Blue Boy Vegetarian Food Centre Stall

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
    ( 43 reviews )
Contact
016-6850498
Find

6001, Blue Boy Mansion, Jalan Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 50200

蓝兒素食店 Kedai Kopi & Makanan Blue Boy Vegetarian. This centre houses stalls selling vegetarian Asian dishes such as char kway teow, assam laksa, curry mee, dry/soup noodles, popiah, laksa, cheecheong fun, tom yam, fried rice, yong tau foo, curry puffs, etc. Uses mock meats. Also a dry goods shop. Open Mon-Sun 8:00am-6:00pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Chinese, Take-out, Malaysian

43 Reviews

First Review by kennyloh83

Good food, cheap price - Edit

The old man who wears so simple, serves us coffee and cleans the tables so thoroughly....he's actually the boss. Imagine he has been doing the same thing for 40 years. Yes, it's already 4 decades. We really have to salute to such old establishment. How many vegetarian restaurants can survive for such a long time? Previously, we stayed at My Hotel @ Bukit Bintang, Blue boy is just behind the hotel. Less than 5 minutes walk. This is a perfect place for daily meals. The setup is simple and down to earth. Their food tastes good, they have a wide variety and prices are cheap. We ordered 2 plates nasi lemak rice, yong tau foo, prawn noodle soup, chee cheong fun, popiah, coffee and barley drink, everything costs RM30 only. We appreciate that they open every day to serve us and make vegetarian food so affordable to everyone. Thanks for everything.



Updated from previous review on 2018-04-10

Pros: Tasty food, Cheap price

Cons: None

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best Vegetarian food in town 😊 - Edit

I absolutely love the chow kuey tiau.. definitely will
Be coming back - often ... good value for money too! Very authentic Malaysian - thank you

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasty, inexpensive vegan food - Edit

I visit KL once or twice a year and always come to eat at Blue Boy several times each visit. As has been explained in several other reviews, this is a hawker centre wherein several stalls selling different types of food are housed in one decently sized shop lot. This place is located opposite the main road from Swiss Garden Hotel, on a side street going up a tiny hill.

My favourites are the char koay teow (wok fried noodles with bits of greens, mushroom and fishballs), nasi lemak (coconut rice with mutton rendang, sambal squid, anchovies, cucumber and beans) and chee cheong fun (flat rice noodles with a sesame hoisin sauce and various stuffed tofu/veggie options to go with the noodles). The economy rice can be hit or miss, with some really delicious options (curry vegetables; stir fried medley of cauliflower, broccoli, carrots, tofu puffs, celery and wood ear fungus) and some ordinary dishes.

All meats here are mock meats. Another reviewer mentioned finding chicken in their food which doesn't make sense as no meat is served on the premises. In fact, to my knowledge, all the dishes are vegan by default except for the char koay teow (you simply equest 'no egg' to veganise this dish) and curry laksa (they add coffee creamer to the curry soup). Also, the staff have always been neutral but courteous in all the years I've been coming here.

Having a hawker centre where vegans can eat without concern of accidentally consuming animal products is a rare and awesome thing. Hopefully people will be more careful in their reviews to avoid tarnishing the reputation of a respectable business.

Pros: Many options, Delicious and inexpensive, Clean and courteous

Cons: Hard to find, Not open for dinner

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great vegan food - Edit

Chinese style vegetarian (mostly vegan) food. I love this place and have eaten here 10+ times. I usually go for the buffet that normally has 15+ different choices. In the weekend they skip the buffet and has set meals instead.

Pros: Almost 100% vegan, Great taste, Cheap

Cons: Hard to understand buffet pricing

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

No healthy food - Edit

I didn't like the food. The 2 dishes we took (out of 8 on the wall menu) were very oily, tasteless and without vegetables (only a few pieces). It is cheap but you get what you paid for! There is good food elsewhere!

Pros: cheap food

Cons: Not healthy food, Very oily , Tasteless

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Horrible - Edit

I hate writing negative reviews, but I really did not liked this place! First of all the staff was super rude and totally overcharged me (because I'M white..) The menu was unclear, so they just gave me whatever and the food was cold... I do not recommend .

1 Response
Read More

Lanky 08 Jan 2018 - I have been going to Blue Boy for 10 years now. The staff have always been very friendly to me, and I have never been overcharged. If you didnt understand the menu, how can you say you were overcharged? and if you were, how do you know its because you're white? I am white by the way.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

cheap and good - Edit

They dont have a menu, so you can chose between moastly rice, nudles and vegetables. And they use lots of oil. I got the food after just 2min and it was good. They also had internet

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Chicken in our food - Edit

We went today to Blue Boy as everyone here said it is so good. Everywhere in restaurant you can see stickers about being vegetarian. Menu was kinda unclear as we dont know local food and employees werent speaking the best english but after all one lady helped us to order. We took fried rice and fried noodles. We made sure if its vegetarian, she confirmed smiling and saying that all things here are vegetarian (not true, in menu they also have fried chicken and pork). Well, in both our dishes after few bites we found pieces of chicken... thats was very bad surprise. At least we didnt pay much but left very unhappy.

Pros: Cheap

Cons: MEAT in our food

1 Response
Read More

Lanky 08 Jan 2018 - There was no chicken in your food! Like many Asian vegetarian restaurant, they use "mock meats"- usually soy or wheat products that are made to resemble meat. Thats what you were eating. However, you didnt trust them from the beginning- why go to a vegetarian restaurant and ask them if its vegetarian? - so you decided they put meat in your food. Your review is totally untrue.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cheap and tastey! - Edit

Cheap food with lots of variety!!

Pros: Cheap, Lots of options

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lots of vegan options - Edit

The people were really nice and told me what was vegan and what wasn't. They have a lot of tofu dishes and the different vegetables taste great, especially the eggplant!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Asam Laksa - Edit

Tried their curry laksa and asam laksa, the latter of which was delicious (or would have been without so many noodles). Not bad, but San Sann in nearby Bukit Bintang won my return-patronage scorecard.

Pros: vegan options , delicious asam laksa broth

Cons: waaaaaaayyyyy too many noodles spoil their soup

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

I can't recommend enough! - Edit

When we walked into BlueBoy I was sceptical because they didn't have an English menu I was worried what we might order.

They have an English speaking waitress who came over and helped us order our first dish with ease. After devouring it we ordered more and more taking her advice and weren't disappointed.

The food is very tasty and high standard and great value for money. I can't believe how little the bill was. I just wish we had discovered it sooner so we could have gone back.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

cheap and tasty hawker experience - Edit

if you are not used to hawker style eateries, you might freak out; it's got no ac and is kind of grimey. The noodles were good and cheap though, and eating there feels like an authentic experience.

Pros: authentic hawker experience, good price

Cons: closes at 6pm. no menu.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Char koay teaw is amazing! - Edit

I was staying a few doors down from Blue Boy when I was in KL, so I ate here quite a few times. I had the char koay teaw multiple times, which was absolutely incredible. I also tried a laksa, which was too spicy for me so I couldn't really enjoy it. I absolutely loved this place though, it was a real treat to be able to experience the SE Asian hawker style stalls and have it be all veg. It was also super cheap (around £1 for a meal) and the guys working there were really friendly. Would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting KL.

Pros: Tasty, Cheap, Delicious

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

too much rice/noodle and not enough vegetables - Edit

I ordered a plate of noodles/mushroom/tofu/various vegetable, but I was disappointed because It was actually hard to find what it was supposed to come with noodle.
I gave them a second chance by ordering a curry. I had 2 types of noodle but vegetables/tofu//mushroom were hard to find too.

Cons: too much rice/noodles not enough vegetables

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

ok - Edit

fried kwey teow is nice! no air cond.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best spicy vegetarian fare around Jalan Alor - Edit

We went twice to the restaurant. First time we took fried rice and char koya teow. Both were excellent. Second time we took buffet meal with rice, curry and plenty of vegetables. Food is tasty and freshly prepared. You will get both spicy and non-spicy foods. We were helped by Mr. Chung in selecting the food. Fried rice etc can be ordered without egg. They also serve fake meat made out of soya, though I did not try it much.
I had taken my parents who prefer Indian vegeterian, they liked the food very much as the spice level can be almost same as south Indian food. You can ask to vary it as well.
They are many stalls including that sells curry noodles which was suggested to us by the diners there.
To reach the place, go to the end Jalan Alor and turn right. You will see Corona Inn. Its situated on the lane next to Corona Inn.
Updated from previous review on Sunday October 11, 2015

Pros: Excellent food, Good value, Friendly staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

best char koay teau - Edit

They have the best fried noodles in town. Featured of newspapers too. They also have the best asam laksa. Yummy.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Visited July 2015 - Edit

The easiest way to find this place is to find the Corona Inn. Walk last the entrance on your left and take the immediate left after the hotel, signposted Lalian Sehala and street sign says Lorong Pudu 8. The restaurant is at the end of this alley way on the right.

It is a large open sided cafeteria type restaurant. Ceiling fans.

The food is all vegetarian, but not vegan. It is self-select for some of the food and you can ask for fried noodles or rice preparing.

For drinks the options seemed to be limited, no alcohol, no fruit juices aside from lime juice.

The manager is helpful, speaks good amounts of English, and is helpful in explaining that any reference to meat or seafood implies imitation.

The food was cheap, approx RM15 for 2 people for sufficient food. The food was tasty, of good variation. We would eat there again and would recommend to others.

Opening hours looked approx 8am to 6pm.

We found the location with the help of a free app called maps.me, which had more accurate mapping than google maps and it allowed us to download the maps and negotiate the area with GPS.

Pros: Fully vegetarian, Good explanations, Cheap

Cons: Hard to find, Poor drink choices

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Looks closed - Edit

I went there on 13/06/2015 at 7pm and it was closed while many of the shops around were open and busy.

Might want to check it out and close this listing if it closed.

Hope that is helpful.

2 Responses
Read More

sukilovesicecream 10 Sep 2015 - Hi - definitely NOT closed as of September 2015 when I went for lunch today - the opening hours are 08:00 to 18:00. Thanks to one of the reviews below for posting directions - cheers!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

nbhat 12 Oct 2015 - It closes down by 6:00 PM. Visited in October 2015  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent and very relaxing as a vegan! - Edit

This place is great - cheap, abundant food....everything you ever wanted to try in KL but couldn't because there was never a vegan version....here it is. I mean the local curries and soups like laksa with coconut and spices are fantastic,and you can actually eat them here!! As well as all the other classic rice dishes. The only downside was that there was all a bit too much frying and deep frying going on for my tastes, however there is brown rice and lots of veggie stir fry type options for those of you with similar tastes to me. Overall great!

Pros: Lots of options for vegans, Get to try classic local dishes , Very affordable and generous helpings

Cons: A lot of food here is fried

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Loads of vegan choice, tasty, fun - Edit

It's a hawker style place, and with that in mind is good fun for veg*ns as there's no risk to just pointing and ordering or trying a random dish. I ate almost everything - all was tasty. Got takeaway for my bus journey too..

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cheap and tasty - Edit

I think the main reason for divided opinion may be the extent to which people are used to hawker stalls - but what would a visit to Malaysia be without eating at a fair few? It's certainly not in a very attractive setting and it's also a bit hard to find, in an alley behind the Corona Inn Hotel, but the food is tasty and cheap, catering mostly, I would suspect, to the local Chinese who have ' vegetarian days' every week or month. The attached shop has a lot of stuff crammed into a small space, including frozen fake meats imported from Taiwan that you'd normally find only in a large or upscale supermarket.

Pros: cheap and tasty

Cons: rough and ready

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great variety but... - Edit

You must be prepped for hawker food. If you're used to a western style eatery with good AC, sorry look elsewhere. If you're after cheap and delicious food, then this is the place. I'm stressing the hawker/street food angle since it's effectively what it is. So if you're not use to seeing it, keep an open mind and give it a try. They do one heck of a chicken rice at the mixed rice stall.
It's located just opposed Swiss garden hotel in a little alley way. Just behind the express hotel. It's Asia, so don't let the word "mansion" fool you.

Pros: Taste, Price, Range

Cons: Location, Hygiene if you're not used to it

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The best stall/buffet experience in KL - Edit

Blue Boy was the most enjoyable buffet/stall experience I had in KL. The setting is light and airy, and there are different stalls with lots of Malaysian and Chinese dishes to choose from, plus a buffet. It's a pleasant and clean space, with one side opening onto a row of plants and a quiet street (and not in a mall - yay!). I went a few times while I was in KL. I tried the buffet (5 choices and rice cost RM 8) which was all fresh and delicious. I also tried the Nasi Lemak (rice with some different curries, and veggies on the side, for RM 5.50), and some of the stuffed tofu creations, which were all tasty and good.

Pros: Malaysian dishes, Street-side, pleasant setting

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

the original and still the best! - Edit

I love Blue Boy! We've been going here ever since our first trip to Asia. They serve up the vegetarian versions of popular Malaysian street foods. The fried Kueh Teow, a stir fried noodle dish, can be made to order with or without egg, it is super delicious, similar to a pad thai or lard na. Maybe not the healthiest choice, but really fun to eat. You can also choose rice with the toppings of your choice, self serve, and priced by how much you put on your plate. The Nasi Lemak is another of the famous choices here, its definitely worth a try! This place is a very economical choice for vegans and vegetarians in Bukit Bintang. And by the way, the Thai massage place nearby that is run by the Thai Ministry of Tourism is really good and totally legit, so stop by there on the way or make an appointment on your way back if you love a consistently good thai massage in a classy environment.

Pros: great prices, delicious food, humble street stall environment

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Many choices of Malay/Indian/Thai food - Edit

The restuarant is fairly easy to find. The staff speak pretty good English, which we needed to figure out how to order the food. As far as I can tell, there is no menu. You just walk to the different 'food stalls' (tables, really) and choose big or small portions. They have a buffet style as well where you buy your plate size (S-L)and only fill it once. We did not try that though.
We tried tofu stuffed with soya meat, spicy red Thai curry on noodles and Malay fried noodles with tofu. It was all very tasty. The price is unbeatable! All of that food plus a big bottle of water was around USD $3.
The only problem is that on the particular day we visited, they were closing at 6PM, which is a bit early for dinner. But it was Christmas Eve, so maybe that's why the early hours.

Pros: Many choices, Cheap

Cons: Close at 6PM

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Kuala Lumpur Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Blue Boy Vegetarian Food Centre Stall closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 12528 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support