Vegan
American
Fast food
Take-out
Breakfast

The Adirondacks premiere full service vegan restaurant and donut shop. Offers sandwiches, quick bites, pizza and has a full case of fresh made donuts available daily. Seitan is made on site and most of the menu is scratch made in small batches for freshness. Order online or dine in. Has seating for eating in. Since Oct. 2018. Relocated from Queensbury. Reported closed February 2023.


Venue map for Birch Bark Eatery
© OpenStreetMap contributors

77 Reviews

First Review by Captainhappysprout

Mirandawing6

Points +108

Vegan
31 Dec 2022

Amazing

Visited glens falls for the first time and stopped by this restaurant. My husband and I were BLOWN AWAY with how spectacular the food we had was! We both ended up getting their Mac and cheese since we have not been able to find any Mac and cheese dishes which we find tasty. We were absolutely amazed at how amazing theirs was! We also tried a few of their donuts and were pleased with those as well. 10/10 would recommend. Unfortunately we live 3 hours away from this restaurant but may end up making the trip back at some point to eat here again! #Veganuary

Pros: Lots of options, Tastes amazing, Great price!

Advertisement

mars

Points +455

Vegan
05 Nov 2022

Great little neighborhood lights

The spinach artichoke dip is very tasty. However, I would think of it more as a spinach artichoke thick soup. Again very tasty.
I am not into oil so the next time I would order the bread Not grilled.
The turkey dinner sandwich is exactly what it says. All those great Thanksgiving flavors all of us. Liked the gravy.
The sweet mesquite sandwich has a nice back heat to it. However I would get a little less jam next time because it was a little sweet for my taste.
The place is right downtown which means you can get some true comfort to eat before you hit the craft beers which part a block away. This is true comfort food. However the staff is very nice and I’m sure you could ask for something to not have as much cheese or whatever you’re trying to avoid.

Pros: Diverse flavors , Nice staff, A nice simple place for breakfast or lunch

Cons: Coffee bar has stuff on it and not inviting

woodlewis

Points +441

Vegan
31 Oct 2022

Best Boston crème donut!

Got take out on our way through. Incredible breakfast burrito and donut. Lots of options, friendly service, great spot!

Pros: Donut selection! Dozen flavors., Diverse menu, Tasty

stephzep1

Points +22

Vegan
30 Oct 2022

Unbelievable Vegan Food and drink

We were greeted by friendly staff and had a hard time choosing between all the amazing options. We ordered fried pickles and cauliflower bites with bang bang sauce as apps. The food was so fresh and tasty we had to order more to bring home. We also brought home a dozen beautiful, creative, and delicious donuts. The only negative is it’s too far from our hometown!

Jewelry

Points +73

Mostly Veg
07 Oct 2022

Good bakery. Good food. Good location.

So happy to find a completely vegan restaurant. We’ve been traveling for over a week and tired of struggling to find something to eat.
We both had the breakfast burrito. I had the fried potatoes with it and my husband had the hash browns. We recommend the fried potatoes, made fresh. The hash browns were more like a fast food option. Good if that’s what you’re looking for.
The bakery items change often and are all iced. I’m not a fan of icing, but my donut (apple pie) was fabulous. If they had to put something on it, I would have preferred a little cinnamon and sugar or nothing at all. It didn’t need it. There were many choices and they all sounded good. Lots of seasonal pumpkin options.
Gave it 4 stars because of the icing and the food itself was good, nicely seasoned, but a little too greasy for my taste. We cook with no oil or minimal oil, I know that’s difficult in a commercial setting.
All in all, I would highly recommend.

Mimi108

Points +24

Vegan
08 Aug 2022

Excellent

The food is absolutely wonderful. Amazing pizza. Delicious donuts. Great chai. Definitely will be back there. Strongly recommended.

beansproutz

Points +38

Vegan
07 Aug 2022

WONDERFUL

i ordered the white broccoli pizza, garlic knots, and a donut and it’s the best meal i’ve had in quite some time. such good quality but the right balance of take out greasiness 🤍

Pros: so so so many options

angeligj

Points +76

Vegan
28 Jul 2022

Delicious!

I was in town for my sisters birthday weekend and being the only vegan I had to try this place out. I ordered the breakfast burrito, loaded fries, pizza and iced coffee. Everything tasted SO good. My sister tried it and couldn’t even tell it was vegan! I wish I could order from there all the time. They have such an extensive menu!

AnnaMN

Points +95

Vegan
24 Jul 2022

Total winner!

So many choices! Delicious and friendly. Kids loved the Mac and cheezes ans burgers. Adults enjoyed salads and sandwiches. Got gorgeous donuts to go. Don’t miss this place!

PaulCaracciolo

Points +191

Vegan
23 Jul 2022

Outstanding! Such friendly helpful staff

I got the sweet mesquite and buffalo Mac and both were outstanding. It’s places like this why I love Happy Cow, so glad to have found this gem!

tfish

Points +2398

Vegan
17 Jul 2022

The donuts are amazing

Didn’t even get to eat lunch here but man the donuts lived up to the hype. I don’t even really like donuts…don’t miss this place if you’re in the area

slorenze

Points +20

Vegan
17 Jul 2022

Amazing

We absolutely loved everything! The people were great, the food and donuts are incredible. Highly recommend

lartiste724

Points +11

Mostly Veg
11 Jul 2022

Awesome food!

We loved everything about it! Creative cooking and delicious vegan fare

Updated from previous review on 2022-07-11

Pros: Lots of options, Delicious reuben!, Friendly staff

JeffStrzelczyk

Points +26

Vegan
10 Jul 2022

Great Vegan spot near the Lake

The Pizza and Rueben were awesome!

JamieWhitbeck

Points +46

Vegan
04 Jul 2022

Cozy little gem

This place had the nicest, most helpful staff and the food was AMAZING. I have no idea how they made a vegan Boston creme that actually tasted better than the original, but they did.

Pros: Great food , Friendly, helpful staff, Location

MarySchell

Points +94

Vegan
24 Jun 2022

DELICIOUS

I drove past a sign for Glens Falls and knew I needed to make a detour into town. It is only 10 am but I am enjoying the loaded Mac n cheese with no regrets. The food is INCREDIBLE, the donuts are worth the drive, the vibe is really great and the service is perfect. Should be considered a vegan mecca in the Upstate region.

EboniLewis

Points +24

Vegan
20 May 2022

Delicious Full Vegan spot!!

Full vegan restaurant with really delicious food!!
Please order the cobb salad and pretzel you won't be disappointed!!!

Pros: Great lemonade , Clean and cozy, Helpful staff

Cons: None

ramblingrose08

Points +151

Vegan
15 May 2022

Best Vegan Food

Best vegan food that I’ve had in a restaurant setting. I ordered the Rueben sandwich with Mac N Cheese side dish and it was outstanding. My son ordered a breakfast sandwich which was tasty. This will be a regular stop when we’re visiting the area. Service was prompt and friendly.

Pros: 100% plant based, Loads of options, Flavorful

Cons: Limited days of the week

ChickpeasLegume

Points +47

Vegan
29 Apr 2022

YUM

Visiting Glens Falls and wicked excited to go out to an all Vegan place. We got the drumstick app, mesquite sandwich and Reuben with The Mac and cheese sides which paired great. Everything was delicious and we left satisfied with an ohhh-ah-ahhh sensation.
Got two donuts out the door that were divine.
Hats off the the staff.

Pros: All vegan , Variety, Comfort food

Cons: Not open evenings

Larry74

Points +169

Vegan
22 Jan 2022

Just dang delicious!

Everything I've tried is delicious! They have some great salads when you're looking for something healthy. Sometimes you just want damn good food.
I recently tried the doughnuts and I can say they were not greasy as some have stated. I can't speak to their experience, but possibly they've improved on them? They were amazing!

Their Reuben is my favorite. They make some tasty seitan!

Updated from previous review on 2021-02-19

Pros: All vegan , Healthier options, Doughnuts

RichBeBe

Points +757

Vegan
28 Aug 2021

Not Sure....Good but not Amazing

I have heard nothing but amazing stuff about Birch Bark Eatery and have wanted to try it. But due to the times I passed it, then COVID I never tried it. Before I give my review I should say I am a HUGE seitan fan and gluten fan, but due to some issues not eating gluten for 12 weeks, so I was not able to order what I normally would. I will go back and try it again and will edit if it deserves it.
I went for lunch on day 1 and had a GF mac and cheese with Beyond sausage crumbles. It was good, but not up there with some of the great mac and cheeses., and I felt it could have used a bit more sausage.
I had a doughnut and I want to give props for GF doughnuts, but it was overly sweet and oily.
Day 2 I had a breakfast sandwich and it was amazing. The tempeh bacon was flavorful, and the bun was perfect (for GF)
I visited again today and had a breakfast sandwich, the same one and the tempeh was dry and maybe overcooked as well as the bun being a bit overtoasted, it made the whole sandwich overly dry. If the first one was a 5 (and it was) this one was a 2 maybe a 3.
I also had a doughnut as they looked so good, but felt the same about overly sweet and oily.

Updated from previous review on 2021-05-16

Pros: Very Friendly, Great GF Selection

Cons: Inconsistent

JustinWilliams

Points +19

Vegan
14 Aug 2021

Amazing comfort food

Birch bark is amazing! They catered our wedding and people were saying “I thought you were having a vegan wedding.” We love them so much!

Pros: Donuts, Everything vegan, Pizza!

TaraCarney

Points +184

Vegan
29 Jul 2021

Very nice place

loved the food here I tried multiple items on the menu all of them were fantastic. (here's some of the ones I tried,

Barbecue jackfruit sandwich

Caprese pizza

Artichoke dip

Boston cream donut

Donut of the month

Buffalo cauliflower bites )

I'm so glad we were able to find a vegan restaurant in this town while visiting

Pros: Amazing food , Very kind staff, Large menu

StephanieLanger

Points +917

Vegan
18 Jul 2021

The mac and cheese is amazing

I went on a day trip to the area and recently learned about this place from friends. Had the fried pickles and macaroni and cheese. It was so delicious!

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-18

Pros: Everything is so good , It’s all vegan, Friendly staff

Cons: Kind of small awkward space

onlyahuman

Points +213

Vegan
09 Jul 2021

A reason I moved here.

Back in the summer of 2019 I stopped here in their former location and was really impressed. Come 2020, when picking a place to move, Birch Bark was one of my reasons to move to upstate NY. The donuts are incredible and if you’re lucky on a Sunday before they close, you may get a free one! They now carry Dole Whip, so now there’s no reason to stop at one of the dairy ice cream places to get it!

Pros: Vegan donuts, Cauliflower wings and mozzarella sticks, Donut card= free donuts!

Cons: A sometimes food place.

GabrielleZimmermann

Points +114

Vegan
30 Jun 2021

Best donuts ever

I stop here every chance I get!

debizg

Points +237

Vegan
30 May 2021

Went twice while in Lake George

We ordered a variety of items and all were nourishing and delicious! If we’d stayed in the area longer, we’d have gone every day.

Pros: Delicious, Friendly

Cons: None




This page has been viewed 7588 times.