Blanche Bakery

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 16 reviews )

Find

16 MacKintosh Place, Cardiff, Wales, CF24 4RQ

Bakery and coffee shop offering small-batch donuts, specialty coffee, made-to-order vegan cupcakes, croissants, cookies, and celebration cakes. Also has sandwiches and brunch. Previously at The Castle Emporium, Womanby St, new premises reported Nov 2017. Open Mon-Thu 12:00-18:00, Fri-Sat 12:00-22:00, Sun 12:00-17:00.

Categories: Vegan, International, Take-out, Bakery, European

16 Reviews

First Review by MillieBirch

krystalledo

Points +46

Vegan
15 Mar 2020

Delicious

The doughnuts tasted amazing

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Nice staff, Cute decorations

Cons: A little expensive

Danii96

Points +20

Vegan
10 Mar 2020

Amazing!

I love this place, the coffee is always amazing and their sweet treats are soo good, everyone is always lovely and welcoming.

Pros: Amazing coffee, Cheesecake is incredibly

maiacerridwen

Points +42

Vegan
27 Jan 2020

Delicious

The doughnuts are so amazing and I love that they have so many different options every time I go, the only downsides are that they’re a little bit pricey and there never seems to be any room to sit down!

Advertisement

MarkWebber

Points +46

Vegan
21 Jan 2020

Great!

This is one of the best, if not the absolute best vegan spots in Cardiff.

I’ve personally raved to the owner and staff about how great the food is.

They do one of the best breaded and fried tofu’s in the world.

Their Korean BBQ tofu sandwich is easily on my top 10 vegan sandwiches in the world right now.

Funny enough the doughnuts are good, some better than others but after Doughnut Friend in Los Angeles, it’s very hard finding a vegan doughnut that could even come close, they almost do, but it’s their cooked food that really shines here.

Oh and also the best oat-milk flat white in town!!!

svlomax

Points +186

Vegan
13 Jan 2020

Best Vegan Doughnuts You’ll Find

The doughnuts here are amazing and the selection is always changing. There savoury selection is also super tasty and impressive and I love they’re pop-up collaborations. Rem and Amy are great people and everyone should support they’re local spot!

teresapalmer

Points +58

Vegan
29 Dec 2019

Blanche brilliance!!

Well, I live in Cardiff 6 months each year to film “A Discovery of Witches” and I just discovered Blanche this season. Instead of eating the shows catering for lunch I’ve been getting Blanche delivered EVERY DAY to set. I get a vegan donut (I love the salted caramel) and the Korean tofu sandwich & fries. I also love the vegan mac n cheese, it’s the best I’ve ever had with seasoned coconut bacon on top. Seriously mouth watering. This place has made our stay in Cardiff so enjoyable. It’s also a very cool space and not only does it have incredible Vegan sweets the WHOLE menu is fantastic and my favourite in Cardiff. These eats are some of the best vegan meals I’ve had worldwide. Well done guys! See you next season! ❤️

Pros: Tons of creative food options , LOVELY staff, Very cool vibe

Cons: The table sizes are a little small

nicoleireland

Points +64

Vegan
29 Apr 2019

Delicious coffee & doughnuts!

Great find in Cardiff - worth a visit for the doughnuts! Today they had 6 flavour options (everything in the place is vegan). The doughnuts were all nut-free but made in a kitchen using nuts. Really fresh and tasty, brought some home to eat tomorrow too! Coffee was lovely, and I overheard another customer telling the staff it was the best mac’n’cheese she’d ever tasted!
Friendly staff.

Pros: The doughnuts!!

Cons: Parking is difficult,I had to park 2 streets away

magdaorl

Points +43

Vegan
25 Mar 2019

Fresh and tasty vegan doughnuts and best coffee in Cardiff!

I have been to Blanche several times with my friends and every time I receive friendly service and eat delicious and fresh food. I have tried several of their drinks there and they are always well made.

I always recommend this place to vegan and non-vegan friends!

Pros: A fresh range of doughnuts , Best coffee in Cardiff , Aesthetically pleasing

Cons: Expensive

ChrisKellard

Points +152

Vegan
11 Dec 2018

Lovely Doughnuts

Nice little place which specialises in doughnuts. Also does sandwiches, coffees, teas etc. Nice staff and a chilled relaxed vibe. Great spot for a bite to eat.

EmilyVoisin

Points +29

Vegan
06 Dec 2018

VERY DELICIOUS VEGAN DONUTS

Superb staff and absolutely amazing donuts. They keep their choices varied throughout the year, which means there is almost always something different on the menu each time you go. I’m pretty sure they also do brunch as well now!! A little pricey, but when you’re supporting a local business that doesn’t matter.

Pros: All vegan!, Instagram worthy interior and food, The donuts are amazing

LauraBell

Points +18

Vegan
11 Nov 2018

Best donuts ever

Really gorgeous cafe with a very 'instagrammable' vibe. Vegan brunch donuts and drinks. The donuts are honestly amazing!

CatharineMarie

Points +535

Vegan
18 Aug 2018

Amazing donuts

Huge selection of donuts and they are so good! Love the French toast one. They also have baguettes/toasties which look really good but I haven’t tried them. The strawberry latte is amazing! Annoying that they don’t open till 1pm as it would be great for brunch.

Pros: Amazing donuts , Huge selection, Good selection of baguettes as well

Cons: Doesn’t open till 1pm, A bit out of the way when you’re in town

konlish

Points +3566

Vegan
14 Jan 2018

Beautiful cupcakes

Been to the Blanche coffee shop twice now. They make some lovely sandwiches. We liked the chicken mayo; maple coconut bacon and cheese seitan toasties. Enjoyed the hot chocolate in oat milk. Love the chocolate chip cookies and the double chocolate cupcakes. Amy and Remed are just lovely. So delightfull to see their jolly happy spirits. Must visit Cardiff's 1st Vegan Coffee shop!

They were so kind to reserve a table for my friends and I. There is place to sit inside for about 16 people.

Just great to be at a place and not ask if things are vegan.
..........
I have seen Blanche at vegan events like Ab Fab Vegan Fayre and the Cardiff Viva! Vegan Festival. Amy is a Sweetheart. The cupcakes are just beautiful, however I found it a bit pricy. I got to try one finally at Viva! Fest and found that the flavour needed some improvement.

Updated from previous review on 2017-02-05

Pros: 100 % Vegan Business , Beautifully decorated

Cons: Expensive

isabeloola

Points +15

Mostly Veg
05 Jan 2018

Delicious vegan food!

I'd tried a few cupcakes at vegan events and pop ups, but only just managed to get to the newly opened bakery. I went with a group and between us we had a couple of toasties, cupcakes and a mixture or teas and coffees. The cheese toasties had the best vegan cheese that my friend and I had ever had and the seitan was really tasty. We had cookie dough and chai latte cupcakes which were both lovely, and enjoyed by non-vegans in our group. The flat whites and lattes made with oat milk were incredible, and there is a great selection of teas. The prices are really reasonable for the quality of the food, and are comparable with other cafes in the area, which is great when a lot of "specialist" food carries a premium. I look forward to coming again when I am next in Cardiff to try one of the donuts!

Pros: Good location, Friendly staff, Great atmosphere

shaunamog

Points +20

Vegan
19 Dec 2017

100% recommend this place

We visited the very newly opened Blanche Bakery on Mackintosh place (prime location right next to Albany road). It's a small cute, clean place with lovely friendly and helpful staff. They were able to cater easily to my friend's allergies which is a ++

I had a cheese toastie (the cheese was melty and lush) and a cupcake with a hibiscus tea. They have a selection of loose leaf teas and do delicious coffees with a choice of milks. We also had takeaway boxes of cupcakes, brownies and cookies.

Child friendly

100% recommend this place, please go and support a fully vegan business!

Pros: 100% vegan , Helpful friendly staff, Clean and kid friendly

Cons: would love to see more food options (newly open)

MillieBirch

Points +100

Vegan
14 Oct 2016

excellent cupcakes and brownies

saw these fab guys at the ab fab fair in Cardiff. I believe you can also pick up some of their brownies from barkers tearooms. all cakes are vegan and absolutely delicious. the couple are friendly and helpful. one thing I love about blanche is that their menu changes regularly so you always have something different to try. would love them to do a subscription box because I'd adore having a surprise monthly treat from them. keep up the delicious yumminess.

Pros: all vegan , great choice, delicious

Cons: no subscription available (i wish!), they make me fat because they're yummy and I c

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Cardiff Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Blanche Bakery closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 4420 times.