• Cafe Du Soleil

  • (14)
    18
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Western
Bakery
Canadian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Created by two moms and is a family-run operation, this cafe switched back and forth from veg to non-veg and is reported non-veg again as of Oct 2016. Offers vegan baked goods that are mostly gluten-free, and a menu with items like tofu scramble with split beans or potatoes. Open Mon-Fri 8:00am-4:00pm, Sat-Sun 9:00am-5:00pm.


Venue map for Cafe Du Soleil
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by lifeofaveggie

lucuma

Points +896

Vegan
29 Sep 2023

Vegan brunch

Cozy cafe on the Drive serving both meat and vegan brunch items. The Tofu scramble was full of flavor and contained lots of veg (broccoli, zucchini and pepper). Served with potatoes and 2 pieces of vegan toast with jam, the meal was filling and good value.
The Latte was just ok. They serve oat milk as the non-dairy milk option.
Would return to try the pancakes😄

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-06

Pros: A few solid vegan options

Advertisement

Chocomilena

Points +25

Vegan
10 Aug 2022

Great food and service!

We stopped in asking for take out, but when we changed our minds to dine in, the owner (Terry) was happy to have us eat there. He was genuinely interested in talking with us. The place is small, mostly 2-tops, and cozy.

The Vegan Fry-Up breakfast plate contained a veggie-forward tofu scramble, hashbrowns, toast with jam, sweet beans and some vegan sausages I've never had before. All very good.

Pros: Reasonable amount of vegan options , Nice place for a date, Friendly personnel

EmilyHundt

Points +85

Vegan
23 Jul 2022

Yum!

This cafe has the best vegan pancakes and French toast I have ever had…. I was so surprised! They also have a bunch of vegan meat options. I will be returning!

Updated from previous review on 2022-07-23

Pros: Best vegan pancakes and French toast ever.

Cons: Debit or cash only. No credit cards.

CandidCrow

Points +86

Vegan
17 May 2020

friendly atmosphere and good food!

When I lived on the drive, I would often come here for breakfast or lunch - its such a great place. Awesome coffee,tea and beer selection and live events in the evenings...worth checking out!

denailac

Points +356

Vegan
21 Oct 2019

Wonderful

Outside look is deceiving. Beautiful little place, cozy. Excellent service, amazing food. I had the breakfast burrito one of the best I’ve ever had!

JessicaKlose

Points +552

Vegan
15 Apr 2018

unreal vegan options

Amazing vegan French toast and breakfast burrito. The vegan sour cream is home made and taste so much like the original thing.

Cons: serves meat

Ariane

Points +375

Vegan
19 Sep 2017

Very enjoyable brunch

My friend and I had a wonderful brunch. Even though she was not vegan she chose a vegan option and she was amazed how tasty it was!
The price was very decent as well.

Pros: Many vegan options, Decent prices

Cons: Close too early, Not all vegan

LindseyElizabeth

Points +641

Vegan
29 Aug 2017

Incredible vegan options!

While I try to go to fully vegetarian/vegan places when I can, I'm so happy I tried this little place out. The owner makes his own veggie sausages which are out of this world! The breakfast burritos are delicious and served with vegan sour cream and salsa. The tofu scramble is significantly more flavourful than most scrambles I've tried in other restaurants. I've heard they will soon be open for dinner as well! Also a quiet and classy atmosphere. I'm surprised to read that someone has had an issue with the owner, he's always been very polite and friendly to my husband and I when we visit.

Pros: Delicious vegan options, Very quiet and relaxed, Friendly service

GrowRoots

Points +23

Vegan
10 Mar 2017

Horrible Atmosphere

I really enjoy the food here BUT holy cow is the owner unpleasant!. Perfect example of a very unhappy person transmitting their negative energy onto it's customers. He's so unpleasant that I have decided to stop taking people here and recommending it... The man is obviously so miserable with his life. He rolls his eyes when you order, he's rude to customers who don't follow his strict seating rules, never smiles, huffs and puffs if you ask him to do his job and take extra request...Get a grip pal!, you're in the service industry you serves people food, it's supposed to be a pleasant experience. If you read this I hope you learn to start your days with some gratitude and appreciate repeat customers...Or at least Fake it.

lil.ragdoll.angel

Points +50

Vegan
06 Nov 2014

Best tofu scramble I've eaten! :D

Amazing tofu scramble from this place! Just remember to ask to make it vegan if you are, otherwise they will probably serve it with a split english muffin with butter. They will switch it with vegan toast and they have earth balance (vegan butter). Some other vegan add-ons such as the sausage which was pretty good and the vegan baked goods are okay). Big portions for a cheap price!
Very nice, friendly, family-run service. Highly recommended to vegetarians and non veggie people for breakfast and brunch :)
Hopefully, there will be more vegan options in the future.

Pros: Excellent Tofu Scramble, Great value!, Lovely staff

Cons: Not too many vegan options

Magapurna

Points +260

Vegan
26 Jun 2012

Yummy food!

Best tofu scramble and vegan hash browns I've ever eaten! Very pleasant, family-like atmosphere and great service :)

Pros: big portions, good value, friendly atmosphere

Deneige

Points +36

Vegetarian
05 Dec 2009

Best Value in the City!

What more could you ask for??
Great breakfast menu on until the afternoon.
Super cheap lunchtime eats.
Play area for the kids to hang out.
Live music and great entertainment at night.
It is a self-service kind of place, where you order at the counter and (hopefully) clean off your table when your done. It really feels like a great community place.

Pros: Cheap Food, Local Beers, Live Music

celestialstar2004

Points +107

Vegetarian
18 Oct 2009

Grear Value for your Money

We spent a week in Vancouver and ate here 3X. The food was delicious each time. Breakfasts are not to be missed.

lifeofaveggie

Points +30

Vegetarian
08 Jul 2009

"Eggs in the Hole"

I picked Cafe Du Soleil (C.D.S.) for breakfast. This was cute typical veg place (of all the ones I visit) as far as the ambiance. I really liked the service and they had a lot of menu items to choose from.

I was feeling pretty regular so I orderded the eggs in the hole breakfast with toast and potato's. When my food arrived I had forgotten that I ordered eggs and didn't see them on the plate, but upon looking closer the eggs where inside of the middle of the bread sunnyside up. I had never seen this before. It was delicous and very unique...goes to show, not every place is as it seems. The rest of the food was also very tasty.

Kudos to C.D.S., this is another fabulous place I will go back to visit.

Again with the warm water...hmmm lol

Pros: Location, Service, Food

Cons: Warm water :-)




This page has been viewed 5614 times.