Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
European
French
Honey
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Offers a selection of marked vegan starters and dishes, one vegan dessert. Note: dinner only - for lunch, vegan choices may be limited. Located next to Plaine de Plainpalais and Parc des Bastions in the building of the theater and cinema Grütli. Open Mon-Fri 8:00am-12:00am, Sat 4:00pm-1:00am, Sun 4:00pm-11:00pm.


Venue map for Cafe du Grütli
© OpenStreetMap contributors

24 Reviews

First Review by thierrylxb

the.picky.eater

Points +111

Vegetarian
16 Jan 2024

Artsy, friendly and delicious

Loved everything I had, menu was in French but staff was helpful

Pros: Staff, Food, Ambience

Cons: Only French menu

Advertisement

ThaïsHurni

Points +605

Vegan
26 Jul 2023

Super endroit!

Endroit cosy et décontracté! En été, il y a une super terrasse, très bien décorée et assez éloignée de la route - vraiment tranquille. Personnel super friendly, options véganes bonnes. Au top!

Pros: Options véganes , Lieu

nikandjap

Points +68

Vegan
26 Jul 2023

worth the money!

more than half of the menu is vegan, and a lot of gluten free options as well. we had the Tomme oriental and Tartare de seitan local. the Tomme oriental came with what seemed like a soft vegan cheese, which was super tasty. the Tartare was truly incredible overall, 5/5 stars.
it's a bit pricy, but maybe that's just Geneva. it was definitely worth it!

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-26

Pros: many vegan options, friendly staff

Cons: a bit pricy

ValentineD

Points +3013

Vegan
19 Jul 2023

Nice!

Good vegan options, nice terrace and friendly service.

AlizéeCharpilloz

Points +43

Vegan
11 Mar 2023

Amazing vegan options!

I already knew this place as it is a great cultural space in Geneva (my hometown) and the restaurant is famous for its good food.
I was honestly surprised with the high quality of the vegan options, that were not only creative, but were also made mainly with local and seasonal products and were extremely tasty and beautiful to look at.
I definitely recomend it!
Can seem a bit pricey, but the portions and quality of the food are worth the price.

Pros: A third of the menu was vegan with gf options!, Food tastes and looks amazing, Local products are mainly used in the food

Jeanne_C

Points +1307

Vegan
25 Jan 2023

Excellentes options véganes

Les plats véganes sont délicieux et magnifiques. Mais pas de dessert pour les véganes, sauf si on aime le matcha.

Cons: Un seul dessert végane

mavisuddha

Points +94

Vegetarian
27 Jul 2022

Used to be better

This restaurant is a cozy restaurant and a great option especially after going to an art event or film in the Grütli. Almost half of the menu is vegan (they've put hearts to indicate which ones) however it's rather on the expensive side.

I would have given five starts to this restaurant last year, as it had really creative options, great deserts and one of the best tofu dish I had in a while, but last time I went I noticed the quality seems to have dropped whilst the prices soared so I would think twice today.

Pros: Great location, really cozy, Creative menu

Cons: Expensive

EricaUssallala

Points +294

Vegan
25 Jul 2022

Awesome vegan food and super nice staff!

Loved the local fermented cheese and the service!

Pros: More than just one vegan option , Very tasteful

Cons: A bit pricey but worth it

Mond

Points +90

Vegan
02 Jul 2022

Thoughtful fine-dining

This was a wonderful experience. The Café du Grütli strives to serve ethical and sustainable cuisine. Although they serve meat and other animal products which doesn't go well with this ethical approach, they seem to realise there is an argument for veganism and made most of their offer vegan. The food was divine. You don't very often get a fine-dining experience as a vegan, but this was certainly one of these rare occassions. Definitively try it out for a slightly different vegan experience.

Pros: Fine-dining, Regional and ethically sourced products, Relaxed athmosphere

Cons: On the expensive side

MichalNisenbaum

Points +94

Vegan
07 Mar 2022

Nice restaurant good food

I had the tacos that were really tasty and good and the matcha pannacota. I would definitely go back again

MaëlleSanchez

Points +596

Vegan
31 Jan 2022

Chic et vegan friendly

Endroit très chic et nourriture très bonne. Beaucoup d’options vegan!

Pros: Délicieux , Très beau cadre

Cons: TRÈS cher

minimarimo

Points +110

Vegan
13 Jan 2022

Wonderful dinner

More than half the menu's vegan AND prepared with care! It's rather on the expensive side so be prepared to treat yourself.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Delicious, Fine food

TinieMelter

Points +194

Vegan
20 Nov 2021

Okay but probably need an acquired taste

We spotted this place one night and tried to get in but it was pretty busy so had to ring to book a table for the next night. Tried emailing them first but never got a response but ringing was fine as they spoke good english.

I personally enjoyed the Seitan Tagine, it was tasty. However others in the group weren’t keen on their dishes maybe need an acquired taste for some dishes.

The atmosphere in the place was lovely.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Vegan options clearly marked, large portions , Nice atmosphere

Cons: Have to ring to book a table as gets pretty busy

clersaez

Points +16

Vegan
04 Nov 2021

Nice to see "vegan" labels on a menu!

We were pleasantly surprised to see they have quite a few very creative and flavourful vegan options. We ordered the 'Salade Automnale' and the 'Blini's aux châtaignes' which had some salad, scones and cheese (from a local vegan cheese shop), really nice.

They also have some vegan main dishes, such as seitan and a burger. And a vegan dessert!

They open till late, the decoration is welcoming and the service was great.

Updated from previous review on 2021-11-04

Pros: Quite a few vegan options, "Vegan" labels throughout the menu, Flavourful and local produce

TravelingVegan19

Points +122

Vegan
16 Sep 2021

Perfect place for a group

Multiple vegan options, including dessert, clearly marked. Friendly and knowledgeable staff, very generous portions. The outdoor garden is lovely, and the inside looked cool, also. Would definitely recommend, especially if you're with non-vegans, since everyone will be happy.

talisma

Points +419

Vegan
09 Oct 2020

Tasty and creative vegan menu

Very central location. A lot of vegan options. Creative dishes. Friendly staff.

Pros: Good amount of vegan options

Beverin

Points +112

Vegan
22 Jul 2020

Friendly and very tasty!

Great and excellent vegan choices. Enjoyable snd relaxed atmosphere.

Pros: Vegan options , Friendly staff

rlepape

Points +25

Vegan
20 Oct 2019

Incontournable !

Une de mes deux adresses favorites à Genève : au moins 4 assiettes sont toujours proposées vegan, et toujours un dessert, avec quelques sorbets sans blanc d'oeuf (mention spéciale pour le chocolat de Sadé). La tomme de la Crèmerie Vegane est sublimée et varie selon les saisons, en étant à chaque fois délicieuse. Les autres plats ou salades sont également recherchées, créatives et pleines de saveurs.
Il y a malheureusement toujours un poisson et une viande proposées, mais ça permet aussi de toucher des personnes qui n'iraient pas dans un 100% vegan.
Les 3 gérantes sont parfaites, les producteurs sélectionnés, la monnaie Léman acceptée et la terrasse en été bondée : réservation conseillée.
Très bon rapport qualité prix pour Genève : de la grande cuisine à prix raisonnable.

ViajerosVeganos

Points +1226

Vegan
06 Oct 2019

Some great gourmet and fancy vegan options

Es un lugar muy rico, con buena atención y varias opciones veganas gourmet. Comimos 3 platos deliciosos, todos perfectamente presentados y sabores que no probábamos hace tiempo. No es barato, pero nada en Ginebra en barato. Las opciones vegetarianas que pidieron nuestros amigos se veían buenas también.

It is a very nice place, with good attention and several gourmet vegan options. We ate 3 delicious dishes, all perfectly presented and flavors that we had not tried for a long time. It's not cheap, but nothing in Geneva is cheap. The vegetarian options that our friend had looked good too.

SophieBob

Points +29

Vegetarian
19 Sep 2019

Au menu du jour, 1 plat vegan, 1 plat végétarien et 1 plat non-veg (25.-)

Toujours un délice. Des saveurs recherchées. En entrée une soupe, (aujourd’hui crème de lentilles) ou une salade verte, puis le plat principal toujours à tomber.

Pros: Le menu du jour vegan est toujours excellent, Autres options vegans ou végétarienne à la carte, CHF 25.- le menu du jour

Cons: Vaut mieux réserver a midi

VeganBruyere

Points +46

Vegan
11 Jul 2019

Nice ambiance. Good food. Friendly staff.

They change the menu often but there is always something on the menu that’s vegan. Food is very good. Love the terrace!

Vegancucc

Points +567

Vegan
28 Feb 2019

The grilled cashew cheese is a must try

60-70 per cent of the main dishes are vegan, and there were 2 vegan desserts. I had the grilled cashew cheese ('Tomme' style) on a spinach bed and with mushrooms. It was totally amazing. The risotto and the quinoa buddha bowl looked great too. Lively atmosphere. In the building there is a theater and a cinema too. They have exhibitions and other events there too, often with vegan food served. Highly recommended.

Pros: Fantastic food, Homey, nice environment, in the center

Cons: Serve fish, meat, diary

cyrilbiselx

Points +28

Vegan
09 Jan 2019

Loved it !

Adorable restaurant with MANY vegan options including local cashew cheese. A bit expensive but worth a try

thierrylxb

Points +92

Vegan
14 Oct 2018

Awseome Burger

There are a few vegan options on the menu. I had the Burger and it was delicious. It’s definitely worth it.




This page has been viewed 3428 times.