Ovo
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
African
Ethiopian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Ethiopian cuisine. Offers some vegetarian selection all of which are supposed to vegan suitable. Try the vegetarian exclusive (enough for 2-3 people). Open Mon-Thu 11:00am-9:00pm, Fri 11:00am-10:00pm, Sat 12:00pm-10:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-9:00pm.


Venue map for Cafe Lalibela
© OpenStreetMap contributors

23 Reviews

First Review by PH0ENIX

ForAnimalsJapan

Points +5012

Vegan
07 Jan 2024

A special experience

The vegan platter was delicious and VERY filling. Friendly service, great vibes. We bought coffee to take home that I’m looking forward to trying.

Advertisement

jodirobin

Points +132

Vegan
04 Jul 2023

Great vegan options

Loved the vegan platter at Cafe Lalibela which consisted of seven different dishes complete with injeera and salad. It was a huge amount of food for 2 people. Highly recommend for anyone looking for clean, healthy, tasty vegan food.

tessysdb

Points +258

Vegan
03 Jan 2023

Happy with our choice

There is a designated vegan section on the menu. We shared the vegan deluxe and it was more than enough food for 2 people. Friendly, speedy service on a busy night. One of our favorite places so far in Phoenix area.

aubreyj27

Points +1281

Vegan
07 Jul 2022

tons of options and great food!

i enjoyed the vegan deluxe, where i was able to sample 7 different vegan dishes which all varied in flavor and texture! i really do love being able to get so much variety out of one meal, and the portion size is generous for the price.
i’d say the service was above average for the business of the restaurant, and i would recommend coming here for ethiopian in the area

Pros: vegan sampler platter, good portions

DuaneWalker

Points +16

Vegan
07 Apr 2022

Yummy

I love Ethiopian food, and this place did not disappoint.

Pros: Great food

arakly31

Points +24

Vegan
22 Nov 2021

This place has a great variety of vegan options.

They have a vegan platter and a deluxe vegan platter

courtney.explore

Points +126

Vegan
20 Jun 2020

Incredible!

If you haven’t had Ethiopian- you need to! I go with multiple people and get the Vegan Deluxe Platter and it’s incredible!

Pros: Friendly service

Cons: Must go with many people

chardog

Points +66

Vegan
28 Dec 2019

Belly so happy

Tonight I had the Vegan Deluxe tray and I am so satisfied and happy I can’t even explain. It was such a hearty meal. It was my second time here and I will be back!

leahk

Points +264

Vegan
23 Nov 2019

Amazing

Fantastic, wholesome, filling, delicious, and reasonably priced. I really enjoyed this meal. There is a column of labeled vegan selections on the menu. Tossign tea was good for something different as well.

Pros: Big portions, Wholesome food

H2OAddict

Points +686

Vegan
06 Aug 2019

Colorful and flavorful

This was a suggestion for date night of my husband’s. We have decided to start looking outside our comfort zone at home and he found this awesome gem. There is an entire section of the menu dedicated to vegan food and an entire vegan variety plate. It’s nice to be able to order without modifying or having to explain our dietary restrictions.

The food was flavorful, well spiced, and all visually interesting and different. We tend to enjoy eating a wide variety of foods with varying colors. This totally fit the bill! I would recommend if you’re looking for an interesting experience in Tempe! The place was pretty packed with regulars, so you know it’s good!

Pros: Dedicated vegan menu, Great flavors, Fast service

MathiasP

Points +34

Vegan
21 Nov 2018

Amazing Ethiopian Food

Wish I could give it five stars. They have a whole vegan section to choose from. And, they have gluten free Injera as an option. It’s hard to find an Ethiopian restaurant with authentic injera because most restaurants mix in wheat with the teff flour. They offer Injera with 100% teff flour, therefore making it gluten free. I ordered the vegetable combo, and was very satisfied.

the_mindfulwanderers

Points +578

Vegan
23 Oct 2018

Incredible Ethiopian Cuisine

My husband and I stopped here for lunch while in the Tempe area. We were greeted with a smile and seated right away. We decided to order the Exclusive Vegan platter (made for 3-4 people) thinking we would have enough for leftovers... well, it was SO good we ended up eating the entire platter (hehe) if we re ever in the Tempe area again, we would absolutely dine here again! It was the best Ethiopian restaurant we’ve ever dined at to date.😄

Pros: Incredible flavor, Fresh , Fast and friendly service

ashleynt646

Points +279

Vegan
18 May 2018

Vegan Options

This restaurant has a nice selection of vegan options and you get a huge portion for the price. The meal comes served on a large helping of injera and also comes with a side of injera. You can order 2-3 different dishes to try or pick one of their combos. I really enjoyed the spices and flavors in their dishes and the injera is pretty good too. The only thing I didn’t like was how much oil the dishes had in them. When I finished my meal the injera that the dishes were served on was soggy and had soaked up a lot of oil. Other than that it was a good experience.

Pros: Several vegan options, Not too expensive , Large portions

Cons: Slightly oily dishes

corinal

Points +1607

Vegan
23 Nov 2017

Nice selection

Great selection of vegan items. My partner and I shared the Vegan Deluxe for 2, which came with tasters of all of their vegan dishes on top of injera (a huge sourdough pancake) with a side of injera as well. Some of the tasters were good (misir wat, salad), others we didn’t really care for (azifah, gomen). The injera was really filling, more so than the dishes, and added an odd taste. The flavors weren’t that complex.

Pros: Great selection of vegan options, Friendly staff, Nice atmosphere for groups

Cons: Flavors not very complex

Becky-AZ

Points +44

Vegan
07 Oct 2017

Love!

Amazing food! What else is there to say? Wish I was closer to my house.

Pros: Many vegan options, Always delicious

Cons: Water tastes gross

pbaldwinwb

Points +16

Vegan
22 Apr 2016

wonderful

My first experience at an Ethiopian restaurant and the food was fantastic.

Nagemireille

Points +98

Vegan
25 Feb 2016

yummy!! I'm so glad we went!

This place is a great find. More than half of the menu is suitable for vegans, the food is super tasty, and the employees are very nice and helpful. I recommend the yellow split pea (:

Pros: very tasty food, nice employees, great vegan options

Tigra220

Points +10447

Vegan
04 Apr 2013

Delicious Ethiopian Cuisine

We've eaten here many times and they never disappoint. The food is always hot, fresh, and bursting with that infamous spiced-up flavor. I always get the veggie combo, which includes a string bean dish, cabbage & potato dish, collard greens, and spicy red lentils (my absolute favorite!), all for about $13. I usually have lefttovers, when I'm not being greedy. If you'd just like to try 1 thing, a veggie dish goes for about $5 individually.

If you have a group of veg*n diners, try the Veg Exclusive. It covers samplings of all their veggie dishes for about $36 (split it with friends and ease your pockets); there's no way 1 person could (or should) eat the exclusive by themselves. At least not in one sitting. It's a LOT of food.

The owner is very nice. Always greets everyone with a smiling face.

It's in a strip mall, so there is no issue with parking.

Nice place for family dining, date night, or grabbing a bite with friends.

Pros: Delicious, authentic Ethiopian food, Friendly service, Inexpensive & large portions

RachelRummel

Points +34

Vegan
25 Sep 2011

This is why Ethiopian food rocks.

As long as you enjoy flavor, you'll enjoy Lalibela's. We ordered the vegetarian platter, which comfortably fed four of us (and allowed for some mindless stew-stained injera noshing afterward). Favorites included the Misir Wat (spicy red lentil stew), Shiro Wat (a garlic-y, onion-y pea mash stew), and Yekik Alicha (yellow split peas with onions and tumeric).

Of course, scooting injera from stew to stew, scooping up everything at once also seemed to be a pretty successful maneuver, even though it mixed the individual stew flavors. Everyone else really liked when I did that (not really). Do I regret it? No.

I do have one regret though, which I shall reconcile upon my next visit, and that is that I did not leave Lalibela wearing a cloak made entirely from injera. But hey, that's why there's next time.

Pros: Flavorful, Fun & Communal, Has Something for Everyone

Cons: Tad Pricey, Easy to Overdo it

koolestgrrlukno

Points +60

Vegan
12 Jan 2011

awesome Ethiopian food!

this place was delicious! great flavors, not greasy, and huge portions! i definitely recommend this restaurant. I'll be going back!

Pros: excellent food, huge portions

Cons: somewhat slow service

Mimi710

Points +585

Vegan
21 Jul 2008

Okay, but Bile Nile is better

I ate here in March. I found the food here to be greasy and not as tasty as the food at Blue Nile. Considering the fact that Blue Nile is just up the street you really should go there instead if you are in Phoenix and looking for vegan ethopian food. Our server were nice though they forgot/never brought me the coffee I ordered. Then again we were a table of 13.

Pros: vegan options

Cons: not as good as Blue Nile, food seemed greasy

suecag

Points +249

Vegan
03 Feb 2008

Great Ethiopian Veg

I am not a huge fan of Ethiopian fare but we shared the Vegetarian Exclusive and it was super yummy. I will definitely return.

PH0ENIX

Points +53

Vegetarian
31 Jul 2007

Good Ethiopian food

I really liked Cafe Lalibela. It's clean, and service was great. The food was delicious. Definitely a place where you can take anyone. A good alternative to Tina's Ethiopian in Chandler.

Pros: Clean, Good service, Tasty food




This page has been viewed 7363 times.