wastage.

If you are worried that's not enough food, get their huge size of cocktail!

jorocket

Points +86

Vegan
10 Jan 2021

Nice flavours, but left hungry

The flavours were nice however the portions were small and we left hungry. One course was few slices of cucumber 😅
Not suitable to go with children.
It’s a place to have drinks and something small to eat...
The stuff was very nice.

Pros: Everything is vegan, Lovely flavours

Cons: Small portions

RosePower

Points +58

Vegan
05 Dec 2020

AMAZING FOOD, extremely friendly and helpful staff. Great price.

The food is amazing and can’t get over how great the price is. I’ve been twice and I’ll definitely go back many more times.

Pros: All vegan, Delicious food, great price , Super friendly staff

dazedkiwi

Points +710

Vegan
08 Aug 2020

Amazing set menu

Really enjoyed the set menu. Loads of food for our group of three. Highlight was the tacos and the chocolate brownie!

Pros: Set menu so no need to order, Lots of variety, Yum mocktails

vegeTARAian

Points +358

Vegetarian
25 Jul 2020

Good food, short sittings

Interesting dishes loaded with flavour. Great drink menu - but unfortunately the short sittings don’t give you much time to sit back and have a few drinks.

Pros: All vegan, All gluten free, Very affordable

Cons: Short sittings

andreatho

Points +90

Vegan
20 Jun 2020

Great tasting food

Amazing flavours and excellent service!

Pros: Best cauliflower wings in the city

Cons: The tacos were a bit boring

Be_kindness

Points +159

Vegan
17 Jan 2020

Yes! Delicious, beautifully presented, big portions!

I am always SO happy when another vegan restaurant opens up.
And even happier when the food is this good!
The service was amazing. Great atmosphere. And buzzing.
Delicious Margaritas too.
This place is a must.

SadBearSoup

Points +118

Vegetarian
22 Dec 2019

Delicious!

Just when I thought we had a lot of options in Newtown, this gem comes a lot! I loved the buffalo wings, and took full advantage of their happy hour. Can’t wait to go back

Pros: Delicious, Well priced, Easy to share

chrisford67

Points +253

Vegan
08 Nov 2019

Amazing vegan Mexican(ish)

Tequila specialist bar (although I had a Moscow Mule) that also has a wonderful menu of small plates, sharing plates and tacos.

We had the buffalo wings which are to do for, although not spicy if that's what you are expecting, and a couple of tacos (duck and the Portobello mushroom).

Will definitely be back




This page has been viewed 9472 times.