CLOSED: Cafe V

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
  • ( 60 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Find

Lausitser Platz 12, Berlin, Germany, 10997

German-style dishes but with tofu and seitan. Has menu in English. A pizza cost approximately on average 7.50euros. Reported August 2010 to longer serve fish. Reported closed August 2020. Hours are flexible - call ahead.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, Beer/Wine

60 Reviews

First Review by atandt

MisterSowers

Points +76

Vegan
15 Feb 2020

Yes. Yes Yes Yes.

I was in Hamburg this morning. Now I am here. They are warm and kind at Cafe V. The food is great. The wine is delicious and inexpensive. This place is everything Hamburg is not and I am immensely thankful it is here for me.

Pros: Very Vegan, Not Hamburg, Kind Staff

poosham

Points +50

Vegan
08 Dec 2019

Tasty, cozy and fun staff

The main dishes were really good! The only drawback was the panna cotta (or was it flan? I don't remember) which had too much taste from flowers. The staff was nice and entertaining, and the atmosphere was nice

Pros: Good vegan main dishes, Nice staff

Cons: Dessert was a bit disappointing

beingvegan__

Points +176

Vegan
01 Dec 2019

Interesting Plating

I ordered the tofu English breakfast which was: scrambled tofu with veggies, beans, tofu sausage, fruit, bread, margarine and jam. It was a great spread but it was strange how it was all on the same plate. Not sure how I feel about bean juice on my melon! But overall everything was delicious and I ate it all.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Value for money , Big portions

Cons: Cash only

Advertisement

Joanita&Derek

Points +99

Vegan
28 Nov 2019

All time favourite

I go there regularly with my dad. I love the tofu curry and the stuffed aubergine. The yogi tea is really good as well and the free bread you get is heavenly!!!

Pros: Lots of vegan things , Cosy to sit , Very friendly staff

Cons: Staff is sometimes a bit slow and inattentive

LouisaSaba

Points +26

Vegan
05 Sep 2019

Was pleasantly surprised and definitely a must try in Berlin

Was so welcome and had a lovely experience

Pros: Lots of vegan option , Such beautiful staff , New and inventive foods

Tofutini

Points +54

Vegan
27 Aug 2019

Nice breakfast spot

I enjoyed a really nice vegan breakfast on the patio here. There was a whole list of clearly marked vegan breakfast items (and the rest of the menu is vegetarian). The tofu veggie scramble was delicious! And the prices are really reasonable too. The lunch/dinner menu looked great, but didn’t get to try it.

AmandaAmandi

Points +52

Vegan
25 Jul 2019

Amazing vegan pizza

Comfortable inside and outside sitting. Very friendly staff. Food is beyond delish.

KCZORO

Points +72

Vegan
31 May 2019

Average

We came here for dinner and had a good time. The waitress was really nice, although the service was very slow. The food was pretty good - we got the vegan appetizer plate which was fine, the seitan stroganoff which was really yummy, and the vegan potato pizza which was meh. I wouldn’t get the pizza again if we came back. Overall not bad but not great.

Sandrab_

Points +518

Vegetarian
20 May 2019

nice location

We went to Cafe V in august 2018 for breakfast.
I enjoyed my meal but my friends were a bit disapointed by theirs. The portion were not at their taste for the price we paid.
I choose Kreuzberg breakfast with tofu saussage, beans, scrambled eggs and goat cheese.
My friends chose mozzarella toasts and a crepe.

Pros: location, nice vibe, friendly staff

MaartjeDerks

Points +61

Vegan
12 Mar 2019

Very tasty

Had the red beet with grilled veg and hummus, was super tasty. You get yummy garlic/tomato bread with all meals, big plus

Pros: Vegan Garlic Bread, Tasty, Lots of choices

crnbaker

Points +27

Vegetarian
17 Jan 2019

Hot hearty food

Schnitzel was great, nice to get some ‘traditional’ style vegetarian food.

Tanja

Points +53

Vegetarian
15 Dec 2018

Tasty agian

Every time we visit Berlin, we visit café V at least once. And the saitan schnitzel with oven baked potatoes still is the best!

fortytwoandahalf

Points +77

Vegan
27 Sep 2018

Delicious food

Went here in the evening, Cafe V has a chilled and ambient atmosphere. The food is really good, a lot of vegan options as well as vegetarian dishes that can be veganised. Portions are huge and the food is delicious. I ordered cabbage roulade with tomato sauce and it was amazing! Definitely, recommend. Staff are polite and courteous.

maltman23

Points +2597

Vegan
11 Sep 2018

Very nice place

A non-vegan friend and I ate here, and we both loved our meals. The outdoor seating on a warm night was really nice in their quiet spot near Görlitzer Park.

Pros: Really good vegan food, Nice outdoor seating

Neridah

Points +350

Vegan
30 Aug 2018

Ok

Polite, nice venue, pizza is overpriced considering how little vegetables and seitan are on there, could easily be good quality with more of the ingredients added. Free tap water and toilets available.

Reviewer Avatar

Guest

29 May 2018

Cafe V

Very cute place, lots of outdoor seating. It had a good atmosphere. Staff was nice, but service wasn’t really fast. I didn’t like the pressure they put on you to leave a tip by adding ‘tips not included :)’ on the receipt, but as service was good we left one.
Portions are pretty small, I got the orient breakfast with fresh fruit and I expected more than four grapes, an orange slice and a piece of pear. It was however tasty. It’s on the more expensive side in Berlin, but I’m used to these prices.

Pros: tasty, nice staff

Cons: tip pressure, weird toilets, small portions

Cam

Points +1665

Vegetarian
25 Nov 2017

Nice café - restaurant

Cozy restaurant with an interesting menu of salads, pizzas, mains. They serve breakfast until 3pm and many sorts of coffee.
My food was good, filling. Would go back!

Pros: many options, interior

AnnikaPoijärvi

Points +122

Vegan
02 Oct 2017

Super nice breakfast!

We enjoyed a lovely breakfast. Vegan dishes are clearly marked in the menu. There is a warm athmosphere in the place witch is located in a beautiful old building next to a park.

tanti

Points +13

Vegetarian
01 Nov 2016

Love that place!!!

So glad, that I´ve found this lovly place. the stuff is very friendly and the food is delicious! I love the Kichererbsenpolenta. It is my favorite...

Pros: charming location, friendly stuff, delicios food

TofuManchu

Points +78

Vegan
25 Jul 2016

Lovely people, lovely food

Great selection of vegetarian and vegan dishes. Service is friendly and prompt. For non-vegans, the seitan schnitzel dish is strongly recommended.

SeitanSeitanSeitan

Points +2524

Vegan
25 May 2016

Invisible seitan!

They have two vegan pizzas, one with seitan, veggies and cheese and one without cheese. So seitan was one of the main ingredients. There was no trace of seitan what so ever in the pizza. The waiter told us that seitan is so small and in the tomato sauce so we can't see it. Other waiter told us the same when we paid and complained. We tried find the magic no-show seitan from the base sauce but just couldn't find any bit of it. Crust and base was ok (not great), but this invisible seitan thing was so wrong.

Pros: vegetarian

Cons: invisible seitan

Eiro

Points +63

Vegan
21 Apr 2016

Tasty Lunch in a Lovely Setting

Cafe V is a vegetarian restaurant with some vegan choices (they can make the other dishes vegan upon request, if possible). The food is pretty good, but my favorite thing is the location - Lausitzer Platz is gorgeous, especially in the Spring! I love their salads and the garlic bread with tomato sauce is amazing. They also have pizza with vegan cheese and rucola.

Pros: gorgeous setting

Cons: on the expensive side

Hockney

Points +41

Vegetarian
18 Apr 2016

One of my favourite veggiel restaurants in Berlin

This is one of my favourite veggie restaurants in Berlin. It's relaxed and easy-going with a good range of veggie options. The vegan options are more restricted in the main menu but the specials always include some seasonal vegan options. You can choose from more casual pizzas to quite sophisticated choices. The service can be erratic depending on who's working! It can get busy and noisy at the weekends. The outside space is really pleasant when it's not being ruined by smokers.

Pros: Wide choice of veggie options, Range of prices, Seasonal daily specials

Cons: Limited vegan options, Erratic service

SimoneS

Points +131

Vegan
14 Nov 2015

Cafe V- vegetarian and vegan - good

Cafe V is a nice restaurant located in a nice area. I actually like that it is a bit dark inside and the nice candle light. We had some hummus with salad and some Caserolle and a pasta dish.
It was tasty. But I was really disappointed that so many dishes there contain dairy products or cheese! I hoped that they would offer more vegan dishes. They have tasty food, but it is not a very special place. One time I had a delicious pumpkin soup there though.

Pros: tasty

Cons: not enough vegan options

Skandrino

Points +84

Vegan
13 Aug 2015

Too few vegan options

Being called Café V and fully vegetarian, I expected it to cater well to vegans like most similar places, but it had only 3 vegan main dishes which weren't so original (all curry- or tomato-based). I had the polenta which fortunately tasted well.

Didn't like the service, the waitresses didn't say hello when I first sat down. They looked shabby and disinterested as well. They reacted annoyed when I asked the pretty normal question if they could make a vegan version of certain vegetarian dishes, saying those 'wouldn't taste any good'.

Prices are steep for the area (12 euros for a main course).

JohannaKnutsson

Points +118

Vegan
19 Jun 2015

nothing special

There are so many other great vegan restaurants in Berlin,and I never understood the point of a vegetarian restaurant where cheese seem to be the only option to meat.
I think this place would benefit of skipping the dairy altogether

hack_man

Points +18163

Vegan
26 Apr 2015

Still My Berlin Benchmark

This is absolutely still my favourite veggie place in Berlin, as well as in Germany. We have eaten here on at least 16 occasions or so in 9 visits to this amazing city since 2004 and is the place I use as a standard with which to compare other vegetarian establishments.

It's called Cafe V (as in Vegetarische) and for some reason in the past it did serve the occassional fish dish or two which was disappointing but I can confirm that as of August 2010 this is no longer the case. This is also still the case in April 2015.

Why do I highly regard this place? Quite simply, it's the whole package. Cafe V is a bar, a cafe, a restaurant, a meeting place, somewhere you can drink, dine, chat, have breakfast, have supper, chill for hours, have a snack, have a beer, enjoy a romantic meal, drink wine, have a cocktail, read Die Welt, people watch, sit inside, sit on the street, have a birthday meal....just appreciate life. You may just have to tolerate the functional, bordering on disinterested, service.

It is set on a square next to a pleasant leafy park off Skalitzer Straße in Kreuzberg. Take the M29 bus or the U1 and get off a Görlitzer Bahnhof, have a beer in one of the fantastic bars in the area. My favourite has to be Cafe Bar Morena which just happens to be over the road from the wonderful vegetarian fast food paradise of Yellow Sunshine. Then walk over to Lausitzer Platz, go past the church and through the park to Cafe V. A very cosy, dimly lit and bohemian setting awaits. Enjoy the darkness. The staff might be friendly, the beer is good and the seating is perfect. Take your time, have a beer, order food, maybe a carafe of organic wine......a litre perhaps if you plan to stay a long time. You might as well.

As far as I am concerned the food is gourmet but not at gourmet prices. We are talking unique dishes with tofu, seitan, aubergine, courgette, pasta and rice all served with the delicious complementary house tomato and garlic bread. If you're lucky you might even get a free spirit at the end of the night but to be honest I think those days are gone. You can then head off into one of the bars on Oranienstraße. The M29 bus runs through the night to take you into the main centres of Berlin depending on where you are staying. All in all, it's the whole package of Kreuzberg that makes Cafe V the special place it is and I didn't think anything would ever beat it until the game changers of Rasoterra in Barcelona and Tel Aviv in Warsaw came along.

Pros: location, excellent food, good prices

Cons: staff can be disinterested

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Berlin Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Cafe V closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 14601 times.