CactusCat Bar

  • FRIEND
  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 317 reviews )

Find

Calle Valldonzella 52, Barcelona, Spain, 08001

Vegan gastrobar offering all-day brunch, lunch, and dinner as well as monthly rotating menu focusing on Catalan and international cuisine. Serves fresh juices, smoothies, craft beers and wines. Makes vegan cakes and muffins in-house. English/Catalan/Spanish spoken.
Note December 2021: Restaurants in Spain may offer indoor dining. Restrictions regarding opening hours and capacity may vary by region, call ahead. Open Wed-Sun 12:00-17:00. Closed Mon-Tue.

Categories: Vegan, Mediterranean, Juice bar, Beer/Wine, Delivery, Take-out, European, Spanish

317 Reviews

First Review by whepper

SarahBCN

Points +24

Vegan
02 Dec 2021

Amazing Food & Friendly Staff

Great selection of dishes to choose from and good portion sizes. The atmosphere is chill and cosy and the staff are friendly and welcoming from the minute you enter! Highly recommend and will definetly be back!

Pros: Delicious food and good portion size, Chill and cosy atmosphere , Friendly staff

whatagooodboy

Points +251

Vegan
29 Nov 2021

Really good!

The lasagna and English breakfast were very good and the staff is super friendly

GallowsCalibrator

Points +1093

Vegan
28 Nov 2021

Absolute 5

CactusCat is a humble restaurant with top notch food, attention and prices. For this reason and it's unique friendliness it skyrocketed the charts of HappyCow years ago and still sits at the top comfortably.
The reason is not bc it's the fanciest place ever, but because it's uncontested ratio of quality to quantity to price to attention to detail.
It's not that the food ain't excellent, bc it absolutely is. Fresh, homemade, comforting. The menu is not very big but every dish is a winner. Prices are very fair for the quality. And the waiters are lovely people who will make you feel at home.

Don't expect haute cuisine, just a 5 start experience in the coziest most ethical space.

Updated from previous review on 2019-09-14

Advertisement

RaquelMoya

Points +16

Vegan
28 Nov 2021

Rico pero muy caro

El local pequeñito, personal muy atento y agradable. Lasaña top y para mi la tabla de quesos brutal. Probamos un poco de todo y la comida muy buena, pero el precio me parece súper excesivo.

Pros: Sabores logrados, Personal amable y atento

Cons: Muy caro para la comida que sirven

Jameskille

Points +3001

Vegan
26 Nov 2021

Absolute Must

You have to go more than once in order to try everything because there are so many amazing dishes. However the lasagne is an absolute MUST

The food is top drawer, almost has a homemade feel to it which I ❤️

It's hard to imagine how someone could go here and not give ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐, it's really not surprising it's Barcelona's top rated veggie restaurant.

Updated from previous review on 2021-03-27

Pros: Quality of food, Service , Reasonable priced

RomCampanelli

Points +68

Vegan
24 Nov 2021

Espacio tranquilo en medio del Raval

Este espacio vegan es un recreo mental en medio del a veces ruidoso barrio del Raval. Los dueños y la camarera son todos muy amables y la tostada y el café que me pedí, ambos deliciosos!
También tienen un pequeño espacio de venta de productos locales y las paredes exponen trabajos fotográficos e ilustrados.

ElizabethKiggins

Points +33

Vegan
23 Nov 2021

Great Place.

Staff welcomed in. Explained concept of restaurant and gave wonderrful reccomendations to a tired hungry traveler.

Pros: Great atmosphere, Value

Cons: None

RuiMonteiro

Points +16

Vegan
20 Nov 2021

Prefect

Food was super tasty. Good portions. People were very nice.

Pros: All vegan, Delicious food, Friendly people

Cons: No actual cats

hokusai77

Points +12794

Vegan
13 Nov 2021

Great experience, friendly staff

Great experience, very friendly staff and cosy place. We first started with patatas bravas, fried potato slices in aioli sauce and hot tomato sauce. We then ordered a full English breakfast with sausage, scrambled tofu, baked beans, potato fritters and mushrooms, while I had their sausage roll and a nice pumpkin soup. Definitely recommended.

Pros: Good food, Very friendly staff , Super cosy place

MiDella

Points +26

Vegan
10 Nov 2021

Restaurante vegano muy bueno

Restaurante vegano muy bueno y atendimiento perfecto

Pros: Muchas opciones, Lugar agradable, Atendimiento muy bueno

LunaGutiérrezMoreno

Points +102

Vegan
09 Nov 2021

Buenísimo, vegano y ecológico.

Está todo riquísimo! Puedes ir con no veganos y lo disfrutarán tanto como un vegano.
La lasaña y el pastel de chocolate están para morirse!!

Updated from previous review on 2021-11-09

Pros: Todo es vegano, Opciones de principales, entrantes, batidos/zumos, Personal súper amable

MairaS

Points +283

Vegan
08 Nov 2021

Go there for brunch

Awesome Full English Breakfast! My non-vegan bf loved it all. We also has a three-cheeses toast, absolutely delicious.

Pros: Great service and lovely staff, Quality food and big servings

Leelondon117

Points +496

Vegan
08 Nov 2021

Categorically excellent

Based in the vibrant university district is this wonderful fully vegan restaurant. The welcoming, plant strewn interior relaxes you immediately. Coupled with the extremely friendly waiter, the first impressions set the tone perfectly.

The patatas bravas were a great start, good sauces and potatoes cooked to perfection.

My main was a combo. First was the courgette soup with seeds. Extremely tasty and accompanied by wonderfully crispy bread. This was followed by fideau. I’d never had it before and was blown away by the flavours and textures. The avocado aioli stirred through the pasta, mushrooms. asparagus and peppers creates a rich, deep flavoured dish, sensational. The waiter was happy to discuss the history of and the chef’s relationship to the dish. I even went out and bought the specific pasta used in an effort to recreate the dish.

My daughter thoroughly enjoyed her all day breakfast. A huge plate of goodness, the tamari mushrooms were especially good.

For dessert we shared a chocolate muffin. To call it a muffin is selling it short. On top was a large helping of chocolate sauce and the size of the dessert was bigger than most restaurant’s cakes. The fact that it was sugar free makes you wonder why anyone bakes with sugar.

When I am next in Barcelona I will be back to try the rest of the menu. A must visit restaurant.

Pros: Lovely interior, Welcoming staff, Perfect food

LeFunks

Points +4673

Vegan
04 Nov 2021

Awesome lunch

Went here to check why it's been rated the top vegan restaurant worldwide and all I have to say is food, service and staff definitely deserve 5 stars.

Pros: original and tasty dishes, super nice staff make you feel at home

Cons: fideuá was a bit bland, muffins are the only choice for dessert

Chad_and_Emily

Points +1084

Vegan
31 Oct 2021

Paella with Pasta

Ver good service and excellent food. I love the paella and soup starter. The smoothie was delicious too.

singrun

Points +13

Vegetarian
30 Oct 2021

Espectacular

Tanto el trato como la comida son de 10. Nivelón de restaurante, un premio para la ciudad.

AnderElejalde

Points +16

Vegan
17 Oct 2021

Trato y comida inmejorable

Los platos están buenísimos y la relación calidad precio es increíble. El personal es muy amable desde el principio. A nosotros nos recomendaron muchos sitios para visitar y comer y nos ofrecieron ayuda en lo que hiciera falta.

Updated from previous review on 2021-10-17

Pros: La mejor comida vegana DEL MUNDO, Personal amable y cercano, Decoración acogedora

amiamaranta

Points +179

Vegan
04 Oct 2021

Best vegan spot in BCN

This was the best food we ate in the whole trip. Very lovely staff and even better food. Would recommend 100%.
We had the carpaccio and it was incredible!! Next we had the fideuá and was full of flavour! And you should definitely try one of their to die for cakes!

selmabf

Points +94

Vegan
02 Oct 2021

5 estrellas todavía sería poco

Fuimos hoy por primera vez y segurísimo que volveremos muchas más! La comida súper rica, todo muy casero y súper natural y saludable. Los batidos un encanto. El local súper acogedor y calmo. Y el personal muy amables y atentos con el cliente. Recomiendo al 100%.

Pros: 100% vegano , El trato al cliente, La comida buenísima

ALVAROGARCIAPASCA

Points +33

Vegan
02 Oct 2021

Lovely Place

Good Food, full vegan. We took a lentils salad, a lasagna and fideuá also some deserts. Very nice service.

Pros: Good environment, Tasty food

Cons: The cooker was eating while cooking

EmilyHansson

Points +310

Vegan
30 Sep 2021

Love this place!

Had the fideua (catalan paella with pasta)for lunch and it was the best we had in Barcelona

Pros: Service, Food

hamishkavanschlacken

Points +8

Non Veg
27 Sep 2021

Awesome little hole in the wall!

This little snack bar is a must see!

Upon arrival at the little bar in the trendy Raval barrio I was greeted by Carlos, one of the owners and waiter to our table. He was so friendly and accommodating from the get go.

I had the quinoa croquetas which were delicious with its red dipping sauce. I also had the spring rolls, so fresh and clean!

After these tapas I had the lasagne, I normally don’t order lasagne, but Carlos recommended it and I was literally blown away. So tasty!

I had a few of the local artisanal beers which were delicious and refreshing with great stories behind the breweries.

The venue is a cute, rustic hole in the wall with some great artists showcasing their work.

I highly recommend popping in to visit!

Updated from previous review on 2021-09-27

Pros: Food, Venue, Service

SimãoBotelho

Points +34

Vegan
23 Sep 2021

Número 1

Estou sentado no CactusCat bar enquanto escrevo esta review, depois de ter provado 3 dos pratos, umas maravilhosas patatas bravas e uns cupcakes buenísimos. Este é o número 1 dos bares/restaurantes vegan no mundo, não tem um estilo Fancy, não tem comida feita por chefes de alta categoria, não tem talheres banhados a prata, tem aquilo que todos os restaurantes vegan deveriam de ter, sinceridade. O espaço é honesto e por isso confortável, sinto-me em casa e sinto que todos que partilham a sala comigo são parte da minha família, a comida é boa, saborosa e saudável, e prova que não é preciso inventar, com processos morosos, técnicas de requinte, é só preciso combinar bons ingredientes da maneira correta.

Pros: Tudo Vegan e bom

Cons: Não ser em Portugal 😂

OriolLedesma

Points +19

Vegetarian
19 Sep 2021

Top 1 vegan in Barcelona

Probably one of the top strict vegan restaurant

MireyaBibiloni

Points +16

Vegan
18 Sep 2021

PARA REPETIR 100 veces

Es dificil encontrar auténticos restaurantes veganos con comida elaborada y deliciosa... en Barcelona lo hemos encontrado!! Todo un descubrimiento estando de hotel hemos pedido take away y hemos disfrutado enormemente! Una lasagna suculenta, unas lentejas gustosas y unos muffins que no habia comido en la vida!! Encima sin gluten y sin azucares! Que vengan a Mallorca!

Pros: Sabroso, Elaborado, Saludable

Cons: Racciones pequeñitas para comilones como nosotros

Kobli

Points +22

Vegan
18 Sep 2021

Buen restaurante, pero no el mejor

Comida buena, pero casera. Las expectativas son demasiado altas, para lo que son en realidad.

Pros: Buena atencion al cliente

Roger.M

Points +13

Vegetarian
17 Sep 2021

Nice customer service!!

Good food good service!!
Thanks

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Barcelona Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has CactusCat Bar closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 34695 times.