Bodhi Tree Cafe

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
    ( 40 reviews )
Contact
857084998
Find

11, Rachadamnoen Rd Soi 5, Mueang Chiang Mai District, Chiang Mai, Thailand, 50200

Restaurant with room for rent, in old town on a quiet side street since 2015. Serves both Thai style and Western food plus smoothies, juices. Makes its own plant-based milk, yogurt, mayonnaise, salad sauces and dips. Relocated from 13 Ratchadamnoen Rd Soi 4. Open Mon-Sun 7:00am-9:30pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, International, Organic, Thai, Western, Juice bar

40 Reviews

First Review by LilacHippy

Wasn’t a fan - Edit

Drastically overpriced food which isn’t justified by the sub-par quality or small portions. Owner was friendly the first time I came for a small breakfast, and I didn’t realize what a rip-off it was, however the next time I suggested to my girlfriend that we actually try a meal here I was pretty disappointed not only by the food, but by their crazy prices. Serves egg, and clearly a place that uses the term “vegan” to make money from unwitting tourists. This spot was a let down.

Cons: too expensive , average food, small portions

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing people - Edit

Great restaurant almost everything is vegan, everything can be made vegan if its not. Also offer cooking classes which are fantastic. Relaxed atmosphere, service is delightful.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Love the food and cooking class - Edit

I am staying in CM for a while and had a cooking class with lotus. The attention to detail she has for flavor, products and cleanliness was amazing. Besides this she has a lot of knowledge on health and what herbs you need for what.

I loved it so much that now i decided to stay in one of the rooms. I saw she needed some help with her internet presence, as this listing is still on the old adress.

Yes, they moved to a lovely place in a quiet Soi (street). Beautiful and clean teak place where you can have an outside shaded thai vegan cooking course. I loved it.
This is the new adress untill the listing updates:
Address: 11, Rachadamnoen Rd Soi 5, Mueang Chiang Mai District, Chiang Mai 50200

Much love Suzanne

Pros: vegan thai cooking course, organic from own garden, new location

Cons: slow

1 Response
Read More

SuzanneGerbenzon 09 Oct 2017 - BTw. made a video and also covered the cooking course.
from 4.50: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=443YPrSbQsM&lc=z225tt4o4rjkyhcftacdp434cuvh0umefd5ffteqtlpw03c010c  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good vegan vibes - Edit

Tucked in a back ally, beautiful old woman cooking each meal by hand. Service is slow because she makes it herself and then brings it out to you. Bodhi tree roots hang from the open aired ceiling and is very serene. Salad dressing is so yummy

2 Responses
Read More

MichiMichi 18 Aug 2017 - Hi there! Can you help me please? I’ve gastritis stomach , is there at this one thai Café vegetarian food just spicy or it has any dishes without spicy? Can it cooks for me only eggs, vegetables, rice , chicken cooked in water without ?
Many many thanks
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

SuzanneGerbenzon 09 Oct 2017 - @michiMichi, they cook everything from scratch. So if you like without spices, you can just let them know.
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fantastic Vegan food. Great portions - Edit

Mostly vegan, some vegetarian. We both ate vegan here, the owner was very helpful. We got the vegan pancakes with passionfruit coconut yoghurt, vegan burger and pumpkin soup. All so delicious. Highly recommend.

Pros: Heaps of vegan options, Cheap, Delicious

Cons: Venue a bit plain

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

so-so food, nice people - Edit

I ordered the glass Noodle Salad with mushroom, Tofu and veggies which had way too much onions and green spring onion. The dish also felt like it was not very attentively friend, with the glass Noodle a bit overcooked and somewhat lumpy. The lemon juice with peppermint was very refreshing on a hot afternoon. Staff were nice.

Cons: a bit expensive for the quality of food served.

1 Response
Read More

SuzanneGerbenzon 09 Oct 2017 - Helo Vovloveg,
Thank you for taking your time to leave a review. We are sorry it was such a disappointing experience. If you run into this again, could you please tell us. Then we can correct it strait away. Also, if it helps.. we did change chefs in the mean time. So this is not something which should still be the case. Either way. Wish you a great time on your travels.
Love Lotus  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Disappointing - Edit

The menu at Bodhi Tree Cafe looked very appetising with many vegan options and the description of the place as warm and welcoming sounded great. Unfortunately not my experience. Ordered iced coffee with vegan milk of the day, tasteless. Also ordered the raw vegan cheesecake which was frozen and again pretty tasteless. There wasn't a welcoming atmosphere. Really nothing special 😞

Pros: situated under the Bodhi tree , calm atmosphere

Cons: tasteless iced coffee and cake

1 Response
Read More

SuzanneGerbenzon 09 Oct 2017 - Hey Vera,

Sorry you had such a bad experience.
We moved from location and freezer. The old one froze a bit too crazy.. so now we do not have that problem anymore.
I am sorry you did not feel welcome. We do pride ourselves on being very welcoming and helpful. We will try our best to keep an eye on this. With Love Ubon  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good vegan options - Edit

Quite place ,full of vegan options . Love the burnamese salads and pad Thai . Friendly staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great vego cafe with lots of vegan options - Edit

Bodhi Tree Cafe is the sister cafe to Bodhi Tree 2 ... I enjoyed their version of massaman curry with rice (my favourite vegan dish) ... the quality and quantity of the curry were great and it was 'farang pet' just as I ordered ... the cafe has a great vibe and I have found the staff (and owner) to be friendly and approachable ... so many good vego restaurants in CM and so little time

Pros: lots of vegan options

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Mixed feelings about this place - Edit

I must say I have very mixed feelings about this restaurant. It is situated in a nice garden next to a monastery and has therefore special atmosphere. The furnishing deserves some maintainance tho. If you go in the evening be ready for tons of hungry mosquitoes and put on your repelent. Also mixed feelings about the food- mine was excellent but my friends dish was just not that good for price you pay... as I stated before- Bodhi Tree left me with mixed feelings...

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

ups & downs - Edit

Ordered the Massaman Curry with some brown rice on the side and a banana-nuts-cacao smoothie.
Curry and rice were great, the smoothie however was a miss. My guess is too many nuts with too little banana. It was bland, too thick and a bit "dry"
Would come back here for the nice atmosphere and the food :)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

yummy breakfast :) - Edit

Such a nice chilled out spot for breakfast - I had the porridge with plant milk, banana and maple syrup instead of honey, PB toast, and a mango, banana and pineapple smoothie. Delicious, and staff were lovely. Good coffee too!

Pros: western breakfast, lots of vegan options , friendly staff, nice atmosphere

Cons: not all vegan

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

shocked - Edit

sadly this place seemed it was falling apart, no other customers there either, we were too afraid to order a meal due to the enormous amount of insects on the table and flying all around.... ordered a coconut and my sis got the banana nice cream and it seemed as if it had been purchased from somewhere else and chucked in the freezer, it came in a plastic packet with a wet plate.

Cons: no appeal whatsoever

1 Response
Read More

SuzanneGerbenzon 09 Oct 2017 - Hey Charlie,
Sory you had such a bad experience. The restaurant has moved places now. We have a different freezer now as well, as we had problems with that.
The ice we do make from scratch here, live everything we cook, and that is a great tip to alter our presentation..Hope you have a great trip further, and you found some amzing vegan option.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar

laid back decent restaurant - Edit

came here to eat in the evenings sometimes, decent salads, food quality seems good, great place to come if you want to eat in a quiet laid back place, has wifi. I wasn't blown away by the menu though.

Pros: nice food, laid back atmosphere, has wifi

Cons: wasn't impressed with menu

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Laid back and quiet - Edit

There's a feeling this place has become a little old and rundown. But the peace and quiet under a huge Bodhi Tree from the neighbouring temple is what brings me back here. The menu is the same the number 2 cafe up the road, but sitting in the pergola in the garden is the difference. If you want somewhere tidier and more switched on, try Bodhi Tree Cafe 2 up the road.

Pros: Quiet

Cons: Rundown

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fine small rustic restaurant on a quiet alley - Edit

I´ve had the burger twice and I do like it. The first time I thought that the patty was mock beef, but on the second time it was less "beefy" and I thought that it was a mushroom patty, I don´t know. They have home-made mustard-tasting vegan mayo (which I don´t think has much to do with usual vegan mayos).

Avocado-cucumber soup tasted mostly like fried sesame oil. Potato salad was fine, but not anything special. I haven´t tried the Thai dishes.

Rustic and charming are good words to describe the decoration, but they should keep the restaurant clean and clutter free, because it looks a bit messy. I´ve been here twice and service has been a bit awkward (but very friendly) so they should pay attention to that too.

Pros: Food

Cons: Service is awkward, A bit messy place

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Hidden gem but a bit dirty - Edit

Hidden gem in CNX. Very tasty foods and drinks, mostly organic & vegan. Love the nature setting. Toilet is dirty, which often says something about the restaurant..

Updated from previous review on 2016-10-10

Pros: Nature setting, Very tasty food, Organic

Cons: Not very chatty people, Dirty toilet (!)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

cute vegan outdoor cafe - Edit

Stayed at a hotel right next to this place. The workers and the owner are super nice and friendly. Over my trips here I had a green curry with rice, fresh rolls, and for breakfast a fruit platter with toast and a smoothie. Everything was fresh and delicious, not to mention extremely cheap.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Quiet, yummy oasis! - Edit

It was a nice surprise to arrive in the tranquil setting of the Bodhi Tree Cafe. While the rustic setting might put off some people I thought it was charming. There is a very good selection of vegan and vegetarian meals. We ordered the potato salad, vegan burger and a red curry. All were nice but the best part of our meal were the banana, nut and spirulina shakes which were yummy. I would definitely go back again.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Great Great! - Edit

Found this gem so late on my journey but oh wow, this café/restaurant really has the best atmosphere in Chiang Mai, tucked away from the noise of the traffic the only thing you'll hear here is the chirping of the birds.

The menue is perfect and you will always find something you like. The price is just a little bit higher than elsewhere, but not for the whole menue! You can get a soup for 50 Baht which is really cheap!

The chefs in this restaurant are all female and put a lot of love into their food, I like the thought of supporting them and their philosophy.

We had a carrot soup (50 B) as a starter, then ordered a sandwich (120 B + 30 B for hummus we shared), which was unreal, so tasty and fresh, and for desert because they were out of energy balls I ordered their delicious vegan yoghurt (30 B) which is made with passionfruit and I also asked for maple syrup.

The food was ssooooo good and left me completely satisfied without feeling heavy in my stomach so I would guess it's very low fat plus very fresh. They really do make everything from scratch so it takes a little while. Favourite place in Chiang Mai! So sad that I was only able to eat here twice :(

Pros: Fresh, Low fat, Amazing taste

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Awesome place! - Edit

Really nice chill atmosphere and great food :)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good value - Edit

Delicious food and good service.
Very nice vibe!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Relaxing and friendly lunch spot - Edit

A great place with tons of vegan options. We had spring rolls, smoothies, papaya salad, and glass noodles--we loved everything! We will surely go back. Moderate prices.

Pros: mostly vegan options, decent portions, chill vibe

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

nom nom nom - Edit

This place is super sweet, not posh but comfy, quite back street and really great selection at a very fair price good portions!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

organic homemade food - Edit

The owner of the cafe really cares about environment and health. They have an awesome porridge with coconutcream, nuts and seeds! Extra requests are no problem. prices are allright.

Pros: very open minded owner, friendly staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing pocket of peace - Edit

In a really quiet location down side streets. Very well signposted. Really friendly service and the best gazpacho EVER!!! And a killer apple & celery juice!

Pros: Calm & relaxing, Friendly service, Amazing food

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar
Vegetarian

  Contributions +22

Do not order the breakfast sets! - Edit

We've been very disapointed by the breakfast set we ordered as it was NOT ALL ORGANIC AND NATURAL FOOD, which made us quite angry... And it costs 200 bahts (which is much more expensive than any other organic restaurants around, so it should be delicious but no...)

The set is: "set of organic fruit salad, home-made yogurt, pancakeS with organic jam/honey/butter, big glass of organic fresh juice, big cup of organic coffee/tea."


What we got:
- a bowl of fruits with "vegan yogurt" (it was not yogurt but more like a coconut, cashew purée but that tasted good),
- only one really tough pancake (I know we can't find any really decent pancakes here in Thailand but it was even tougher than any other places - pancakes requires to use baking soda!!) with sirup (this is not honey, and I'm not sure it is organic but can't say), no jam, no butter as said in the menu,
- a glass of orange juice which tasted as if it was mixed with chemical cheap juice (so, not sure it is all natural)
- I ordered a green tea that was definitely NOT natural. It was fluorescent green and tasted not natural. When I asked the waiteress if it was natural green tea she answered that it is "Thai green tea", it is made with powder. Yuk!

So, Bodhi tree cafe doesn't serve all organic and natural food as it pretends they do.


However, the place is nice and cosy. But you'd better stick to Thai and Burmese food, and smoothies are good too. But keep away from breakfast sets, it is disapointing. And the feeling to be cheated with bad products is just non acceptable to me.

Pros: cosy place, friendly staff

Cons: not organic and natural food, bad breakfast sets, bad value for money

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Chiang Mai Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Bodhi Tree Cafe closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 5017 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support