5
  • Bonobo's Foods

  • (19)
    7
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Organic
Fast food
Take-out
Bakery
Canadian

Natural food store with vegetarian take-out kitchen and seating inside. The store sells all-vegetarian products. The kitchen offers burgers and sandwiches, faux fish and chips, salads and baked goods. Has weekly specials. Est. since 2010. Open Tue-Fri 11:00am-7:00pm, Sat 11:00am-5:00pm. Closed Sun-Mon.


Venue map for Bonobo's Foods
© OpenStreetMap contributors

19 Reviews

First Review by Scott

IngeP

Points +16

Vegan
09 Sep 2022

Great Vegan Eats!

I looked up where to eat vegan in Thunder and Happy Cow guided me to Bonobo’s. I had their seed burger with mushroom add-one and a fresh salad. It was amazing! Their seed burger is made on-site and I would go back there for sure! Thank you for the guidance.

Pros: Small and quaint , Helpful server, Option for vegetarian to vegan

Advertisement

CatherineRousseau

Points +145

Vegan
21 Jun 2021

So good

I had a CHICK BEAN NUT, Bonobo Burger with fries. It tasted really nice and loved how many options there were. The bun was quite thick, which is why I gave it 4 stars. I had it on a road trip, and was definitely one of the highlights! Highly recommend! Loved the grocery section!

Pros: Tasty, Lots of options, Grocery section

Cons: Bread was too dense/thick

mayson

Points +52

Vegan
14 Feb 2020

Amazing vegan options

I’m a self proclaimed “foodie” & am always trying out vegan restaurants. After visiting many vegan food hubs around the world ( Bali, Europe, California, Portland, Seattle, British Columbia etc) I still believe that Bonobo’s has THE BEST burger I have ever had in my entire life. If you haven’t been here yet it’s a must. The mushroom melt burger with the rice patty it is to die for. Their vegan thanksgiving & Christmas dinner special are also unreal. Also great quality fries.

Pros: Amazing quality food at a good price/portion size, Small section of vegan groceries , Everything can be made vegan if you ask

Nienke_nr

Points +62

Vegan
15 Nov 2019

This place is rock&roll

The food is mainly junkfood but has some healthy choices. I went for the junk because it’s not that often that you can eat vegan fish and chips, was very curious about the fish. And it was very good, had the same structure and taste. The sauce that came with it was the best! The interior is great with lots of records on the wall and the music was super good (🤘🏼 rock on!) They also sell Fentimans, my favo brand of ginger beer and they also have other soda’s of this brand😃 Don’t forget to meet Boris the spider😅 Great place!

Pros: Good music, Sells Fentimans, Nice interior

Ruddegur

Points +1152

Vegan
05 Nov 2019

Love this place

The quinoa cashew mac balls are incredible. This place is awesome.

Pros: Delicious, Good atmosphere

brooklynranta

Points +116

Vegan
15 Jan 2019

highly recommend bonobo’s!

Very delicious, comforting vegan/vegetarian food, like burgers, mac & cheese bites & poutine! super easy to make vegetarian items vegan by simply switching out to a vegan cheese! the staff are all incredibly lovely & very much understand how to make the food completely vegan, so no worries about what you’re eating! I definitely definitely recommend!!!

CherylAnnA

Points +80

Vegan
02 Sep 2018

Out of towner

Bonobos is the first place I stop when I arrive in TBay! I’ve lived all across this country and they have the best burgers anywhere!!

NorthernVeganLawyer

Points +59

Vegan
31 Aug 2018

Always delicious!

Best veggie burgers in town! You can also buy frozen patties to cook at home. Selection of vegan groceries in their fridges, prices are lower than other stores. They have weekly specials that vary, you can find these through their social media.

Pros: Mostly vegan menu, some vegetarian options

CaitlinBrown

Points +24

Vegetarian
02 Oct 2017

Love it!

Sooo good, I love their vegan burgers and fresh baked muffins! I also like that I can pick up a few vegan treats while I'm there like coconut condensed milk and tofu sour cream

Pros: Delicious food, Variety of options, Fast

H-bob

Points +230

Vegan
06 May 2017

Very Accommodating

Visited Bonobo's while in Thunder Bay, brought along a non-vegan buddy who loved the meal and told me he would be back with his wife, who is also non-vegan. Something for everyone! I even shared a salad dressing recipe with them and they seemed eager to try it. The food was well prepared and good value. Very nice place, everyone should be trying it and supporting the local owners.

Pros: Good food with decent portions , Fair prices, Friendly and comfortable atmosphere

Cons: None that I experienced

akadikof

Points +24

Vegan
21 Sep 2016

A MUST visit in tbay

Right when I walked in, an extremely friendly and helpful woman explained the entire menu to me saying that everything can be made vegan! I ordered 3 different (and fairly prices) items and they were all so good! I highly recommend if you to go out for lunch/dinner or want something to bring home. Super tasty and speedy.

Pros: Everything can be made vegan. Friendly staff. Good

Cons: Closes slightly early.

catmomma

Points +66

Vegan
05 Sep 2016

Fantastic little independent!

We were only in Thunder Bay for 3 days, and we hit up Bonobo's every single day! We loved this place. The food was delicious and the staff super friendly. We were obviously new to the area and were standing off to the side checking out the menu board. The owner Sasha came over and asked if we had any questions, then offered to go through the menu with us. We're vegan, and although this is a vegetarian restaurant, every single item can be made vegan! Bread/buns/baked goods are all vegan. Over the couple visits we were there, we tried the mushroom melt, fish & chips, brownie, muffins, and the savoury & Mediterranean salads. No disappointments: all delicious with fresh, crispy produce. They are in a bit of a transition right now: they are getting away from carrying so much of the veg grocery type items that are now so easily obtained at the big chain grocery stores, and are in the midst of adding bathrooms and converting to more restaurant space (sit-down). We highly recommend this place! If we lived in Thunder Bay this would be a go-to regular for us.

Pros: Everything can be made vegan, Delicious food, Friendly & helpful staff

Cons: Limited hours of operation

kay1abear

Points +241

Vegan
10 Jul 2016

My Favourite Place in TBay!

This is a place I've been going to for years, living in and out of Thunder Bay. I'm so happy that it's now super busy and popular!

The burgers are amazing and the selection of groceries is top-notch and cheaper than other health foods stores in Thunder Bay. The staff are always super friendly and recognize their regular customers. I've got to sample new vegan snacks and they're always eager to talk about new products. I definitely recommend this place!

Pros: delicious food, nice grocery selection, friendly staff

CS425

Points +70

Vegan
14 Sep 2015

The BEST vegan/vegetarian burgers in Thunder Bay!

I love this place! They have an amazing selection of foods for vegans and other non-conventional eaters (vegetarian, gluten-free, even a few paleo items!) in the 'store' bit, and the meals prepared on-site are delicious. DELICIOUS. A vegan-friendly burger is greatly anticipated by an omnivorous husband every time we visit Thunder Bay. The owners are friendly, welcoming and helpful. Definitely worth a visit.

Pros: DELICIOUS food, Kind, engaging staff, Competitive prices

Cons: Closed Sun-Tues (I think?)

natasha.wren87

Points +13

Vegetarian
14 May 2015

Awesome food!

Amazing food, everything was delicious. Had the poutine and chicken salad sandwich. Went with my family and we all tried a bite of each others food and it was all great. The "fish" is so good a must try.

Pros: Delicious, Big Orders, Store and Restaurant in one

GreenSpiritYogi

Points +64

Vegan
19 Mar 2015

Awesome vegan food with Love

The BEST vegan fast food style take-out in Thunder Bay. Service with a smile. The owners of this establishment are absolutely lovely, and truly care about what they do and the community they serve.

Pros: Compassionate, Knowledgeable , Delicious food

kaylamorim33

Points +19

Vegan
08 Feb 2015

I love!

I go here regularily with my boyfriend. Most of the menu can be made vegan easily. They sometimes mess up the order though so just be sure it's correct before you leave if it's take-out.

The grocery store portion is really awesome and they have a wide variety of speciality vegan items that are clearly labeled. LOVE.

Pros: good food , friendly staff , perfect portions

Cons: They sometimes mess up , store hours

KellyJean22

Points +13

Vegetarian
17 Jul 2012

Bonobos

This family owned business is a grocery store and a casual restaurant. Coming from Vancouver and eating veg around the world, bonobos offers the BEST burgers and fresh cut fries that my meat eating friends love. This place is a gem, they use as much local produce as possible and have no problems customizing your order. They have vegan poutine and great gravy.. I eat here A LOT !!!

Pros: Beyond satisfying, Friendly owners!, U can pick up an amazing selection of groceri

Cons: Small area to eat

Scott

Points +28

Vegan
16 Dec 2011

Great Food

Was visiting Thunder Bay this past September and hoping to find a place with vegan options. Due to scheduling, was only able to visit Bonobos for 10 minutes before my flight back to London. Was lucky enough to find amazing desserts for my flight including vegan butter tarts, squares, etc. Great staff and good selection. The north shore of Lake Superior has some options!

Pros: Vegan butter tarts!!!, Great service, Nice Place

Cons: Hard to find, Need to advertise more




This page has been viewed 5435 times.