15
  • CAFE - Today is My Life

  • (14)
    61
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
International
Raw
Beer/Wine
Fusion
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. 地球を旅するCAFE offers some vegan items, like salads and tofu cheesecake. Open Wed-Sun 9:00am-5:00pm.


Venue map for CAFE - Today is My Life
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by heatherisabel

AngelaFaragasso

Points +480

Vegan
16 Oct 2021

Nice atmosphere

For lunch they only have the vegan sandwich which is served with salad and baked potatoes.. nice taste but a bit salty! It is a bit pricey.. They also have vegan cake but I didn’t try it!

Updated from previous review on 2021-10-16

Pros: Pleasant place , Friendly staff

Cons: Pricey

Advertisement

Turtlegirl

Points +61

Vegetarian
10 Feb 2020

Good food, rude staff

I like that the serve hummus, which is hard to find in Tokyo. The daily plate is nice, but never really changes, and I personally don't like the cold mushrooms.

The last time I went there, the staff took away my half-empty drink and tried to throw us out, even though there was no one waiting, we had been there less than an hour (most of that to wait for out food and eat it) and other tables weren't ordering more, so it was kinda bizarre.

Pros: Hummus!, Not too far from Takadanobaba station

Cons: Rude staff

klgehrke

Points +19

Mostly Veg
21 Nov 2019

Absolutely delicious

The lunch plate was one of my favourite meals I've eaten in Japan, despite it not being entirely Japanese cuisine. The food was fresh and satisfying, and the spices used in some of the dishes was delicious.

Pros: Great decor

ReiAmber

Points +3015

Vegan
18 Feb 2019

Amazing place inspired by world traveling

Run by a couple who frequently backpacks around the world to get ideas for their food. But don't worry if you want to eat Japanese food as they have Japanese dishes too.

My omni friends refer to this place as "the restaurant that has fake meat that tastes even better than real meat but is more expensive." The karaage- "fried chicken," is really good.

Get the Japanese herb salad and "beer to start a trip." You won't regret it.

They have lots of magazines and books in English and Japanese about backpacking and various countries around the world to peruse.

They also make whole cakes for birthdays, anniversaries etc. although I have never tried one.

I love the wooden tables, chairs, dishes and doors.

The only bad thing I could say (other than the fact that they serve meat) is that the bathroom has an absolutely tiny door. I'm not even 5 feet 7 inches tall and the bathroom door might not even come up to my shoulders. I thought they were joking the first time they showed me to the bathroom. I find it charming, but if you have a physical disability or are in a wheelchair, you will likely not be able to use the bathroom here.

Overall, I find this place a hidden gem and I wish more people knew about it. In terms of quality of the food, probably one of the top five restaurants catering to vegans/vegetarians in Tokyo.

Edit: Went back to try the lunch. They had a choice of four sets, two plates, one with soup and one banh mi sandwich. Everything on the current lunch menu is vegan except for honey, which could be removed on request. I had the banh mi which came with a side of salad with fruity dressing and homemade pickes- it was nice. I had a soy coffee and added on a set dessert, a brownie for a few hundred yen, and my friends had beautifully colored teas. Lunch prices were reasonable.





Updated from previous review on 2019-02-18

Pros: Fantastic flavors, Charming restaurant, Owners gather ideas from around the world

Cons: Bathroom hard to access, Serves meat

azsunshine

Points +47

Vegetarian
16 Dec 2018

Should get 5 stars

Happy Cow won't allow restaurants that serve meat to earn 5 stars. This one should get an excption. The restaurant is run by a young husband and wife team. They have traveled the world and brought back their favorite flavors into their warm and inviting restaurant. The majority of the menu is vegan. The vegan brown rice plate is incredible - 7-9 different dishes on one plate that is high value and amazingly tasty. The quesadillas (vegetarian) are terrific too.

UPDATE: I returned to Tokyo after nearly 1 year and have been back to this restaurant 3 times in the last 3 weeks. It is as terrific as I remembered!

Updated from previous review on 2018-03-18

Pros: Neighborhood gem, Cozy, Beautiful food

Cons: Doesn't serve regular sake - only sparkling

DaYu

Points +15

Vegetarian
01 Sep 2018

perfect

Nourriture soignée et raffinée..... Un délice

Pros: parfait pour les plats vegan

Meera

Points +33

Vegetarian
13 Apr 2018

Fantastic food, not so fantastic service

The food is amazing, wide variety of vego options. However, the service was certainly sub par. From the phone call to reserve a table (where we were asked strongly to make sure that we order food????) to refusing to refill our water glasses unless we ordered more food (after ordering multiple dishes and just as we were about to order dessert - needless to say, no dessert was had) and just an overall lack of politeness was certainly disappointing. I had been 3 times previously but due to the rudeness, I don't think I will be back which is really sad.

Turtlegirl

10 Feb 2020

I had a similar experience with staff trying to take my half-finished drink to throw us out. Weird...

JosephineN

Points +96

Vegan
08 Dec 2017

Great place

Super cozy restaurant with plenty of options for vegans! Really recommend this place!

Inopinans

Points +225

Vegan
17 Oct 2017

cozy café with great deserts

A very cute café with awesome food. The tofu cheesecake is the best I've ever tried! The set menues arecon priced, single dishes are a bit more expensive for what you get.

Tolonen

Points +52

Vegan
24 Jan 2017

Very nice and cute place!

This would be 5 star place with no doubt if non-vegetarian place would be allowed to have 5. Really good food, reasonable prices, great athmosphere and really nice owners! We enjoyed a lot and will most definitely come back!

username52346789

Points +49

Non Veg
24 Dec 2016

good

This place was so good! The hummus was amazing. I also had some kind of chickpea salad that was good. I recommend this place. It gets a 5/5 but I think the rating system will only allow me to go up to 4 since it serves meat.

Pros: Yummy, The staff was nice

Ksenia_vist

Points +24

Vegan
20 Apr 2016

Lovely

A great little spot for lunch! The atmosphere is nice, food is delicious. It does serve meat but has enough vegan options to chose from. Ask the staff if need help.

freesiaoriental

Points +143

Non Veg
30 Jan 2016

A Hidden Gem in Tokyo

Really delightful place with kind staff. The food is extremely good, and fairly priced as well. The most expensive meal on their menu is only around 1000 yen. It's a great place to go to when you have both vegetarians and non-vegetarians in your group. They have different kinds of food uncommon in Japan, but the choices may be fewer compared to other restaurants. They do however have a wide selection of beers and other alcoholic drinks. They also have tea from around the world, and some dessert. The ambiance is really cozy and quaint. Definitely going back.

Pros: Really delicious, Not too expensive, Nice interiors

Cons: Few choices for food

heatherisabel

Points +16

Mostly Veg
03 Oct 2015

Fantastic

I could not recommend this cafe highly enough. 5 stars (the website won't let me rate 5 star bc it's not only veg dishes) I have been a regular here for two months. This cafe is: Inexpensive, vegan /vegetarian friendly, but also has meat options, desserts, snacks,teas and coffees from all over the world, full meals, beer wine etc, friendly and English speaking owners. Always a cozy and calm atmosphere, the cafe is made by hand by the owners out of natural materials which do not harm the body. Natsusa-san has traveled to over 50 countries, and Junpei-san is an amazing cook and very funny. They are very friendly and love meeting and learning about new people. Sit at the counter and chat with them if you have the chance. If you want to practice your Japanese, they will be very patient trying to figure out what you are saying (haha). I could not give high enough praise for such a wonderful place. It is easy to get to from Takadananobaba station and nishi-waseda station.
Updated from previous review on Saturday October 03, 2015

Updated from previous review on Saturday October 03, 2015

Pros: Inexpensive, Good variety, comfortable and easy-going

Cons: Sometimes busy, Only open after 2pm, Not open Mondays




This page has been viewed 6473 times.