• Blue Orchid

  • (8)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Thai
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Thai food restaurant in the Haymarket area, situated in the historic Grand Manse building near 10th and the "O" streets. The open floor plan is decorated withart pieces and plants. The tables have white table cloths and flowers. Offers tofu and veggies in entrees. Open Mon-Thu 5:00pm-9:00pm, Thu-Fri 11:30am-2:00pm, Fri-Sat 5:00pm-9:30pm, Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm.


Venue map for Blue Orchid
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by NickkeiElaine

OliviaKent

Points +120

Vegetarian
13 Jul 2023

Delicious food and fun cocktails

Really nice restaurant with really nice food. Good service too. Nice people😄I’ve never had a bad pad see ew but theirs is definitely one of the best I’ve had. The yellow curry is unbeatable. The cocktails are great too. I had an excellent pineapple basil one that was good on a chilly day but would have been amazing on a hot day.

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-13

Advertisement

SPerkins

Points +122

Vegetarian
11 Mar 2023

Very good

It appeared that nearly everything on the menu could be made with tofu. (Also lots of gluten-free options, but they are not indicated on menus.) Waiter stated that they no longer use fish sauce.

ahinger

Points +25

Vegetarian
11 Nov 2022

Excellent food, slow service, no where to park

The waiter and the food were excellent. We were some of the first to be seated. But it took over an hour to get food. Parking is a nightmare!

Pros: Pad See-ew with Tofu, no oyster sauce, Waiter, Lui Suan Rolls with Tofu

Cons: Parking is none existent, Takes over an hour to get food when it wasn't busy, Price is moderately high

makcurtis

Points +1050

Vegan
15 Aug 2020

Excellent service

Blue Orchid quickly became one of our favorite restaurants. The servers are extremely polite and attentive, and they understand veganism and are able to make alterations. Vegan dishes are not marked, so be sure to ask your server. My favorite dishes are drunken noodles and the curry with tofu. The signature cocktails are worth a trip by themselves. Try the lemongrass martini! The only item I’ve regretted was the tofu fresh spring rolls, which were mostly lettuce and very little tofu.

Pros: Knowledgeable staff , Attentive staff , Creative cocktails

Cons: Vegan dishes not marked

puckoff

Points +83

Vegan
21 Aug 2019

On the fence about it

Went there last night. I really wanted to like this place. Entrance is seemingly off an alley so you might miss it. Ordered Lui Sahn rolls with tofu for appetizer. This order is quite huge so don't order if it's for 1 person. It was ok though the tofu was hard to find in it, they used it so sparingly. For main, I ordered green curry with tofu. The curry was more of a stew, very thick. It was topped with a few long strips of jalapenos - Jalapenos with the seeds, with the ribs. That was the indication that this likely was going to be hot as heck. It was. I like spicy foods, and always enjoy a good curry, but this was crazy hot. The tofu was cut in long thick strips, not large diced. Looked a bit odd. Looked like fat fingers floating in it. But service? Slow to get menus, food, water refills, the check. There were only 2 other tables besides ours so can't imagine how they deal when busy. Plus, it's a pricey place. It was ok, but neither my non-vegan companion nor I would return all things considered.

Pros: Location , Outdoor seating option

Cons: Heat (spice) of food, Service speed, Cost

michaelz

Points +144

Vegan
04 May 2018

Great thai & service!

Had a very good experience, including tofu triangles, great spring rolls, & nice Asian veg mix with tofu.

Pros: Lots of veg options, Happy to go vegan

Cons: A bit hard to find

bartlettljc

Points +94

Vegan
06 Jul 2015

Fresh - ask for no fish sauce!

Love this as a lunch spot, they have a great pairings menu. Be sure to tell the server you don't want fish sauce or egg just in case. Have several options and keep their soups vegan unless you choose to add chicken. Always leave satisfied! Be sure to also try their new restaurant, Issara, located on Pine Lake (South Lincoln).

NickkeiElaine

Points +19

Vegetarian
25 Jan 2009

Blue Orchid

My brother and I ate at the Blue Orchid once. The restaurant had a nice atmosphere and wasn't too busy. It's kind of hard to find at first. The food was really good. I remember I had something with cashews and some kind of meat(my brother said it would basically take the point away from the dish if I didn't have the meat). For seating, you can sit inside or they have a small area outside that you can sit at. The only cons about this restaurant is the waiters were relatively slow. Since I haven't been there any other time, I am not sure if they were behind in employees or what was going on. I had never tasted Thai food before, but I was impressed. I would definitely go back.

Pros: excellent food, outside or inside seating, nice atmosphere

Cons: slow waiters, medium-small size menu, somewhat pricey




This page has been viewed 4375 times.