• Cafe-Obrador Okapi

  • (19)
    19
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Mediterranean
Take-out
Catering
Spanish
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Its small menu offers vegan-friendly food including hummus, guacamole, tapenade, couscous, and falafel. Has soymilk for drinks. Note that the tzatziki and queso frito are mistakenly marked vegan but are not. Owner aims to use locally-sourced and seasonal ingredients to minimize carbon footprint. Open Mon-Wed 10:30-23:00, Thu-Sat 10:30-00:00, Sun 11:00-18:00.


Venue map for Cafe-Obrador Okapi
© OpenStreetMap contributors

19 Reviews

First Review by elliemawby

AinhoaIndurain

Points +101

Vegan
06 Aug 2023

Vegan options are good

The vegan croquetas are not announced and are really good. Some dips are great but overall too many non vegan options. The service may not be amazing and they are a little slow

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-06

Pros: Vegan croquetas

Cons: Expensive, Options not clear

Advertisement

LaurieDee

Points +2223

Vegan
30 May 2023

Only ok

I appreciated the various options but didn't find it spectacular. The space is cute and the outdoor seating on a cute street is nice.

Patatine

Points +2430

Vegan
09 Mar 2023

Muchas options veganas!

El sitio esta muy bien. Tomè una croquettes veganas: muy ricas. Encima tienen mas options tambien!
Guayyy!

anaMuñoz

Points +31

Vegan
20 Oct 2022

Varias opciones

Es un buen servicio a buen precio. La comida está muy buena

Pros: Varias opciones veganas, Buen precio

veggiespain

Points +166

Vegetarian
09 Aug 2022

Muy buena comida

Servicio rápido y comida muy buena. Lo único que había muchos platos no disponibles. Hay que pedir dentro.

SimonAlaoui

Points +23

Vegan
25 Jun 2022

Opciones veganas, comida sosa

Para salir del paso no está mal pero la comida era muy sosa

Pros: Opciones veganas claramente marcadas en el menú , Buen servicio

Cons: La comida muy sosa., Las croquetas no sabían a nada. , El cuscús muy seco.

GwenBrn

Points +58

Vegetarian
20 Jul 2021

Un bon moment

Plusieurs options végétariennes et vegans. Nous avons été bien reçu et tout était très bon et fait maison: guacamole, muhamarra, croquetas, et desserts. Endroit agréable avec terrasse .

pizzybot

Points +625

Vegan
29 Jan 2021

Vegan-friendly and dog-friendly

Great vegan options here, and they had a great vegan cabbage/chickpea dish on their menu del día. Our little dog was welcome inside.

Pros: Vegan-friendly, Dog-friendly

Txibi

Points +121

Vegetarian
02 Oct 2020

Genial

Platos del día sabrosos y con opciones veganas y sin gluten siempre. Cocina abierta en todo momento. Buena opción para picar o para comer por muy poco dinero. El trato es amable, el lugar acogedor y la comida está deliciosa. También ofrecen menús para llevar

Pros: Rico, barato y buena atención

polanito

Points +3707

Vegan
05 Aug 2020

Nice place, clearly labeled good

We sat in the terrace, literally by the cathedral. The food is quite cheap ND the vegan/vegetarian options are clearly labeled (the have many!). Gluten and lactose free dishes are also noted.
There's limited seating area.
Would a recommend!

Pros: Many vegan options, Clear labels

Cons: Few seating

SilviaJS

Points +136

Vegan
18 Aug 2019

Great food, wine and service

We had the dish of the day (grilled aubergine) and the falafel and both were delicious. The service was also super friendly and we had some great local wine, too (txakoli).

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Delicious food , Great wine

Andoolblu

Points +579

Vegan
08 Jul 2019

croquetas de champiñones

Croquetas de champiñones muy ricas.

Pros: Muchas opciones veganas

Cons: habían muchas cosas agotadas

MaraSierra

Points +91

Vegan
16 Jun 2019

Small cafe in the old town

Small menue, but vegan options are well marked, nice stop in the old town of bilbao

Pros: Cheap (12 Falafel balls 5,5€), Delicious dip, Serves soya milk

aayoh1

Points +60

Vegan
26 May 2019

Get the falafel.

A lot of the food here was good - tapenade and ratatouille were definitely tasty. BUT GET THE FALAFEL I don't know how they made their vegan sauce but it changed my falafel life. It's better than hummus. I would go again just for the falafel.

Pros: Falafel, Falafel, Falafel

MartinEvans

Points +18

Vegan
10 Aug 2018

Food below average, indifferent staff

Had a salad which was not especially pleasant, moutabal (baba ghanoush) which was basically mush. Guy friendly at first then more interested in getting to his mates outside and placed my food, without acknowledging me. in passing on the way to his friends. Place a bit shabby too. Needs some love all round.

Pros: Vegan options

MissRadish

Points +348

Vegan
06 Jul 2017

Friendly service

Freshly made cafe food. I had the falafels which were delicious. You won't have a big meal here but the menu has what you can have, clearly labelled. This is more lunchtime food. They've corrected the tzatziki note on the menu to show it's not vegan. Service really friendly and helpful.

ecowevo

Points +59

Vegan
14 Jun 2017

dislike it

They just had a cold soup with potatos. Not very good taste I have to say

Pros: veg options

Cons: marked as veg when they are not veg :(

cdehaes

Points +35

Vegan
26 May 2017

Friendly & Wholesome

We had to find somewhere to eat at short notice. The 'directions' from 'Happy Cow' pointed us to a nearby square but that wasn't correct. It took us a while to work out we needed to go to the 'Old Town' which was a bit of a walk. Not really the place to go if you were looking for a full evening meal. The food is tapas style, the quality is good and the quantities are generous. Excellent local beers and I recommend the stout (10.5% about!).

Pros: Friendly, good English, helpful, Very good value for money. , The locals go here, always a good sign

Cons: Not suitable for evening meal.

elliemawby

Points +49

Vegan
21 Mar 2016

Super tasty!

Minimal menu but all clearly marked with vegetarian/vegan symbols, and friendly and helpful waiter with good English to answer any questions! :-) I tried the hummus (accompanied by crackers), guacamole (served with tortilla chips) and the falafels (12 pieces, served warm with a curry/yoghurt dip) - really fresh and tasty food, perfect evening snack after drinks! Cool place to hang out with magazines and books available to read. I'd definitely recommend as a place to go for a afternoon/evening snack! :-)

Pros: Vegetarian/vegan symbols, Vegetarian dishes which could be served vegan, Friendly, helpful staff




This page has been viewed 5345 times.