• Busboys and Poets - Carroll St

  • (16)
    28
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Pizza
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Gluten-free
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Operates multiple indy bookstore cafes with a progressive mindset that promotes local businesses. This one est. 2015. Menu marks the vegan, vegetarian, and gluten-free food options. Vegan choices include breakfast wrap and scramble, vegan sausage and bacon, burger and sandwich, mac n cheese, salad, soup, and pizza. Open Mon-Thu 7:00am-11:00pm, Fri 7:00am-12:00am, Sat 8:00am-12:00am, Sun 8:00am-11:00pm.


Venue map for Busboys and Poets - Carroll St
© OpenStreetMap contributors

16 Reviews

First Review by cookiem

AnnaMcCulloch

Points +99

Vegan
19 Mar 2023

Cute Eatery and Bookstore!

I had the vegan nachos, and they were yummy. They did not have vegan queso, but they had melted vegan shredded cheese.

Advertisement

ElissaBVegan

Points +2140

Vegan
15 Dec 2022

Lots of Tasty Vegan Options

The menu has a healthy selection of well-marked vegan options in every category. It's a really good place to go with an omnivore crowd. Nice atmosphere and good service. The avocado panini I had was delicious.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Tasty food , Very nice atmosphere

Mellalynnie

Points +250

Vegan
30 May 2022

That tempeh panini

it HITS!!!

And the crispy Brussel sprouts oh my GAWD.

The vegan pasta is also pretty good. Very strong sausage flavor to it for some reason.

I know they serve meat but I wanna give this 5 stars so bad they have sooooo many vegan options.

Pros: TEMPEH PANINI, Nice atmosphere

Cons: NONE!

Mr.K

Points +24

Vegan
01 Apr 2022

Nice!

My first time here. Lot's of vegan options. Staff are really nice and hard working. The book store is a plus too. They have many options.

Pros: Love the atmosphere , Black book store is a plus with good food!

Cons: None

50%Dakini

Points +618

Vegan
11 Jan 2020

Delicious food

Great combo of bookstore and eatery.

Pros: Lots of vegan options. Love the vegan tuna sandwic

Cons: Expensive, loud

Allgreen!

Points +48

Vegan
19 Sep 2019

Yum

Multiple delicious options, great atmosphere

Pros: Many options, Great atmosphere, Great wait staff

Cons: Food delivery can be slow

sam31786

Points +517

Vegan
17 Jul 2019

Best mac and cheese on earth, perhaps

This was my second visit, although the first time was 4 years ago, at a different location, and before I was vegan. I came here because of how great the food, drinks and atmosphere were the first time. This time was even better, somehow. My friend and I shared the crispy Brussels sprouts and the vegan Mac and cheese. The Brussels sprouts were so flavorful and delicious. That was, hands down, the best Mac and Cheese I’ve ever eaten in my entire life.
The service was on point and so polite.

Pros: Deliciously incredible food, Amazing service , Best Mac and cheese on earth possibly

Cons: There isn’t one of these on every block

cmadiraca26

Points +28

Vegan
03 Feb 2019

Five star!

I would give this a five star bc they have SO many vegan options. The vegan mac and cheese is absolutely amazing(even though had to send it back bc it was cold, busy staff was very friendly!)

Pros: Tons of vegan options, Cool atmosphere, Delicious!

LetiziaR

Points +83

Vegan
01 Jan 2019

Lovely atmosphere, great staff, tasty food

We had a great experience at Busboys and Poets. There were a lot of vegan choices on their menu, great variety for us to pick from We had the vegan pizza, chik'n sandwich, vegan pulled beef sandwich, vegan nachos, and the mediterranean pasta. All the dishes were great. The best thing we ate was the vegan brownie with vanilla ice cream, what a way to finish a delightful dinner.

Pros: Nice atmosphere, Lots of choices for vegans, Great staff

Cons: Bathroom not the cleanest

Derina

Points +477

Vegan
23 Oct 2018

Great community space with lovely brunch

This outpost of Busboys and Poets is consistent with others throughout the city - open community space, clearly marked vegan and gluten-free options, and progressive values. Ordered the tofu scramble brunch plate, which was more than enough food (large portion of scramble, toast with butter and jam, and side of fruit). The servers were attentive and very friendly.

Pros: Friendly staff, Nice ambience, Progressive values

Herbiv4

Points +1793

Vegan
14 Aug 2018

Worth the trip into the city!

I think I sampled more than half of their vegan options (I even ordered some food to take home for the next day). Plenty of clearly labeled vegan/vegetarian options for all three courses. They even have a vegan rosé on the menu. My waiter (John) was great! I will definitely return here.

Pros: Vegan options for all 3 courses, Friendly staff, Nice area

mimiveganloca

Points +45

Vegan
17 Jun 2018

Great Brunch Spot

I love coming here for an after church brunch with family and friends. The art, the music, and the customer service are great, and the plethora of vegan choices is truly satisfying!

Pros: Lots of vegan food choices.

Cons: No carry out during brunch on Sundays

CColors

Points +166

Vegan
18 Feb 2017

Favorite Local Restaurant

I frequent this place for small and large group gatherings. They serve a good variety of food for almost everyone. The vegan and vegetarian options are clearly marked. Coconut Tofu Bites (starter) is always a winner with everyone - highly recommend this. My personal favorite is the Vegan Tuna Salad Sandwich (with chickpeas) - a nice comfort food.

Pros: Spacious, Wonderful selection of books, Close to Metro (train)

Cons: Service sometimes slow

kim2121

Points +449

Vegetarian
07 Jun 2016

Good Place for Out of Town Guests

Busboys and Poets and Founding Farmers are really similar to me. They both have some good vegan options and nice ambiance, but are really the places I think to bring guests who aren't from DC and who perhaps also eat meat (like my family). This location in Takoma is big and my mom really loves their salads.

I will also sometimes stop by for happy hour, even without out-of-town relatives in tow. I like the vegan seitan beef sliders on their happy hour menu, as well as their selection of beers. I had my sister try the sliders (she's a vegetarian) and she wasn't really a fan. Anyway, I like them, and I also like their vegan cheesecake. This location can also be a nice place to read a book or study, and there's outdoor seating (dog-friendly) for when the weather is nice. Overall, I like this place.

Punkprose

Points +24

Vegan
02 Apr 2016

I like the limited number of things I can eat

I like Busboys for the decor, ambiance, events, and overall community presence, and the dishes I can eat there are really good. They have a number of vegan options. I am unable to eat gluten, and the issue is that they also have a good amount of gluten free dishes - but not a lot that overlap between the two categories. It would be so wonderful and inclusive if they could at least have more dishes that can be modified to adjust for people needing both.

cookiem

Points +5837

Vegan
02 Apr 2016

Classic B&P fare and feel

This location is the newest one yet of the Busboys & Poets local group of cafes that serve brekkie, brunch, lunch, dinner and some late evening vittles.

The menu is the same! Coffee with non-dairy milk, menu marked with leaves for vegan and V for vegetarian and even gluten free markings. They have plenty to choose from like pancakes, French toast, tofu scrambles, salads, fries that are sweet potato or regular or home, nachos, soup, falafel, paninis and entrées.

The bookstore and bar areas are chill, and the space for seating inside and outside is plentiful. The staff is nice and attentive. Great choice for a mixed group of diners.

Pros: Marks vegan, Almond milk lattes, Marks gluten free

Cons: Serves meat




This page has been viewed 4031 times.