Big Slide Brewery

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 18 reviews )

Find

5686 Cascade Rd, Lake Placid, New York, USA, 12946

Serves meat, vegan options available. Brewery with labeled vegan options. Open Tue-Sat 12:00pm-9:00pm, Sun 10:00am-9:00pm.

Categories: Lacto, Ovo, American, Beer/Wine, Honey, Non-veg

18 Reviews

First Review by icanmakeitvegan

Jgatt

Points +553

Vegan
09 Oct 2021

Not your average vegan options

A few very well thought out vegan options, that vegans and non-vegans can both indulge in. Beautiful atmosphere, nice indoor and outdoor seating. Dog friendly, for outdoor dining. New seasonally menu coming out soon, can’t wait to try.

Pros: Helpful staff

nyyanks224

Points +455

Vegan
02 Aug 2021

GREAT Vegan Buffalo Pizza!!

Big Slide is a favorite of ours when we come into Lake Placid, especially on IRONMAN weekend since it's right on the bike/run courses.

I love that they have clearly-labeled vegan and vegetarian options. This makes it a great place to go with groups, since there's something for everyone.

The Vegan Buffalo Chicken Pizza FAR exceeded my expectations and was SO delicious. I ordered it twice over IRONMAN weekend...it was that good.

Pros: Clearly labeled vegan options

rookievegan

Points +104

Vegan
16 Jul 2021

Nice atmosphere

Vegan Buffalo chicken wing pizza was tasty, but vegan “impastable” pasta entree with nondairy cream sauce had lame vegan sausage crumbles.

Advertisement

MarisaSasaki-Shah

Points +30

Vegan
09 Jul 2021

Vegan options

Pizza was great. Pretzel and nan not vegan.

Pros: Staff helpful in veganizing dishes, Outdoor seating, Vegan salads/vegan pizza

MelissaFadden

Points +132

Vegan
16 Jun 2021

Few, but very well done, vegan options

There are only a few vegan options on the menu (plus more that are vegetarian), but those that exist are clearly marked and done extremely well. Staff is well-versed and attentive to dietary needs. Vegan pizza option (Buffalo chicken) was absolutely phenomenal, and as a bonus, their GF crust is also vegan. Would happily have gone back the following night, but tried Lake Placid Brewery (same owners, I believe, and also good options)

DustinSchriffert

Points +79

Vegan
16 Jun 2021

Beyond expectations

Clearly labeled vegan options with QR code on menu to scan to view allergens and ways to modify menu options to make them vegan. Friendly service and nice atmosphere for a brewery and restaurant in the Lake Placid area.

Pros: Clearly labeled vegan options, Good tasting food

Cons: It gets busy, but not a long wait

JustLayuh

Points +349

Vegan
23 Oct 2020

Brewery with Vegan Options

With not many restaurants in the area having vegan menu options, Big Slide’s got you covered 🙌🏽🙌🏿

The menu provides several vegan options- a pizza, salad, noodle and/or rice dish, and an appetizer if you’re lucky- that change seasonally.

Servers are friendly and knowledgeable, but will refer to the chef if unsure.

Great local beer- try the Maui sour if you’re in to sour beer,
it’s delish 👍🏽🍻

Pros: Vegan options, Friendly staff, Good beer

Cons: Take out not available if there is a long wait

vgartz

Points +26

Vegan
09 Oct 2020

Tasty!

There was only one vegan option, the Dazed and Cornfuzed pizza with vegan cheese; but I it was delicious!

AlexMarch

Points +54

Vegan
29 Aug 2020

Vegan options

They have one vegan option. Vegetables on a pizza. Would’ve loved to see the other stuff I saw on happy cow. I did Veganize one salad. The staff was VERY accommodating and on their feet about what to leave out. Great staff. Good beer, wish they offered more vegan.

hrn126

Points +334

Vegan
10 Jul 2020

vegan pizza 🤤

the vegan pizza here was phenomenal, highly recommend

TylerZervas

Points +82

Vegan
10 Nov 2019

Great vegan options

Stocks and beyond burger can be made vegan with no cheese and a gluten free bun, fancy hummus plate, and “lousy hunter” pizza are both vegan. All very tasty and I eat here quite often. Great waffle fries with the burger 😋

Pros: A few vegan options

Cons: All staff doesn’t seem to be educated on veganism, Menu does not differentiate vegan and vegetarian

KaitlynnGill

Points +1118

Vegan
15 Oct 2019

Not cashew cheese....

Got the Lousy Hunter pizza. It would have been good if it weren’t for the “cashew cheese”. It wasn’t a cashew cheese, it was literally crushed up cashews they sprinkled all over the pizza. It was just weird and ruined the pizza. If it wasn’t on there it would have been a decent pizza.

Pros: Vegan option , Nice ambience

Cons: Slow service, Crushed nuts is not a nut cheese

walter007

Points +4747

Vegan
08 Aug 2019

Awesome

We're staying in Lake Placid for only 2 nights but decided to just come here for dinner both nights. We love the food. We each ordered our own pizza. The pizza is just enough for 1 person. Remember v here stands for vegetarian. So please check the ingredients and speak to your server about your need. They can substitute the dairy cheese with cashew cheese. Regarding the beer served here, some has lactose, so just stay away from those.

Pros: Happening, Nice food

Cons: Chaotic

hal3y05

Points +38

Vegan
05 Jul 2019

Good pizza

There are not many places to eat with vegan options so we came here to try the lousy hunter pizza. It was tasty - but also a bit burnt. The fancy hummus was good.

Pros: Vegan option, Cool atmosphere

Cons: Can not customize pizza , Did not toast pita bread with fancy hummus

B&Tveg

Points +32

Vegan
24 Sep 2018

What a fabulous find!

Big Slide is a big win! The menu offered several vegetarian options. I had the black bean falafel, which came with a salad with a delicious dressing and a cucumber/dill sauce (dairy). My husband got the Impossible burger...not vegan, but vegetarian and so yummy! We will go back this week!

Pros: Choices!, Knowledgeable staff!

Captainhappysprout

Points +32

Vegan
23 Sep 2018

Comfort pub food vegan style!

Cool atmosphere, great beer, friendly staff, and several delicious vegan options clearly marked

Pros: Several vegan options , Vegan desert, Friendly staff and great beer

Cons: Busy but that is always a good sign

katie3

Points +26

Vegan
17 Sep 2018

Great Pizza

One of the only places in Lake Placid that has a vegan option. It’s about 10 inches, enough for 2 adults. Wish there was more of the cheese on it. It’s slightly spicy like a sausage and veggie pizza. About $15-16

Pros: Good pizza & impossible burger , Labeled “vegan” options on the menu

Cons: Only a few vegan options

icanmakeitvegan

Points +93

Vegan
27 Jun 2018

Impossible Burger in the ADK!

This place was awesome! They have the Impossible Burger on a vegan pizza! Loaded with kale and housemade cashew cheese, it was a wonderful combination. There are a couple other vegan options that I can’t wait to try. I’m very happy to find a newer vegan product in the mountains of New York.

Pros: “The 40 Year Old Vegan” Pizza

Cons: Make the Impossible Burger Burger vegan friendly:)

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Lake Placid Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Big Slide Brewery closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2475 times.