• Bookish

  • (11)
    7
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Pizza
Western
Fast food
Take-out
British
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Small cafe attached to a bookstore. Offers a selection of vegan items on the menu from pizza to sandwiches as well as a few vegan cakes. Has soya milk for hot drinks and smoothies. Open Mon-Sat 09:00-17:30, Sun 10:00-16:00.


Venue map for Bookish
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by Vegan_Jules

JudeT

Points +32

Vegan
27 Oct 2023

Pleasant small cafe

Limited vegan selection (much less than earlier reviews indicate) but we enjoyed the dhal. One vegan cake (brownie) available. A shame they don’t indicate vegan (or vegetarian) options on their menu.

Advertisement

LoraLondon

Points +187

Vegan
11 Sep 2023

Bookshop cafe with vegan options

Nice little cafe with friendly staff which always has some vegan options such as bean chilli, soup, roast veg & humous sandwich. They also had vegan cheese, spread & mayo and were happy to adapt anything on the menu to be vegan (i.e. pizzas, toasted sandwiches). We had the special which was a cheese & kimchi toasted sandwich (which they made vegan), which was rather unusual and very tasty.

Pros: Friendly staff, Happy to adapt menu, Nice decor and surroundings

Cons: Only a few options

KT001

Points +1338

Vegan
23 Aug 2022

Great little cafe with plenty of vegan options on their menu

The menu has a vegan sandwich, pizza and curry alternative. There was also a selection of vegan cakes and plant based alternative milks to choose from.

daisygray

Points +62

Vegan
16 Aug 2022

Lovely Cafe

Vegan cheese options for pizza, toasties etc. We have a picky mini vegan and they made a vegan cheese toastie for her & we had chickpea sandwiches which were lovely and fresh. Friendly and clean. Great find!

Hattiebluebell🌱

Points +861

Vegan
25 Jun 2019

Coffee & cake

Cafe is at the rear of a bookshop & has a separate vegan savoury menu on a whiteboard. We arrived mid afternoon, and fancied coffee and cake. We had a choice of oat or soya milk for our latte. The welsh cakes were vegan & delish ( so I bought 2 more to bring home) there was also chocolate cake (vegan) & salted pretzel cake ( vegan & yummy)

Pros: Friendly & knowledgable staff, Good wifi, Nice comfy sofa

steve67

Points +98

Vegan
20 May 2019

Great

Whole chalkboard of vegan options

Pros: Friendly

harpinwales

Points +30

Vegan
13 Apr 2019

Great place!

Lots of vegan options - both savoury and sweet, and incredibly helpful staff.

MrsWren

Points +21

Vegan
20 Feb 2019

Yes!!!!

Lots of different vegan options, we have the Mexican tomato soup (from the dirty vegan book) and a Dahl with rice (rice was swapped from a naan and yoghurt to make it vegan) they also had a vegan chocolate cake and flapjack option, all clearly labelled. A cute little cafe and looks very popular, so worth a visit though!

MiriamW22

Points +16

Vegan
04 Feb 2019

Great lunch cafe

It is a lovely place, one of the few in the area with labelled vegan options. I had the hummus sandwich and it was delicious. Will be going there again soon

Pros: Gluten-free vegan options

Cons: Can be a bit busy on Saturdays

GraceMason

Points +112

Vegan
20 Oct 2018

Clearly labelled vegan options- I hope they add more!

We went for breakfast (posh porridge!) and lunch after a walk to Table Top mountain. Vegan pizza and soups. There was vegan welsh cakes and chocolate cake too x

Vegan_Jules

Points +90

Vegan
14 Jun 2018

Good vegan range

Bookish is a lovely café in the rear basement of a bookshop.

Vegan options are clearly labelled and grouped together in a blackboard to the right of the kitchen. There are plenty of savoury options, a few of which can be made gluten-free.

There are also several vegan cakes, sadly none of which were gluten free.

They also do lovely loose-leaf tea, and offer soya milk.

Pros: Lovely setting, Lots of vegan options, Excellent cake

Cons: Limited gluten-free range (but there are some)




This page has been viewed 2312 times.