Vegan
Western
Delivery
Bakery
Malaysian

Opened Oct 2015. Small, meatless cafe serving coffee, cakes, vegan and vegetarian food. Delivery available via DeliverEAT.my. Relocated from 80, Persiaran Midlands. Reported fully vegan September 2022. Additional phone: 0126648414. Breakfast 8-11am. Open Mon-Wed 8:00am-10:00pm, Fri-Sun 8:00am-10:00pm.


Venue map for Brown Poodle
© OpenStreetMap contributors

39 Reviews

First Review by JessieLim

maaaarteenn

Points +155

Vegan
24 Feb 2024

Fancy and delicious vegan food

We had the vegan rendang, which was perfect, because we love rendang and it was delicious. We also had the kimchi soup, which was nice but a bit too spicy for us. And we absolutely loved the cake.

Advertisement

matse

Points +855

Vegan
23 Feb 2024

Great breakfast place

This is a great place to visit for breakfast. They serve typical Western food like burgers or pizza, but also things like Miso noodles or Kimchi noodles. They also have a variety of very interesting cakes.

Pyke

Points +77

Vegan
05 Feb 2024

Nutmeg ice tea is sweet

Food and drink is excellent. I went a bit premium with a fancy burger and the nutmeg ice tea but you can go much more price conscious

I had the Bubble Ice Nutmeg Lemon and STP Power Up Plus Burger (a mouthful on many levels). See attached photos.

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-05

Kaya&Brad

Points +1484

Vegan
23 Jan 2024

Great place!

Nothing not to love! Staff, decor and food all amazing. Extensive menu full of options and cuisines. Service was polite and welcoming, food was fast and delicious. We got a chocolate smoothie and matcha late for drinks. Burger and fish and chips for main, both decent portions and well priced. Great taste, they had a lot of sauce in the burger which I like but if you don’t maybe ask for on the side.

Got the Black Forest cake for dessert. Light and fluffy, so good!

Would say pricing is moderate rather than inexpensive. Price is really good but more moderate pricing for Malaysia. #Veganuary

Pros: Menu , Decor, Food

DanTheVeganMan

Points +44

Vegan
21 Jan 2024

Vegan place with class

I am writing this while (or right after) eating as I am really impressed. Shroom party snack platter to share, miso soup for myself, burger for my wife, taste is amazing. Cakes as well and we can barely walk now. 😀😀😀 #Veganuary

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-21

Pros: Fast service , Great taste, Quite fast service.

Cons: No dislikes.

pdcope

Points +30

Vegan
21 Jan 2024

Highlight of our trip so far!

What a find! Friendly staff, great menu and the dishes we selected were wonderful!
I couldn't rate this restaurant high enough😁. It even had a pet seating area in the corner so you can share the experience with your furry friend.

Pros: Menu variety, Friendly staff, Great prices.

GillVHibbitt

Points +638

Vegan
20 Jan 2024

Delicious food

Went for the vegan cheesy curry. Soo tasty.
Good espresso too.
Vegan dog treats 😊

Pros: Friendly staff, Delicious and original food, Light, airy restaurant

theNumberOfTheBeast

Points +4054

Vegan
17 Jan 2024

🌈🌈🌈 Sunshine and Rainbows 🌈🌈🌈

So cute I could die. Just look at those frickin puppies on the menu? If you dislike this cafe, you should call your doctor immediately and tell em your ticker is all tuckered out and to script you a bottle of the hard stuff tout suite to put yourself out of your incurable misery, because you're already gone.

No denying the cafe is in a crap location in a strip mall twenty minutes by car from the center of town, but it's worth it. I'd be here every freaking day if I were local. I might even adopt a bushel of babies just to have people to bring here and spread the joy this casual cafe inspires. My toast was great, smoothie and coffee too were spot on.

Thanks Puppies!!

#Veganuary

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-17

Pros: food, coffee, clean

Dhanhyaa

23 Jan 2024

Wow, who let the pups out?😍😍😍🐶🐶🐶

Jcj3ssi3

Points +1196

Vegetarian
05 Jan 2024

Excellent food and vibes

I had the original burger with a mushroom patty and it was super good! The bun was soft, the mushroom was fried to a perfect crispness and the sauce paired really well. The chips was also really crispy and delicious. The soup of the day was cauliflower and it was creamy and thicc 🥴 I also tried my partners teriyaki katsu, first of all the miso soup packed a ton of flavour but was light at the same time. The yellow rice added a second layer of flavour which was really good. Overall everything was very good. Bonus points: toilets were super clean I appreciate that

Jinger

Points +51

Vegan
05 Jan 2024

Good Food & good drinks

Really nice little cafe. Enjoyed it very much.

Sabry

Points +24

Vegan
12 Dec 2023

Best vegan drinks in Penang

The food is really good, both western and asian but the drinks are just wonderfull, everyone in Penang should try the cheesy cold chocolate

kasha333

Points +38

Vegetarian
31 Oct 2023

Charming

The brown poodle itself greeted us at the door with a woof when we entered! Many choices on the menu, excellent service, delicious food. We tried a classic black bun burger, kimchi soup and a salad with deep fried mushrooms, salted caramel cake for dessert. The portions were generous and we ended up taking some home along with an order of nasi goreng to have the next day. Would eat here again if we come back to Penang.

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-31

Pros: A lot of choices, Lovely staff, Charming decor

Cons: chairs a bit uncomfortable

solberry

Points +124

Vegetarian
31 Oct 2023

Delicious food

Yet another gem in Penang! I ordered a variety of entrees and drinks, including curry rendang, curry rendang pizza, fries, mushroom salad, and more. Everything was so delicious, I ended up getting the avocado smoothie and salad for takeaway! The fries were especially delicious. I highly recommend trying their drinks and affogato too - very good!! If I'm back in the area, I will return!

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-31

shyshy

Points +55

Vegetarian
15 Oct 2023

Nice vegan food

The food is nice, cosy eating place, friendly staff.

Pros: Food , Decoration, Staff

Cons: Bit pricy

Charly0993

Points +959

Vegan
12 Oct 2023

Is this heaven?

I tried the runaway chicken burger, hash browns, one of their noodle soups and a piece of cake with cappuccino during my time in Penang and everything was delicious :). Staff was very friendly and I loved their interior.

AshaKaur

Points +26

Mostly Veg
17 Sep 2023

Delicious

Food was 5/5 .
Ordered Runaway Chicken Burger & Miso Soup Noodle .
Ambience was amazing & staff was great.
Well spread menu ( local & western )

Pros: Food excellent, Staff great, Ambience cozy

Cons: Waiting time long

david_droes

Points +3363

Vegan
15 Sep 2023

Simply amazing!

Vegan heaven! 🌿 All the food is vegan, and super tasty. From salads, to rice and noodle dishes, pasta, burger, pizza, cake and more desserts, this place has it all. The interior is stylish and cozy, staff is kind and helpful and the general atmosphere is thus very relaxing. It’s a bit outside of town but well worth a trip!

Pros: Try their cheesy curry rendang bake! , Don’t miss the cakes

nodorm11

Points +70

Vegan
29 Mar 2023

Mala Hot Pot Noodle

I had a craving for a burg so I got the Runaway chicken that was good but not five stars. I saw the mala hot pot noodles and added as well. So good. Five stars. Even delivered this was still piping hot. And amazing. Tingly, spicy and the depth of flavor I’ve only had in China. Get these noodles.

Pros: Fast easy delivery on grab, Tons of options

Cons: Payment was tricky

GeRich

Points +367

Vegan
20 Feb 2023

Great quality food

We fancied western food and picked the perfect place here (although were we staying longer would definitely go back to try the local cuisine on the menu). Excellent value for money- the portions were huge. Certainly my best fish and chips in South East Asia! Highly recommend. Great chilled ambience there too!

quirino

Points +1049

Herbivore
27 Jan 2023

Ordered on Grab

Had three burgers. The white bun burger (runaway or smth like that) was unexpectedly my favorite. Keep it up

MushroomFreak

Points +116

Vegetarian
10 Dec 2022

Eat here when in Penang

Stylish interior, super friendly staff and delicious food!

Updated from previous review on 2022-12-10

VeganFoodQuest

Points +1463

Vegan
30 Sep 2022

Amazing burger and delicious pasta

We ordered a chicken burger, truffle pasta and a salad, all were excellent, impossible to fault. Would happily order exactly the same three dishes again!

kengheng

Points +30

Non Veg
19 Jul 2022

I chose poorly

Came by a week ago n found a surprising notice on this homely wall announcing sudden closure for a day. Had to return to see what the hype was all about. Busy lunch time. After my meal a brown poodle fan advised the best choice is baked curry rice. Next time ….

Pros: Hard working staff, Good lunch sets, Decent price point

Cons: Did not like my “fish” n chips , Soup was watery but croutons tasty

woozfu

Points +115

Vegetarian
28 May 2022

Foodie

Nice Food, cozy environment and reasonable price

Pros: Nice foods, Reasonable price, Cozy environment

DannyDavidson

Points +201

Vegan
19 Jun 2020

Top notch

Everything I’ve tried from here is incredible. My new favorite restaurant in Penang

Pros: Excellent vegan cheese and flavors

KinanDawa

Points +21

Vegetarian
11 Oct 2019

Wonderful food

The place is cozy and warm and the people there are friendly

JyhHueiChong

Points +26

Vegan
26 Sep 2019

Nice place

I like their menu, quite special. Will come again definitely.

Pros: Vegan friendly

Cons: Small space




This page has been viewed 15762 times.