• Bookhouse Cinema

  • (8)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
International
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Catering
Gluten-free
Honey
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. This independent cinema is also a casual, counter service restaurant and pub. They have as many vegan entrees as they have meat entrees and all of the appetizers are vegetarian or vegan. The plant-based sandwiches feature tofu, tempeh, and fresh veggies. Desserts are almost always vegan. Open Wed-Sun 11:00am-8:00pm. Hours have been reduced due to COVID. Will be open throughout the week again in the future.


Venue map for Bookhouse Cinema
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by KristenLeah

Sondy

Points +24

Vegan
06 Oct 2023

We love Bookhouse!

The vegan options are quite good and every time I've been, there has been a vegan version of the daily special as well as vegan desserts on offer. The staff are all very friendly. The fries are downright fuel for cravings. We just moved back to Joplin and were thrilled to find such a cool little theater that also offered food we could enjoy.

Pros: Impossible burger available with vegan cheese!, Vegan condiments and desserts, Those fries are MAGIC

Advertisement

DoGood!

Points +81

Vegan
24 Aug 2023

Hidden Gem

Has lots of vegan options and the food was really good! The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Relaxing atmosphere, many vegan options at a pub style restaurant. You can have a whole night out, good food, drinks and stay for a movie!
Love this place!

Pros: Many vegan meal options , Knowledgeable staff, Vegan deserts too!

BreAnne

Points +308

Vegetarian
30 Jul 2023

Pleasant surprise

Pub food found in the same building as an independent cinema with a full plant based menu - not what I expected to find in a somewhat small town. If, like me, you find yourself driving through Joplin, stop on by! The fries are clearly handmade in house - thick cut and with the potato skin still on! I had a vegan raspberry vanilla Italian soda which was cute and delicious(ask which vegan milk if you have a nut allergy, sign said oat but employee told me they only had almond milk). I had the tempeh blt which was only okay for me, but they had many other options I could choose from. Last, but not least, they had vegan apple pie and vegan cherry pie. You will not be disappointed!

Pros: Several options - meal, drinks, & desserts, Inexpensive

DustinHilliard

Points +55

Mostly Veg
05 Feb 2023

Good food, and plentiful vegan options.

Was passing through. Well worth a stop. Wish I had time for a movie or game.

Mariacarroll

Points +110

Vegan
11 Dec 2021

So good!

Lots of options! Very knowledgeable staff! We got 3 different sandwiches and the black bean and quinoa tacos all vegan! They were happy to accommodate my sons gluten allergy and had multiple vegan dipping sauces for our fries!

Pros: Lots of options, Vegan ranch , Knowledgeable staff

MO_vegan

Points +57

Vegan
05 Dec 2020

Five-star Vegan menu items and specials

Helpful and friendly staff. Welcoming pub and outdoor seating areas. Great indie movie theater. Vegan salads that are more than lettuce and tomatoes. Tofu Bahn Mi, Tempeh BLT, Black bean and quinoa tacos, sweet potato chips.

Pros: Vegan chocolate cake and chocolate chip cookies, Vegan sides and sauces, Vegan cocktail options

Cons: Only open Friday - Sunday

Stephwbrady

Points +15

Mostly Veg
30 Nov 2020

Favorite Restaurant in Town

Bookhouse is my family's first choice for dining out! They deserve 5 stars for their friendly atmosphere, amazing food and outstanding service. Their menu has options for every palate, with my favorites being the black bean quinoa tacos and the vegan chocolate cake. Their hummus is amazing and we love their daily specials. Their staff members cater to the patrons, getting to know everyone by name. They have great indoor and outdoor dining areas and their cinema is an added bonus! Do yourself favor and visit Bookhouse soon!

Pros: Excellent Food, Friendly Staff, Great Atmosphere

KristenLeah

Points +16

Mostly Veg
30 Nov 2020

Best Veg in Joplin

Vegan and vegetarian options are apart of Bookhouse Cinema's DNA. There are always multiple veg options and substitutions. They even have vegan cheese and cake! Safe for all veg diets with the best ambiance and flavor to boot. There are no other restaurants in the Joplin area with a staff so friendly and vegan cuisine so tastey!

Pros: Excellent Food, Wide Variety, Friendly Staff




This page has been viewed 1339 times.