Vegan
American
Thai
Take-out

Look for "Thai Vegan" signage. Restaurant est. 2008 offering and extensive menu of Thai dishes plus a few American fare (veggie burger and fries). Choice of soy meat or tofu as protein in the Thai dishes. Daily lunch specials. Small place, open kitchen, and busy on the weekends (expect a wait). Open Mon-Tue 11:00am-10:00pm, Thu-Sun 11:00am-10:00pm. Closed Wed. Remains open for take-out orders until 10pm.


Venue map for Bright Star
© OpenStreetMap contributors

100 Reviews

First Review by VegInCA

Ssrocker17

Points +20

Vegan
20 Feb 2024

No clear vegan GF options

They seated us quickly which was good. I was disappointed that they didn’t clearly state what was gluten free and what wasn’t on their menu. The waiter said that all their soy meats had gluten. I got the vegan pho and I appreciated that he said he would remove the soy sauce because it wasn’t gluten free. I ordered their fried potatoes and he said the sauce had gluten. Ultimately I was left with a disappointingly bland meal. I had tofu water with rice noodles and dried potatoes. My husband got the vegan curry which he liked. Overall, I won’t go back unless they update their menu to include vegan gluten free options.

Pros: Parking, Fast seating, Comfortable booths

Cons: Do not specify on the menu what is/isn’t gluten fr, Bathroom could be better maintained.

Advertisement

Alyssa.Rosa

Points +118

Vegan
28 Sep 2023

Always a Delight

I always enjoy the food when I visit. The portions are a good size and the food is delicious. Definitely worth stopping by.

IonicDreams

Points +26

Vegan
06 Aug 2023

Great tai food

Good quality food for a reasonable price and it's popular with vegans and non-vegans

Pros: Food , Price, Parking

Cons: Wait time

msridhar

Points +33

Vegetarian
12 Mar 2023

Excellent Thai Vegan

Bright Star is our regular place for vegan Thai; we've either eaten there or gotten takeout dozens of times. The food is consistently flavorful and delicious. We've ordered a wide variety of things from the menu and never had a bad experience. Also, if you like, they can make all their dishes without garlic or onions, which is a big plus for us.

CameronTepper

Points +32

Vegan
28 Jan 2023

Not amazing, but nostalgically great

This restaurant is OG for Rancho when I was in highschool, I will always love this place because it was one of the few places I could go that had more than one vegan option in high school and college. I had my first red and green curry here in 2007.

Reasonably priced and that said, it is not amazing food. The vegetables are frozen and they steam it with pre made sauces. But the rice is solid.

Fueled by nostalgia I’ll never say a bad thing about it.

Pros: Good variety, Cute local spot for the inland empire , Good prices

Cons: Very general food

Forakora

Points +475

Vegan
25 Jan 2023

Thai is my fave

And this place is in the tops!
Tons of flavor, tons of options, perfectly sized portions. Best Tom Yum soup I've ever had, and the Thai green tea is a must

Pros: Everything is vegan!, Everything is delicious!

ReginaReynoso

Points +204

Vegan
19 Jan 2023

One of my favorite places

One of the first places I went as a vegan and years later they still have the best papaya salad I’ve ever had. #Veganuary

Pros: 100% vegan, Appropriately priced

AndrewDanny

Points +122

Vegan
12 Nov 2022

Blend food

One plate of fried rice thst is almost tasteless and a lemonade for $22. Extremely expensive for what it is. There are better vegan Thai restaurant around. I can’t recommend this place.

Pros: All vegan menu, Service is fast

Cons: Very expensive

thetravelingvegan

Points +1062

Vegan
09 Sep 2022

Vegan heaven

Why can’t all restaurants be like this?? Total vegan Heaven. The Mongolian beef is way better than the real thing. All the meat analogues are beyond sensational. The food comes out quick and fresh says the menu is extensive so you’ll have to come back over and over again. This is seriously one of the best vegan restaurants I’ve ever eaten at.

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-09

dqsmith

Points +150

Vegan
22 Jul 2022

Great Vegan Food

Back again, you can’t go wrong at this eatery. If I am traveling to California from Vegas, this spot is on the itinerary.

I live in Las Vegas and passed by this place in June 2012 after eating at another Rancho C. vegan establishment on the way back home. I had to wait 6 months to get back to LA so i could try this place out. IT WAS WORTH IT !! The portions sizes were good, big chunks of vegetables and plenty of them. We ordered two appetizers, two large soups, one small soup, and 3 entree's. The price was right and worth the wait. There are very few vegan eateries (or vegetarian for that matter)in Las Vegas so anytime I can get into a vegan restaurant it is a good thing.

Updated from previous review on 2019-07-28

Pros: Fresh vegetables, See the cooking area, Clean & A grade rating

Cons: Too far from Las Vegas

samiriosv

Points +28

Vegan
22 Jun 2022

Amazing food & service!

I love coming to bright star. The staff has always been so welcoming and thoughtful. Their Thai tea, spring rolls, pad Thai, drunken noodles, and soy chicken are my favorites! I will forever be a returning customer to bright start and continue to recommend it to people.

Pros: Attentive staff, Good Portions , Great Value

Zombiecynthia

Points +4634

Vegan
10 Apr 2022

Vegan Wholesomeness Since 2008

Memory lane here we come! I’m not sure if I readily recall this location exactly but I totally remember the name! Wow - super awesome being back in the area visiting my alma mater and getting to go back to see spots thriving that I would frequent! I came at dinner to see a good size crowd, the restaurant is small, but the personnel/staff/service/food is totally worth it! Highly recommend their specials, I had the Dinner Special (Orange Chicken). I ATE EVERYTHING! Would totally come back - they have so many choices you may surely try them all!

Pros: ALL VEGAN 🤤 , Friendliest Staff/Personnel, Wholesomeness - I just felt peaceful while here

Cons: Cozy Establishment (i.e., small dinning area)

RiseInAwe

Points +50

Vegan
16 Feb 2022

So Yummy!

I love their pad thai, coconut thai ice tea, rolls! Everything I've tried is amazing!

Pros: Tons of options, Everything tastes fresh

dleviton

Points +16

Vegan
23 Dec 2021

Our favorite local restaurant

We take out from here every week

Pros: They remember us. , Spicy Eggplant without oil on request , Delicious

Cons: Closed Wednesday

WeCanVeGan

Points +255

Vegan
10 Dec 2021

Lots of choices!

Welcoming staff, with a menu that has plenty of options! I’m excited to go again to try some more! Only downside, the lunch specials were a bit smaller than I expected (at least the Pad Thai).

Pros: Lots and lots of options!

Cons: Smaller sample size (for the pad Thai)

ScottCline

Points +2673

Vegan
16 Nov 2021

I really wanted to love it!

I ordered the Bright Star rolls and the Spicy Rad Nar. I enjoyed the rolls and the dipping sauce but was disappointed with the Spicy Rad Nar. It was not spicy. It did not have a very deep flavor and really lacked any spice. It was just OK. Serving size is plenty for two.

Pros: 100% vegan, Lots of choices and big portions, Bright Star rolls are good

Cons: Not flavorful although labeled as spicy

Notstevie

Points +1232

Vegan
15 Oct 2021

Good stuff!

I had a good time eating yummy vegan food here with my buddies and pals!

Pros: Super cheap

VulcanVegan

Points +319

Vegan
24 Sep 2021

Amazing Vegan Thai

Food was wonderful! Best vegan Thai I've ever had. I really enjoyed the Pad Thai and my fiance loved his Chow Mein. I was really impressed with the soy shrimp. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hopeluvsfood

Points +30

Vegan
30 May 2021

First Vegan Restaurant I Ate at Before Becoming Vegan

I have ordered from here several times, and I have never been disappointed. The staff is very friendly. My favorite dish currently is the pineapple fried rice. Delicious! My family, who are not vegetarian or vegan, like the food too.

Pros: Great Variety

KenBeebe

Points +74

Vegan
18 Apr 2021

Stupid! Take out only!

Rode there on a Harley.. turned around and walked out... ridiculous.. get on with life already and manage some limited indoor seating

3u!u

Points +132

Vegan
11 Dec 2020

Favorite Restaurant

I’ve been eating at Bright Star since they opened, and I remember being worried when I was the only patron during dinner time. How things have changed - now it’s always full! This is one of those rare places that you can close your eyes and point to anything on the menu with the assurance that it’ll be delicious. Don’t miss this place; it’s truly spectacular!

marriedavegan

Points +410

Mostly Veg
28 Oct 2020

Super Good Thai

We have been here many times, it is my mother in law’s favorite. Huge menu. Everything we have had was good particularly like the vegetable tempura, pad see ew, orange tofu. All the curry is very good. Tom kha and Tom yum soup both very good. Only downside is place is really small with just a few tables so when you could in eat, there often is a wait.

Pros: Huge menu with Thai, Chinese, Japanese , Reasonably priced, Everything is good

Cons: Really small

Vegan_Newbie

Points +64

Vegan
22 Sep 2020

Amazing Vegan Thai Food

I love this place! The food is so delicious. I was super happy to find a vegan Thai food spot in the area. Also, the Thai tea here is the BEST! Definitely give it a try. You won’t be disappointed.

Pros: Full vegan menu , Decent prices

Ladulé

Points +604

Vegan
28 Aug 2020

Authentic, delicious, affordable, lively

It's always packed because the food is so delicious and authentic.

Pros: Authentic, delicious, well priced, good portions

Cons: Always full and have to wait

georgewatt

Points +30

Vegan
21 Jul 2020

Best thai food

Best vegan place in rancho, order here all the time and I’m never disappointed

Pros: Fast service , Always quality, Endless options

Cons: Staff isn’t mean but also isn’t very friendly

celestecc

Points +32

Vegan
15 Jun 2020

Really good thai food

Great place to go with a friend or order take out. I love pad see ew and I especially love having a place to go where I never have to worry about fish sauce or things like that in my food. I love this quaint little restaurant :)

Destenny_

Points +30

Vegan
09 Jun 2020

Amazing

I come here at least once a week I’ve always loved the food. I always get the spicy chow mien with chicken also the fried pineapple fried rice is good. The orange chicken is bomb along with its soups and currys!! Everything here is just delicious and worth it, it’s definitely worth a try!

Pros: The whole menu is vegan options , Friendly , Delicious

Cons: Can be expensive, Can be a long wait




This page has been viewed 26410 times.