• Bread and Chocolate

  • (24)
    23
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
American
Caribbean
Costa Rican
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Food includes veggie sandwich, gazpacho, bagels, salads, biscuits with mushroom gravy, crispy potatoes with jerk sauce, smoothies, and possibly vegan cake. Open Tue-Sat 6:30am-6:30pm, Sun 6:30am-2:30pm.


Venue map for Bread and Chocolate
© OpenStreetMap contributors

24 Reviews

First Review by wendystrebe

Loenny

Points +1234

Vegan
22 Jun 2023

Good and filling

I went there at 7am in the morning to try an avocado sandwich or bagel. They did not have any avocado yet so I went for the potatoes with bbq sauce. Well, it was quite good and more than enough but it’s more of a lunch dish than a 7am breakfast. My mistake, I’ll be back to try the bagel. The coffee was good and the service friendly. Vegan options are not clearly labeled but the staff will help you out.

Pros: Vegan options, Friendly service

Cons: Vegan options not clearly labeled as such

Advertisement

YzzyGrace

Points +140

Vegan
09 Jun 2023

Delicious avocado bagel and chocolate cake!

Loved this little cafe. Open early for breakfast and although there aren't too many vegan options they were very tasty. Had to go back later to try their delicious chocolate cake! A welcome treat in Costa Rica which isn't that great for vegan food! My mum had scrambled eggs which she said were very nice. Great coffee too.

AndrewBee

Points +66

Vegan
21 Feb 2023

Open for breakfast

Our initial plan was a different place, but unfortunately was not open until 11am - which seems to be common in the area.

This place was open, and well reviewed so we gave it a go.

Not many options for vegan, but they are able to adapt some to vegan requirements.

Good coffee

Vegan Chocolate cake is RIDICULOUS! Take my money😋

Pros: Tasty food, Helpful staff, Bagels ARE vegan

Cons: Not many options, Bread is NOT vegan

christine72786

Points +569

Vegan
07 Jan 2023

Great Breakfast Spot

This family owned restaurant takes lots of pride in their food! It was so delicious we ate their twice on our trip! Loved everything I ordered! #Veganuary

Cello

Points +373

Vegan
11 Oct 2022

Okay, nothing special, expensive

Not many vegan options, expensive, but tasty

Vegan_77

Points +223

Vegan
14 Aug 2021

Vegan options

Great flavors, great atmosphere, vegan options

DianeHinkley

Points +28

Vegan
02 May 2021

Not very good food & no vegan desserts

I had the potatoes with jerk sauce. The sauce was super sweet and it didn't come with any fruit or vegetables. Waited a long time on a Sunday morning to seat and get food. And when I ask the waitress about vegan desserts she said they didn't have them.

Pros: Maybe an on different day they would have desserts

Cons: Very limited options, No good tasting food, So-so service

shizow

Points +638

Vegan
30 Jan 2021

Vegan options are extremely limited

Unless you just like a salad

jencor

Points +105

Vegan
21 Nov 2020

Best vegan chocolate cake

Lunch was tasty with gaspacho, a green mixed salad with balsamic vinegar. Also sandwich was vegetarian and well done.
You are asked to wash your hands before sitting down. All waiters wearing masks. Clean and safe place.

Pros: Vegan options available. , We did not taste, they make their own chocolate

Nathan

Points +2089

Vegan
15 Oct 2020

Ok. Not great for vegan or GF.

Ate brunch here and wasn’t so impressed. There aren’t many options for vegans or someone with gluten intolerance. My partner and I basically ordered a large salad (no bread) with a side of potatoes. It’s also expensive for what you get. The even charged $1 US for a glass of water which I thought was pretty silly.

Cons: Expensive , Very little vegan options

AndreasM

Points +1046

Vegan
08 Feb 2020

Sweets

Good food, not the best in town though. They are good with sweets

vögelan

Points +347

Vegan
31 Jul 2019

good food

The gazpacho and garden salad were really delicious and light. The potatoes with BBQ Jerky sauce was good but for a whole meal not enough veggies. all three together were really good though. they have vegan chocolate cake (which we didnt try) and sell their own chocolate as well. Not so many vegan options and nowhere is marked what is vegan and what not.

Pros: good food, good ambience

Cons: vegan options not marked

kati.jg

Points +37

Vegetarian
28 Apr 2019

Best veggie breakfast in Purto Viejo!

So many options and such lovely food, we were gutted we only found it on our last day here as it was def the best place for breakfast and fairly priced, I had cinnamon and oatmeal pancakes with a fruit cup and other half had granola

gabrielle&indy

Points +34

Vegan
12 Jan 2019

Okay

The few vegan options are not marked on the menu and the food was okay. The potato salad was great.

TofuBendito

Points +35

Vegetarian
20 Mar 2018

Sándwich vegetariano y sándwich mattwich

Cada vez que voy a Puerto Viejo hago lo posible por ir a desayunar a Bread and Chocolate. Los desayunos son increíbles. Esta vez fuimos a hora de almuerzo, así que, a pesar que sirven desayunos todo el día, nos decidimos por aventurarnos a probar los sándwiches. Pedimos el sándwich vegetariano y el mattwich. La verdad no nos gustó tanto. Los desayunos son mucho más ricos.

Review compleot en https://tofubendito.wordpress.com/2018/03/20/sandwiches-de-bread-and-chocolate/

Vegnut318

Points +87

Vegan
15 Mar 2018

Very tasty breakfast/lunch spot

Crispy Sauteed Potatoes w/ Homemade Jamaican Jerk BBQ Sauce and Biscuits w/ Mushroom gravy were so good!!!

glamborous

Points +20

Vegetarian
07 Feb 2018

yummy lunch

The place is quiet... it’s just off the Main Street.
The covered outdoor seating area is comfortable with fans overhead.
There is free WiFi.
We ordered gazpacho and grilled cheese to share. Sandwich came with a side salad. We also ordered fresh lemonade with ginger. It was offered to us sweetened or unsweetened. We chose sweetened.
Everything was fresh, well prepared and delicious.
We also ordered dessert. The specials of the day were coconut creme pie (which they were out of) and blackberry cheesecake. We got the cheesecake, and ate it too fast to take a picture.
Menu items are listed in both English and Spanish. There is a HUGE selection of fine desserts and chocolates.

ZoeMackenzie

Points +64

Vegetarian
02 Feb 2018

Best eggs ever!

Went for breakfast and got the scrambled eggs on wheat bread with little crispy potatoes and avocado. It was the most delicious breakfast I've had in ages! The menu makes it clear that the eggs are locally sourced organic ones 👍 also had freshly squeezed orange juice and a vegan brownie, both so good! Can't wait to go back while we're still nearby!

Pros: Vegan options, eggs local and organic, delicious f

MikaChristina

Points +262

Vegan
07 Dec 2017

Great breakfast/lunch place

Went here with a lot of friends when I was volunteering in Costa Rica. Something for everybody, we went there everyday for the duration of our stay in Puerto Viejo. The veggie sandwich was great for breakfast and got the vegan chocolate cake and some small chocolates in the afternoons.

Pros: Veggie options, Vegan desserts

mellyglueckskecks

Points +34

Vegan
10 Mar 2016

Nicht aufzufinden

leider haben wir das cafe nicht gefunden.
bei den angegebenen gps koordination befand sich ein resort, die das cafe nicht kannten

aruggiero

Points +26

Vegan
23 Apr 2010

Wonderful Food!

We ate lunch at Bread and Chocolate 2 times last week and it was wonderful. We had the veggie sandwich with salad and the vegetables were so fresh it was AMAZING! The peanut butter cups are made from peanut butter that is made in house and they are wonderful. This is one of the most popular restaurants in Puerto Viejo and for good reason!

Pros: Great staff, Freshest food anywhere, Plenty of vegetarian options

Cons: A bit pricey

veganstastebetter

Points +205

Vegan
13 Feb 2010

hot and loud but tasty

I must have gone on a bad day. No vegan cake for me. I had a tasty veg sandwich, although a bit small. The ginger lemonade was pretty amazing. Prices were way out there though. Nothing is really as cheap as I expected in Costa Rica, this place is definately tourist prices.
We were the only people eating there. The rest of the people just seemed to be hanging out playing dominoes very loudly. Its nice to sit outside but even in the shade it was 41 degrees, celsius. A fan would be a good suggestion.

Pros: nice patio, good healthy food

Cons: noisy, hot

waxnumber3

Points +52

Vegan
14 Jan 2009

Tasty food, nice atmosphere

My partner and I were recently in Puerto Viejo and visited Bread and Chocolate more than once. We were so excited to find vegan chocolate cake! The ginger lemonade is amazing, as were the women working there.

Pros: friendly staff, vegan cake!, healthy options

Cons: could use more vegan options

wendystrebe

Points +48

Vegan
28 Oct 2007

fantastic place!!

I love the food here... gazpacho, homemade bagels, veggie sandwiches, oatmeal pancakes, all homemade.

Pros: fresh, great choices, healthy

Cons: slow, can be crowded




This page has been viewed 4676 times.