Vegan
Indian
International
Bakery
Fusion

Est. 2015 vegetarian cafe. On the menu are soups, falafel, curry, dahl, panini, lasagna, and changing cakes. Specialty coffee and tea drinks. Will cater for private parties. Reported fully vegan Apr 2019. Reported under new ownership June 2023. Open Mon 10:00-16:00, Thu 11:00-20:00, Fri-Sat 11:00-23:00, Sun 12:00-17:00. Last hot food orders are one hour before close.


Venue map for Cafe Shanti
© OpenStreetMap contributors

66 Reviews

First Review by nathanjh13

DLChapman

Points +44

Vegan
11 Dec 2023

Really Tasty

Nice little vegan cafe in Lincoln. I had a hotdog & chips with homemade coleslaw. Lots of other great looking things on the menu too 😋

Pros: All vegan , Junk type food - burgers etc that I love!, Independent

Advertisement

TracyGoree

Points +13

Mostly Veg
08 Dec 2023

Friendly

The food and service were lovely. Great coffee and cakes as well as tasty main dishes.

Pros: The coffee, The food, The atmosphere

Sybylian

Points +24

Vegan
02 Dec 2023

Highly recommended!

Lovely vegan cafe in Lincoln. Beautiful decor, welcoming vibe and staff, plenty of tables with the addition of the upstairs area. An extensive menu, reasonably priced with generous portions and best of all, totally vegan - how relaxing to choose without checking! Highly recommend a visit and all their food but especially the Mac n Cheeze 👌💚

Pros: The amazing, friendly staff 💚, It’s ALL vegan 🌱 , The food 😋

ClaireSweet

Points +144

Vegan
27 Nov 2023

Fantastic!

Was so happy to find this place while visiting Lincoln.
Quirky style, lovley food and great staff.

Pros: Tasty home cooked food , Great vybe

sue0901f

Points +75

Vegan
22 Oct 2023

Great vegan restaurant

Went to Cafe Shanti today as had family over..there were 9 of us and the food was amazing, staff really friendly and accommodating. Definitely recommend to anyone visiting Lincoln. Good size portions and out of this world desserts..looking forward to my next visit..fabulous place and even non vegans will love it

Sanwin

Points +286

Vegan
12 Oct 2023

Vegan cafe OMG

Love this place ❤️ has an extensive menu. All made fresh. Wish I was staying in Lincoln longer so I could try everything on the menu.

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-12

Pros: Warm welcome from friendly & knowledgeable staff, Chilled zen atmosphere

Sarahls76

15 Oct 2023

Why did I not get WhatsApp photos of this amazing looking food?! 🤪

Sanwin

15 Oct 2023

SallyBridgewater

Points +48

Vegan
18 Sep 2023

Just lovely

Really great, went back three times in one weekend. Would recommend the mint lemonade, warning, it's very minty! :)

penfold42

Points +113

Vegan
08 Sep 2023

Friendly and vibrant cafe with amazing options

Always such a treat to be spoilt for choice in a fully vegan cafe.

Between us we chose the falafel panini, chilli panini and the chicken style burger with some chicken style strips on the side - which were my favourite thing.

Staff were lovely and friendly, the venue is colourful and interesting and the price seemed almost unbelievably reasonably priced for the portion and quality.

Definitely would recommend.

Pros: Friendly vibes, Tasty quality food, Super reasonably priced

Cons: Felt spoilt for choice by the menu!

kathrynmoir

Points +356

Vegan
30 Aug 2023

Lovely staff, great food, huge menu

Such a varied and inventive menu. My partner had a Parma Violet hot chocolate which was delicious. It was so nice to be offered paninis and genuinely good lunch options rather than just burgers - although the burgers look delicious too! There’s also gorgeous ice cream and desserts. The owners are such lovely people who have created something great. Highly recommended!

Sara_H

Points +99

Vegan
19 Aug 2023

Delicious food and lovely, friendly staff

We ate here last night. We had Mac and Cheese, Tofu Tikka, loaded fries and Jammy Dodger ice cream Sundae.
Everything was delicious, reasonable prices. The staff are lovely sand really friendly and the decor is really lovely.
I would definitely recommend and will be returning.

Pros: Everything is vegan, Everything is delicious, Staff are lovely

Cons: None

AshHunt

Points +72

Vegan
17 Aug 2023

Great food great service

Mac & Cheeze was beautiful!

feral

Points +492

Vegan
12 Aug 2023

Enjoyable

Ate here while in the city for the weekend.

I love a vegan cafe because these are my people! I thoroughly enjoyed what I did have but I would like a burger option that’s not fake meat.

Pros: Ambience, Friendly

Cons: Fake burgers

cyanfoot

Points +41

Vegan
28 Jul 2023

Excellent find

A cafe with a good selection of food, and a surprising amount of hot chocolates! Will be back whenever I am next in the area.

Pros: Friendly service, Good food, Wide selection of drinks

Planetontheplate

Points +26

Vegan
22 Jul 2023

One of the best

Amazing food, amazing ambience! Incredible portions and 5/5 value for money! The staff is super friendly and the location is perfect, sitting right in the middle of town! It's become my go-to now! 💜

With so many options every time, I always struggle to choose what I wanna have. This time I went for the Macho Nachos, Tofu Pesto Panini and Luxury Hot Chocolate (the last two were staff recommended).

Macho Nachos: I believe one can tell a lot about a restaurant by the way they make nachos. Shanti cafe did not disappoint! It favoured all my taste buds and was the perfect balance between salty, spicy, tangy, cheesy!

Tofu Pesto Panini: Don't let the looks fool you! It's so filling and scrumptious! It was perfect in every way and so so cheesy!! Paired with the nachos, it felt like a party in my mouth!

Luxury Hot Chocolate: It was so smooth and creamy! It wasn't too sweet, which made it perfect!! The vegan cream and marshmallows on top made it even better! I highly recommend!

It's a perfect place for those looking to try vegan food as well! 💜

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-22

Pros: Portions, Price, Friendly staff

ClaireBear4

Points +22

Vegan
16 Jul 2023

Lil hideout in linc

Customer service was amazing. Priced well too

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-16

Pros: Banana in my korma, Parma violet hot chocolate , Really lovely staff

Wellington-Vegan

Points +132

Vegan
15 Jun 2023

Super friendly vegan cafe

Just had a delicious dinner at this cafe. Jo, Mel and the other staff were so friendly and it felt like coming over for a family dinner. We had the Banana Kormu curry which comes with rice, poppadoms, and naan bread and the chilli sin carne which also came with rice, guacamole and pickled red cabbage.
This was washed down with their still lemonade
The portions were just perfect and we really wished we had had space for their desserts as they looked amazing.
What a wonderful experience

Pros: Vegan cafe with delicious food, Super colourful cafe, LGBTQ+ and dog friendly cafe

shantilincoln

17 Jun 2023

Thank you so much for this lovely review! You'll just have to get on a plane another day and come for one of our sundaes!!! xxx

TracySavage

Points +164

Vegan
11 Jun 2023

Ice cream sundae

Lovely friendly welcoming staff
The biscoff and Sanctuary ones were tasty. We got them to take away. Very dog friendly too

Pros: Friendly Staff, Ice cream sundaes, Dog friendly

Emi*

Points +42

Vegan
10 May 2023

Nom nom

Nice decor and tasty food.

CarolineAppleton

Points +13

Vegetarian
05 May 2023

Lovely home cooked food and great service

We had a lovely meal at Cafe Shanti, the all day breakfast and banana korma were both delicious, as was the cookie dough sandwich. Lovely waitress and a really nice atmosphere

Pros: Great choice , Good portions, Service

darrenb

Points +1126

Vegan
30 Apr 2023

Incredible food

Staff really lovely. Food delicious. Lots of options including plenty of gf choices. Very dog friendly. Will definitely be back if we're in the area.

jojo_x

Points +346

Vegan
01 Apr 2023

Lovely little place

I was in Lincoln for the day when I found this place through this app. Friendly staff, great service and delicious food.

Pros: Good options, Friendly staff, Great service

DandYAdventurers

Points +41

Vegan
01 Apr 2023

Amazing food!

Really lovely choice in Lincoln for vegans. Can be a bit pricey, but no more than you would pay at another restaurant these days. The menu is varied with plenty to tantalise the taste buds.
We used to come here all the time under the previous management and the new owners have done an amazing job to carry on the legacy, as well as expanding the space and switching up the menu.

Pros: Food choice is outstanding, Decor is bohemian and quirky , Location is right in the centre of the city.

Cons: Kitchen is open which can lead to greasy smell

RachelHollings

Points +208

Vegan
31 Mar 2023

Nice food

The food was good, I was excited to try the banana korma because it's not something I've had before. I ordered takeaway and although the flavour was nice, it was a little cold even though I was only 7mins away from the restaurant. Also the rice was a little hard which suggested that it wasn't fresh but perhaps reheated.

Pros: Lots of options

Cons: Food wasn't hot and potentially reheated.

jasminegraceg

Points +779

Vegan
08 Mar 2023

Tasty food great environment

Really enjoyed the food here and the atmosphere is great!

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-11

Pros: Good selection of options

Cons: Very limited seating

Veganmeglutenfree😃

25 Feb 2023

veganevolutionist

Points +1921

Vegan
05 Mar 2023

Colourful Vibes

Visited Saturday 4/3/23 as it’s now under new ownership (last visited pre-covid). The new owners have opened up the upstairs with at least six tables which is great as seating downstairs is limited. Nothing the owners can do about the toilet so this isn’t a criticism just a heads up for customers to keep their heads down😉The toilet is behind two doors in close proximity to each other and once the main toilet door is closed there’s not much room to manoeuvre. Leave bags with your companion if you have one as fitting you and a bag in there is difficult. Like I said not a criticism, just advice for the customer, I’m very grateful there is one available!
It was cold yesterday and the upstairs seating was cold and damp, the venue would benefit from some form of heating. It is all beautifully decorated and colourful, and sparkly with fairy lights :)
The banana korma was delicious and the hot dog huge! We look forward to returning.

Updated from previous review on 2019-07-08

Pros: All vegan , Friendly service, Colourful vibe

KLea

Points +1571

Vegan
26 Feb 2023

Fabulously Updated and Improved!

I should caveat this by saying I was a fan of the food at Shanti previously, but found the decor overpowering and the service hit and miss.

We visited today after the re-opening with new management.

It's opened up inside with a staircase going up to a lovely seating area, made cosy with bright artwork and soft lighting. The wall hangings are still there but it's less overpowering, cleaner and brighter. We loved the feel of the place today.

The menu is a perfect mix of comfort food and the kind of vegan options I've been hoping someone in Lincoln would do for years now!

We both had burgers, the Shanti burger and the all outta cluck burger.

Both were large and very filling. The Shanti burger is a home made beef style patty, with so much flavour but no grease. A pleasure to eat and one we'll go back over and over for.

The all outta cluck burger is a battered seitan offering. I'm so jealous - I've been making seitan for years and I've never made anything even close to the wonderful texture of this. Plenty of chew and flavour. Incredible work by the kitchen on this.

Being very full, we shared a chocolate brownie for dessert. If I was in town, I'd be tempted to pop in just for this. Gooey, warm and offset by the ice cream. Perfect.

Two drinks, two main courses and a dessert came in at the great value total of £28.50.

We're looking forward to working our way through the rest of the menu!

Pros: Entirely vegan menu, business owned by vegans, Very good value for money , Lovely decor

Cons: There's no drinks licence so it's BYOB, Not possible to eat the whole menu in one sitting

Veganmeglutenfree😃

Points +296

Vegan
25 Feb 2023

OMG the worst place I’ve ever eaten

This is the worst place we have ever eaten. The food was bland the chips were frozen chips and still frozen ! I could not take pictures as the food went back to the kitchen , the tofu curry was so hard ! And the kitchen was so dirty ! And last of all mine was suppose to be gluten free and it came with GLUTEN, bread and they just took it off the plate ! When I told them and had explained that I was gluten free when we ordered. It’s the worse service we have had !

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-25

Pros: None , Very small and dirty , Toilet is a joke

Cons: Avoid , Staff clueless, Food 1/10




This page has been viewed 14687 times.