• Bits 'n Pizzas

  • (8)
    7
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Pizza
Italian
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Mexican
Catering
European
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Thin crust pizza place and restaurant. Has multiple vegan cheese options available including tofu, creamy cashew based, and an agar cashew cheese. Tell staff you are vegan and owner will cater for you directly. Vegan options are not specified on the menu, you must ask. Previously at Daniel Tjongarereo Ave, move here reported May 2019. Open Tue-Sat 12:00pm-2:00pm, Tue-Sun 4:00pm-9:00pm.


Venue map for Bits 'n Pizzas
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by vegannonuts

Ayelet13

Points +40

Vegan
16 Aug 2023

Okay

Cute. Had only vegan cheese which isnt the homemade and not very good, but they had vegan cheese which is very rare in Namibia!
The snails from the 2019 recommendation aren't served.

Advertisement

mknobel

Points +191

Vegan
17 Oct 2019

Great restaurant for vegans!

A great place to eat for vegans! The owner, Cindy is a vegan herself and will do everything possible to make your tastebuds happy! She even drove herself to a friend to get some vegan chese for the pizza since she ran out of it! Very tough to get hold of that in Namibia. Also try the vegan "snails" (mushrooms prepared snail style with a herb and garlic sauce) simply delicious!
And thank you cindy for the delicious vegan pancake dessert, we've been craving it ever since!

Tara HD

Points +778

Vegan
12 Sep 2019

Finally some vegan food!

Namibia isn't the easiest place to travel when you are vegan and not self-catering. So it was a real pleasure to find this little gem in Swakopmund. Although the vegan cheese was out of stock when we were there (call a few days ahead - it might be possible to order it in time for your visit!), the owner did everything she could to replace this with very yummy alternatives (e.g. marula nuts). We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and the food.

Pros: vegan pizza, very friendly owner

Cons: a bit out of town (but worth the trip)

AndréanneCaron

Points +24

Vegan
24 Feb 2019

Much appreciated

This restaurant was for us a really good try. Let’s admit that Namibia is not (yet) a vegan friendly country and this restaurant made it for us. The food and the service was great and we had many choices (they had a special menu for vegan, now included in the main menu). 👌 Oh and by the way... the pizza is actually better a couple hours after... cold !

Updated from previous review on 2019-02-24

Pros: Vegan menu , Kind service

KimMartin

Points +657

Vegan
11 Feb 2019

Dissapointing

I tried this place 3 times in hope of it living up to it’s good reviews, as well as it being one of the few places in Swakopmund with fully vegan menu options. First I tried the margarita pizza (average), then the olive pasta (extremely oily, missing ingredients) and lastly the warrior burger (extremely oily, missing ingredients). I found the food to be expensive for what one gets. Especially the pasta. The pasta cost 95ND which I thought was alright since vegan Parmesan was included. But when I received it, it had none. I had to ask the owner for some vegan cheese that they use on the pizza since she said she had run out of the Parmesan. I think this should have been offered before I had to ask for an alternative. When I received the warrior burger, I was only told after the fact that they didn’t use avo and gave me mushrooms and peppers instead. One of the main reasons I ordered the burger was because it contained avo. Also, what if a person doesn’t eat a certain ingredient. They added this without asking me if it would be an okay substitute. The staff here are bad. Only one lady was friendly and had a smile on her face. My interactions with the rest of the staff were quite shocking. No smiles, no welcome back, no thank you, no enjoy your meal. It almost felt as though the staff here believed they were doing me a favour by letting me eat here! I spoke to the owner (who herself is vegan) on my third visit and told her that her staff were not setting a good impression for the restaurant and she was very rude to me. Instead of listening to my critique in a professional manner, she took it personally and managed to make me as the client feel even more unwelcome than before her comment! I have never experienced such a lack of customer service before. Needless to say, I have no desire to return to this restaurant nor to recommend it to anyone. Whilst the owner did run after me to apologize for her mistake and her staff, unfortunately that was the final straw for me. Disappointing food, bad service = lost costumer.

Pros: Vegan menu

Cons: Expensive, Rude Staff, Bland and oily food

RachaelSchumacher

Points +30

Vegan
10 Jan 2019

Great food and options

Great place to eat. We had the vegan pizzas- one of our own design and one off the menu. They have created a whole vegan menu insert so it's all clearly marked. Owner is vegan and super friendly. She is open to creating and trying new things. So just ask!

Pros: Vegan menu clearly labelled, Value for money

ryanwhatt

Points +625

Vegan
11 Feb 2018

Amazing!!

They offer a cashew based vegan cheese that is made in Windhoek that is really nice, as well as a locally made vegan salami. They have a whole menu of vegan pizzas (around 6-7) as well as a delicious and crunchy gluten free crust. The service is also excellent!

vegannonuts

Points +172

Vegan
10 Aug 2017

vegan options worth checking out!

Namibia is NOT a vegan friendly country. So when I find a restaurant that is vegan owned and striving to add vegan, paleo, and gluten free options to their menu, it's a big deal. The owner is newly vegan and loves experimenting with new vegan cheese ideas. When I went in and told her I was vegan, she offered me two different types of cheeses, cashew based, and tofu based, and then prepared the pizzas herself. She also invited me back the next night to test out some new gluten free crusts. While I can't say that this pizza place is as good as vegan pizza I've had in the USA, I enjoyed supporting a local vegan owned business in Namibia. Check it out vegans of Namibia. The tofu "cheese" was delicious :)

Pros: vegan owned, accommodating staff

Cons: vegan options not yet on the menu




This page has been viewed 3665 times.